English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Creation > Music > Music. Tutorials

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 June 2021, 16:08   #1
DaveInFL
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Florida
Posts: 47
Protracker Questions

All,

Total newbie. Not really musically inclined but just trying to enter some sheet music in protracker, namely just some classical music to try.

Is there a good piano sample. Tried a few but they didn't really sound like what I would consider a classical piano sound, but could be me

Is there a way to sustain a note?

TIA.
DaveInFL is offline  
Old 25 June 2021, 19:28   #2
no9
Registered User

no9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Poland
Posts: 215
Sort of [ Show youtube player ]
no9 is offline  
Old 25 June 2021, 19:32   #3
DaveInFL
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Florida
Posts: 47
Thanks for that, but not sure what's going on in that video. Piano sounds decent though. Not really sure just how that sustain is working.
DaveInFL is offline  
Old 25 June 2021, 19:43   #4
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveInFL View Post
Thanks for that, but not sure what's going on in that video. Piano sounds decent though. Not really sure just how that sustain is working.
This one should be better [ Show youtube player ]

If you go to Amiga Music Preservation website and that module is available for download and you can check out the piano samples for yourself in Protracker
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 25 June 2021, 20:24   #5
no9
Registered User

no9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Poland
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveInFL View Post
Not really sure just how that sustain is working.
In Protracker while in SAMPLE EDITOR you need to turn on LOOP for the sample and then adjust left and right loop points. That's your sustained sound which you can fade with pattern commands.
no9 is offline  
Old 25 June 2021, 20:50   #6
DaveInFL
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Florida
Posts: 47
Thanks for the replies everyone. Very cool and helpful.
DaveInFL is offline  
Old 25 June 2021, 21:32   #7
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 2,122
I did scour internet for free soundfonts (.sf2 or similar format) and rip it with a program like Awave Studio
saimon69 is offline  
Old 26 June 2021, 01:29   #8
DaveInFL
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Florida
Posts: 47
@Galahad/FLT,

Thanks for that mod. The piano sample is pretty nice. Put together a few bars of Beethovens Moonlight Sonata to try it out. Sounds better on my laptop than the recording. Just used Mac's inbuilt screen recorder for the video, which may not be the best. Still, I think it gives an idea. With the other samples I was using before it didn't sound as nice as this.

[ Show youtube player ]
DaveInFL is offline  
Old 30 June 2021, 22:34   #9
DaveInFL
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Florida
Posts: 47
Is there a good website to search for samples? Having a hard time finding good samples. Appreciate any help.
DaveInFL is offline  
Old 01 July 2021, 23:22   #10
DaveInFL
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Florida
Posts: 47
I've also come across another issue. The highest note I can play is B3, but I need to get to up to G3. Is there anyway to achieve this? Do I somehow have to create another sample from the one that I have but at an octave higher and then use that sample? If so how would I go about doing that?

TIA.
DaveInFL is offline  
Old 02 July 2021, 08:49   #11
wazza
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 60
You would need to use the resample option in the sampler screen to achieve that. You can move it to a lower note. Avoid using B3 by the way, due to hardware limitations it sounds awful.
wazza is offline  
Old 02 July 2021, 18:50   #12
DaveInFL
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Florida
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by wazza View Post
You would need to use the resample option in the sampler screen to achieve that. You can move it to a lower note. Avoid using B3 by the way, due to hardware limitations it sounds awful.
I was able to do an upsample (was an option) of the current sample and then save that as a new, octave higher sample.

Didn't know about the B3 note issue though. I'm using a Mac version of ProTracker and the B3 sounds fine. Is the issue with a real Amiga or is it also replicated with an emulator? I did try playing some B3 notes with Octamed via FS-UAE using the A4000 config and again, it sounded fine.
DaveInFL is offline  
Old 02 July 2021, 21:10   #13
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,913
It depends on the sample. Try loops and sooner or later you will hear the problem at least on real Amiga.
daxb is offline  
Old 04 July 2021, 22:35   #14
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveInFL View Post
[...]
Didn't know about the B3 note issue though. I'm using a Mac version of ProTracker and the B3 sounds fine. Is the issue with a real Amiga or is it also replicated with an emulator? I did try playing some B3 notes with Octamed via FS-UAE using the A4000 config and again, it sounded fine.
The PT2 clone doesn't simulate the DMA click/pop problem with B-3 (and sometimes even A#3). I know that WinUAE "simulates" it, but that's for Windows. Not sure about Amiga emulators for Mac...
8bitbubsy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTracker 2.3F 8bitbubsy Amiga scene 184 08 August 2021 02:06
a little help on Protracker pulselooper Amiga scene 41 05 May 2021 19:34
Looking for Protracker Jwh2o97 request.Other 5 18 June 2020 23:46
Protracker v1.3b Strages support.Apps 4 08 December 2013 19:59
Protracker 5? Whitesnake request.Music 2 25 March 2012 12:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09851 seconds with 15 queries