English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 March 2021, 22:02   #261
touko
Registered User

touko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: france
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Very Possibly. Without the S-DD1, SFA2 SFZ2 are no go on SNES.
The SDD1 is only a real time decompressor chip, you can compensate with a bigger ROM and/or a good software decompressor .
Of course, with the same rom size,and without a big downgrade you're right.
touko is offline  
Old 29 March 2021, 15:34   #262
kremiso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by skan View Post
Yeah, I also wonder if the DOS version would run on a 1200 (maybe with a proper parallax fx too )

Another DOS enhanced game I'd like to see on a 1200 is Turrican 2, pretty colorful and detailed IMHO.
There are indeed also a couple of early 256 color pc games that would be interest to investigate a bit more if an AGA version could be possible.
What ie about Formula 1 Grand Prix, the colorful msdos version?

[ Show youtube player ]

wondering if a standard 68020 AGA hw could make it run with a good fps rate?
kremiso is offline  
Old 29 March 2021, 21:39   #263
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 1,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by kremiso View Post
wondering if a standard 68020 AGA hw could make it run with a good fps rate?
khm.. never seen, anything smooth on 020 like the video above.

But then again, No Second Prize is very smooth even on A500.

Maybe, it's still has to be made.
d4rk3lf is online now  
Old 30 March 2021, 10:52   #264
kremiso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
khm.. never seen, anything smooth on 020 like the video above.
sadly true
the AGA catalogue lack of some game genres, like racing ones.
I mean very good games

There is Top Gear 2 AGA, but imo is not as good as Lotus OCS (any chapter)...
i would like to see a Lotus AGA chapter

Maybe it would be possible 'upgrade' the Vroom/F1 (Lankhor) graphics, like in the msdos version (and snes iirc) :

[ Show youtube player ]
kremiso is offline  
Old 30 March 2021, 17:57   #265
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 2,625
I don't give a flying fuck if F1GP looks more colourful on MS-DOS, the screen tearing and awful sounds, especially the creaking door, are a right turn-off for me.
Foebane is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bordersprites restrictions (AGA chipset) dissident Coders. Asm / Hardware 22 01 February 2019 23:37
Money Matters 4 (AGA chipset issue) Zarnal support.WinUAE 2 31 May 2018 19:10
How to detect AGA chipset installed from C? earok Coders. C/C++ 3 04 June 2016 02:31
Best way of detecting the AGA chipset? Steve Coders. Asm / Hardware 13 25 January 2014 22:08
EHB sprites with AGA chipset ? FrenchShark Coders. General 4 17 September 2009 06:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08557 seconds with 16 queries