English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 December 2005, 02:00   #1
bilko9070
Zone Friend
bilko9070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 17
Send a message via MSN to bilko9070
Getting real hard disk to work in WinUAE issues

Im trying to format and install os onto a 3.5" hard drive using my pc so that it is ready to go into an amiga.
When i click on the `add harddrive` tab i get a message saying "No Amiga formatted or completly empty hard disk".
I have removed all the partitions on the disk i want to use so the disk has nothing on it at all but i still get this message!
Any ideas?
bilko9070 is offline  
Old 14 December 2005, 03:06   #2
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 666
Run WinUAE from a command shell with the -disableharddrivesafetycheck option (i.e. "C:\Program Files\WinUAE\winuae.exe" -disableharddrivesafetycheck ), when you do ALL of your connected hard disks will show up so double check that you have selected the right disk under Add Harddrive.... What causes this is that removing the partitions does not completely erase the drive, that would require a zero fill utility (often mistakenly called a low-level formatter).
OddbOd is offline  
Old 14 December 2005, 04:43   #3
bilko9070
Zone Friend
bilko9070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 17
Send a message via MSN to bilko9070
nice one thanks! That did it.
bilko9070 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why do some games work in WINUAE and not on real Amiga? Kenan support.Games 29 08 June 2013 23:00
Mounting of real hard disk doesn't work anymore mikro support.WinUAE 6 13 May 2012 18:44
WinUAE hard files from a real Amiga HD nOw2 support.WinUAE 16 15 January 2012 23:49
Winuae & real hard disk problem marcolau support.WinUAE 5 25 September 2009 17:44
Internal Hard Disk any laptop one will work? Johnyt support.Hardware 2 22 November 2004 18:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07196 seconds with 13 queries