English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 June 2009, 11:28   #1
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 464
Is JIT disabled when Cycle exact chipset emulation is activated?

Well that's my question. Is JIT disabled when cycle exact emulation is enabled for the chipset?
Is it possibled to have JIT enabled with cycle exact emulation + match A500 speed option set?


Thanks!
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 22 June 2009, 11:31   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,684
Toni will know for sure but I think the answers are :

Yes.
No.

The whole point of cycle exact chipset emulation is accuracy. Something we are told you do not get with JIT. I thought that "cycle accurate" was limited to 68000 CPU and OCS/ECS chipset?

JIT is intended for fast emulation of higher level CPU's mainly aimed at workbench level applications.
alexh is offline  
Old 22 June 2009, 11:33   #3
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 24,024
Doesn't make much sense, but I guess you have '24-bit addressing' enabled and thus JIT is greyed out. So yes to your last question.
TCD is offline  
Old 22 June 2009, 12:07   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,862
JIT is full 68020+ only. (EC/24-bit address space not supported)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 June 2009, 12:38   #5
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 464
I know JIT is full 68020+ only, but I can set cycle-exact chipset emulation with 68020, so cycle exact + JIT seems possible.
What I don't know is if JIT (on 68020) + Cycle exact chipset emulation + match A500 speed is real: it's possible to set it up, but I don't see any difference with JIT on and OFF in CYCLE EXACT mode.

IF I set JIT (on 68020) + match A500 speed, I get perfect sound & graphics in most chipset games, but they run smoother: if I set cycle exact along with JIT (on 68020) + match A500 speed, I see no different with JIT on and off, and that puzzles me as I don't know if the 68020 is running on JIT or not.

Another little question: Is OpenAL a solution for lag-free sound lie ASIO?
Or is it just a wrapper on DirectSound for system-independant audio?

Thanks again!

Last edited by Gaula92; 22 June 2009 at 12:44.
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 22 June 2009, 12:43   #6
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 24,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaula88@hotmail View Post
Another little question: Is OpenAL a solution for lag-free sound lie ASIO?
Or is it just a wrapper on DirectSound for system-independant audio?
It's more the latter : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OpenAL
TCD is offline  
Old 22 June 2009, 12:54   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,862
68020 + cycle exact or A500 speed: unsupported. It may do something useful, it may break compatibility totally, it may do something else. It is guaranteed to be NOT cycle exact and has nothing to do with A500 cycle exact mode. It WILL change between versions.

It is (bad) compatibility tweak mainly.

OpenAL is another sound API. Some sound cards have native OpenAL, others emulate it via DirectSound.

Less latency: use portaudio ASIO/WDM-KS/WASAPI (but portaudio can be buggy..) Native version won't happen because 1) ASIO has incompatible license (stupid ASIO), other modes are really complex to use.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 June 2009, 13:08   #8
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 464
Thanks again, guys. I got it clearer now.
I just hope I don't turn into a half-insect monster after playing with all those settings at the same time! I think I need more suggar....hmm..just a bit more in my coffe...
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 22 June 2009, 22:38   #9
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,965
I think he wants to speed up flight sims et al to max without getting timing issues vs blitter etc?
Photon is online now  
Old 23 June 2009, 10:34   #10
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 464
yes, well, Ambermoon's pseudo 3d dungeons actually, but that's the idea
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 23 June 2009, 10:39   #11
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 24,024
What about warp mode (End + Pause)?
TCD is offline  
Old 23 June 2009, 10:58   #12
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,662
That would make games pretty much unplayable.
StingRay is offline  
Old 23 June 2009, 13:41   #13
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,965
Warp is just skipping 'wait for next frame', right? And what he wants is CPU+Blitter that 'finish sooner'. And immediate blits give timing issues.

He wants to speed things up because framerate is less than full.

Gaula: should be possible to double the emulated framerate by syncing to 100 Hz, that will emulate two frames in 1/50 second. Maybe even possible to turn off sync (in WinUAE!) and go to a 50 Hz mode, if you can pull the slider to 100 fps. That will give you 100fps, but the difference from the synced is that it will look smoother. (The game's fps is lower than 50, so in a 100 Hz mode each frame will be displayed at least twice.)
Photon is online now  
Old 23 June 2009, 13:49   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,862
What do you exactly want? Increase only CPU speed? Modify "emulated world" vs "real world" ratio? (FPS Adj. does that)
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cycle-exact or not? brolly support.WinUAE 10 27 March 2012 16:18
Problem with cycle-exact and custum CPU emulation speed pintcat support.WinUAE 14 11 May 2010 20:12
Cycle-Exact tim_calladine support.WinUAE 1 24 October 2008 15:57
Does "Cycle-exact" do nothing with the AGA chipset? fmcpma support.WinUAE 10 26 October 2006 13:11
meaning of cycle exact emulation? PiCiJi support.WinUAE 1 16 October 2005 13:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13312 seconds with 13 queries