English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 June 2013, 18:23   #1
codeflash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Erimang
Posts: 45
*UAE network device support?

Is there any emulator that support any network card at all so much that one can use SANA-II drivers directly and the whole IP/TCP/UDP stuff ontop of it?

AMD 7990 and NS 8390 (NE2000) are the most appriciated hardware API:s regarding compatibility.

I'm in particular interested in E-UAE and P-UAE, ie for Unix.
codeflash is offline  
Old 12 June 2013, 20:32   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,102
WinUAE has full A2065 Z2 board emulation which uses AMD 7990 chip.

Someone "only" needs to find or port some host specific backend that connects it to host OS, main emulation is as usual fully portable.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 June 2013, 14:44   #3
codeflash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Erimang
Posts: 45
Kind of hard to make use of under Unix..
codeflash is offline  
Old 13 June 2013, 14:47   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,102
What? You still need host OS specific backend, whatever the Amiga network adapter is or whatever the emulation does.

For example just use existing code from something like QEMU.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 June 2013, 15:56   #5
codeflash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Erimang
Posts: 45
I meant that UAE tailored to run on MS-Windows won't run on Unix. Fixing the backend is not a big deal, adding new devices to the emulator source is another ballgame.
codeflash is offline  
Old 13 June 2013, 16:06   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,102
Wrong. Check sources first. Core emulation code is fully portable. Adding backend support is much more complex task.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 June 2013, 17:42   #7
codeflash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Erimang
Posts: 45
Seems hopeful

Just need to figure out how to make use of that pesky RTF_AFTERDOS to exploit it at boot time
codeflash is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 02:01   #8
nickey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Thessaloniki/Greece
Posts: 4
Can I use a dedicated network card for winuae like a second net card or Microsoft km-test loopback adapter so i can access winuae from windows 10 side?
The 86box has this option (Private PCap network).
https://86box.readthedocs.io/en/late...e/network.html
nickey is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 12:27   #9
nickey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Thessaloniki/Greece
Posts: 4
It did it using ueanet.device and npcap. i can ping the host (windows 10) from winuae, and the winuae, not from host, but from another pc in the lan. The key to success was to enable log window and examine the logs for the ID of the LAN adapter. Then to set the uaenet.device to that ID...
nickey is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating network device driver: multiple units? tnt23 Coders. System 1 26 July 2013 10:18
[FS-UAE] New Dedicated Forum: support.FS-UAE FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 1 02 October 2012 21:12
capsimage.device / IPF Support Library V4.2 released mr.vince News 6 13 July 2011 17:49
uae.device trouble AlfaRomeo support.Apps 3 19 March 2009 02:52
Donations for WPA Support in prism2.device Hewitson support.Hardware 0 05 February 2008 07:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07759 seconds with 15 queries