English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 December 2007, 21:37   #1
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 43
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
More Hardware for Zetro - A600 8mb fast ram ! (with love from Russia)

I just found this at A.org, I'll invite the original poster here for more information, sorry for making this thread before him but I thought zetro must see this !

http://www.amiga.org.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?p=12045
http://www.amiga.org/modules/newbb/v...=42171&forum=8

coze is offline  
Old 16 December 2007, 21:46   #2
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,062
Oh man, my A600 would *LOVE* that!

Shoonay is offline  
Old 16 December 2007, 22:49   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
OMG!!!!!!!! this is just what i am looking for

coze, i thank you so very much!!!!

I wonder if that altera cpld has enough room to generate enough signals for the 68ec020 ? hmmmm
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 16 December 2007, 22:50   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
FANTASTIC!!! awesome awesome awesome!!!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 16 December 2007, 23:21   #5
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 52
Posts: 1,792
Bah! First Sputnik and now A600 ram-boards...
...those darn Ruskies!
Charlie is offline  
Old 16 December 2007, 23:37   #6
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 43
Posts: 3,294
I'm seriously going to do the 'pin up' girl sticker on all my Amiga's
Paul_s is offline  
Old 17 December 2007, 00:09   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
Awesome!
keropi is offline  
Old 17 December 2007, 11:04   #8
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,062
@Charlie: and exactly which Sputnik you have in mind? Cause the newest one was made by "our" engineers!
Shoonay is offline  
Old 17 December 2007, 12:51   #9
lvd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Moscow/Russia
Posts: 20
Hi!

Beware of us! We are coming =)))))))
lvd is offline  
Old 17 December 2007, 12:53   #10
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,062
Hello and welcome to EAB!
Drop by, in my place, when passing by, you should!
You can check if it's compatibile with my A600!
Shoonay is offline  
Old 17 December 2007, 13:09   #11
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 43
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
Welcome to our fine boards Lord Vader ! I'm sure Zetro will take pleasure to show you around, but before him I'ld like to show you zetro's fine Musashi Tornado project, which may be of interest to you, and will breath new life into our A600's once completed !
coze is offline  
Old 17 December 2007, 13:24   #12
lvd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Moscow/Russia
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by coze View Post
Welcome to our fine boards Lord Vader ! I'm sure Zetro will take pleasure to show you around, but before him I'ld like to show you zetro's fine Musashi Tornado project, which may be of interest to you, and will breath new life into our A600's once completed !
Read a little about it. My board won't work with 14MHz 68000 since it is clocked by cpu clock pin and has very tight memory cycles, with both refresh and access cycles being made during one 68000 bus cycle. Running it at 14Mhz will just overwhelm DRAM chips. My aim was not to delay 68000 cycles, just because it is impossible ($200000-$9FFFFF area is /DTACK'ed by chipset, but bus is floating).
For 14MHz 68000, one must re-invent DRAM controller with wait cycles/whatsoever.
lvd is offline  
Old 17 December 2007, 14:56   #13
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
@lord vader

Hello there,

A BIG welcome to this fine forum i call home, there is plenty of mischief to get up to around here

I have read your project with much awe and interest, congratulations on building such a beastie.

I developed a prototpe board based on LS logic but was nearly 4 times as big LOL.. never be able to power it !!!

Currently I have been submerged into the LUCAS project to see if i could add an 020 cpu to the a600 and rework for the a500! we shall see I almost have all the bits

Again your project is indeed inspiring, thank you for joining here!

Zetr0 is offline  
Old 18 December 2007, 07:54   #14
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 47
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Its teh Slovak developers version



for Zetr0
Chain is offline  
Old 18 December 2007, 13:27   #15
lvd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Moscow/Russia
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain View Post
Its teh Slovak developers version
OMG! It's more beast than my one! Is it functioning? =)
lvd is offline  
Old 18 December 2007, 13:28   #16
lvd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Moscow/Russia
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@lord vader
Currently I have been submerged into the LUCAS project to see if i could add an 020 cpu to the a600 and rework for the a500! we shall see I almost have all the bits
Where did you get 020s? I have some 68030 in PGA, but not 020...

Is it also on 74LS logic? ;-))))
lvd is offline  
Old 18 December 2007, 13:50   #17
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 59
Posts: 1,163
OMFG!!!

We just HAVE to have the schematics for these babies... I have a couple of A600s just begging to be pimped with goodies like these....



Merlin
Merlin is offline  
Old 18 December 2007, 14:41   #18
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,954
Yes, unless either developer sees a market and would like to make money building these, please share schematics...! And if you are the only ones who can get the right components, please share that also.

Amiga (classic) hardware is dead, what we can do is keep it running with newer and newer components that can be bought off the shelf. I believe strongly in this.
Photon is offline  
Old 18 December 2007, 15:01   #19
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
@Chain

Thank you for the hardware pron... indeed its delicious!!!!

the funny thing is that the pcb electronic prototype i made is actually about that size LOL.. not sure on the physical proto in the pic, but all mine could do was upto 4mb. and to be honest, i am not sure there would be enough juice to power it LOL. I have been looking into replacing those 30pin simms with one 72pin sim, as well as possibly small factor 72pin sim (similar to old laptops) it all comes down to available memory, clearly 72pin is in abundance.

@Lord Vader

Most of the PGA 020's that i found are on ebay, and there over priced IMHO, so i decided to get a small cache' of these ic-china
i have 6 at the moment, i am more than happy to donate a couple for you projects as long as you promise to post hardware pics and hardware pron
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 18 December 2007, 15:16   #20
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,679
Both designs need to take a leaf out of Jen Schoenfeld's book WRT to the mounting screws.

http://www.siliconsonic.de/news/T630_big.jpg
http://www.siliconsonic.de/news/T630_mount1.jpg
http://www.siliconsonic.de/news/T630_mount2.jpg

From personal experience I know that if you move your A600 around a lot, without mounting screws, accelerators (and RAM cards) tend to come loose from the PLCC 68k of the A600.
alexh is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500 4mb-8mb fast ram expansion kipper2k Hardware mods 143 25 May 2019 23:37
A608, 8Mb fast RAM for A600 orange support.Hardware 29 30 October 2010 17:56
Cammy's tight little A600 hardware Cammy Hardware pics 49 01 April 2010 17:31
Russia amiga love... Paul_s Nostalgia & memories 4 11 July 2009 02:18
UK EABer's: Tetris : From Russia With Love mcbpete Retrogaming General Discussion 1 09 September 2005 10:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10659 seconds with 14 queries