English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 May 2022, 00:10   #2181
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 3,032
Latest experimental check in:

Added ability to link sounds to maps (the same way that animations can be). Basically just so that you can have sounds that are only in memory when that map is loaded. So that could be useful for saving memory on sounds that are only used by particular bosses, cutscenes and such.
earok is offline  
Old 18 May 2022, 00:30   #2182
Mixel
Registered User

Mixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
Latest experimental check in:

Added ability to link sounds to maps (the same way that animations can be). Basically just so that you can have sounds that are only in memory when that map is loaded. So that could be useful for saving memory on sounds that are only used by particular bosses, cutscenes and such.
That is absolutely GREAT.. Goodbye stupid motorbike sounds throughout most of the game! haha.

On the other hand.. what happens when you play a sound that doesn't exist in the level? do you get a weird noise like you get weird corrupt graphics when you try to use a non-present animation? I'll test it out
Mixel is offline  
Old 18 May 2022, 00:42   #2183
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 3,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixel View Post
That is absolutely GREAT.. Goodbye stupid motorbike sounds throughout most of the game! haha.
Cheers!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixel View Post
On the other hand.. what happens when you play a sound that doesn't exist in the level? do you get a weird noise like you get weird corrupt graphics when you try to use a non-present animation? I'll test it out
That is exactly what you'll get heh.
earok is offline  
Old 18 May 2022, 00:46   #2184
Mixel
Registered User

Mixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
That is exactly what you'll get heh.
Excellent I'm actually really glad for that, as it'll be hard to miss it if it makes some sort of horrible noise.. If it'd just made no noise I wouldn't know it was happening.. There are a few places ive reused sounds in unusual places and I can't remember where. Super handy! TY so much.
Mixel is offline  
Old 18 May 2022, 11:45   #2185
acidbottle
Registered User

acidbottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Scotland
Posts: 501
Just a quick query regarding a particular issue I had already mentioned.

The panel gap is now required on projects that use AGA sprite double. Had 2 other demos also suffer similar issues, in so far the gfx glitch if the top panel hangs down too far. Has the amount of real estate available for the game screen been adjusted for some reason as a result. It just seems I have an extra 4 or 5 blank lines that were not needed before, if it was to stop the sprite double tearing I would welcome the decision , sadly it doesn't though
acidbottle is offline  
Old 19 May 2022, 12:13   #2186
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 3,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by acidbottle View Post
Just a quick query regarding a particular issue I had already mentioned.

The panel gap is now required on projects that use AGA sprite double. Had 2 other demos also suffer similar issues, in so far the gfx glitch if the top panel hangs down too far. Has the amount of real estate available for the game screen been adjusted for some reason as a result. It just seems I have an extra 4 or 5 blank lines that were not needed before, if it was to stop the sprite double tearing I would welcome the decision , sadly it doesn't though
Changing AGA palettes use up an enormous amount of copper time. Basically the panel gap between top and game can be made smaller if there's fewer colors in the game and may need to be made larger if there's more colors in the game.

If the size of the panel gap at the top is a problem, all you can do is reduce the total number of colors by reducing bitplanes and moving the sprite palette offsets further up as well.

---

Latest experimental check in significantly changes the "yield" system, hopefully without any breaking bugs.

1) "Yield on actor timer" is no longer in the base category. Instead it's in the actor/player/projectile/new categories so you can be more specific about which timer to use.

Use case: when a player collides with an actor, actor is destroyed immediately but the player is destroyed after five frames.

* destroy actor
* yield on player for 5 frames
* destroy player

2) New "schedule timer" events which function similarly to yield, except that they direct to a certain codeblock. This allows you to trigger multiple future events in a row.

Use case: when a player collides with an actor, destroy actor and player after five frames, unload level after ten.

* schedule "destroy actor" on actor after 5 frames
* schedule "destroy player" on player after 5 frames
* yield on level timer for 10 frames
* unload level
earok is offline  
Old 19 May 2022, 14:32   #2187
acidbottle
Registered User

acidbottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Scotland
Posts: 501
Ahh that explains that then, knew there had to be some legit reason and that is fair enough!

The above yield and schedule timer changes are great to, is often these subtle updates that make a big improvement on how things can be setup and work.
acidbottle is offline  
Old Yesterday, 10:21   #2188
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 3,032
Cheers AcidBottle!

---

Latest experimental check in is sponsored by BitBeamCannon, and (hopefully) completes the rendermode flash/highlight function.

There's now the ability to edit the flash image to override the default. This solves a few issues:

1) Custom flash images are compatible with sprites, the default one is not.
2) Custom flash images allow for colors other than the top one on the palette (should be useful for EHB etc where you want to use white, but you can't put white as the top color on the palette)
3) Custom flash images don't necessarily have to be the whole image (eg, my custom flash images in Amigo the Fox only flash the character's outline rather than his whole body)

This does come with one caveat - using a custom flash image uses additional memory, whereas simply leaving it as the default does not.
earok is offline  
Old Yesterday, 13:57   #2189
UltraNarwhal
Registered User

UltraNarwhal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 159
Tip for any devs targetting 1MB machines. Test on the A600 & A500+ presets, as A600 seems to use up an extra 2KB.
UltraNarwhal is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2D Platformer Engine carrion Coders. Blitz Basic 27 06 June 2019 14:35
New Chaos Engine!! arpz Retrogaming General Discussion 75 31 August 2013 22:20
F/S Warp engine 32 mb tabuhuso MarketPlace 0 24 February 2012 15:13
PC Engine CD TodaysForgotten Retrogaming General Discussion 47 13 May 2009 23:57
Scorpion (100% working) andreas request.Old Rare Games 13 01 August 2003 08:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.21720 seconds with 15 queries