English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 September 2012, 03:50   #1
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 748
HDD LED with a mind of its own

Does anyone know why my A1200 HDD LED flashes at random?

The best I can pin it to is CPU activity. I'm running the CF card and adapter that come from Amigakit.

[ Show youtube player ]
john1979 is offline  
Old 15 September 2012, 05:57   #2
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,104
Interesting
Run a Snoopdos to see if there is anything accessing the HD.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 15 September 2012, 08:39   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,568
Some CF adapter/card combinations make the HDD led blink erratically.
Jope is offline  
Old 15 September 2012, 10:22   #4
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 63
Posts: 3,967
I have the Amigakit card/adapter combo (4gb SFS) and my led flashes normally.

Does the led on the adapter blink like that as well?

Have you another card to try?
Arnie is offline  
Old 15 September 2012, 15:27   #5
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Does the led on the adapter blink like that as well?

Have you another card to try?
The LED on the card behaves itself and only blinks when there's real activity. I have another card and adapter (a cheap chinese one) on a different 1200 that does exactly the same thing.

@amiman99
Thanks, but not sure how to do that It also does it when kickstart 1.3 is used too and I guess that version will have no knowledge of the IDE port.

@Jope
So it's just a fact of life then? Like death and taxes? Still would be interesting to understand why the phenomena occurs.
john1979 is offline  
Old 15 September 2012, 15:54   #6
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,517
I never seen such a thing occur. Have you checked if the cable has shorted with any part of the computer? Since it goes under the keyboard perhaps you have pinched it and it's touching the metal part of the keyboard assembly. This is just a wild, uninformed guess, though.
Akira is offline  
Old 15 September 2012, 16:47   #7
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,074
Maybe ghost in your Amiga..
Anemos is offline  
Old 15 September 2012, 18:17   #8
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 5,894
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Definately card used with combination of certain mobo's
Seen this a few times. Some cf cards cause light to blink erratically and randomly when hdd is not used.
FOL is offline  
Old 16 September 2012, 09:32   #9
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,568
My guess is that some cards let the activity pin float and as a result the voltage occasionally goes above the threshold voltage required to switch the LED on. Could be perhaps fixed with a mild pullup resistor at the CF adapter?

This is not based on any measurements though. Feel free to dig out your oscilloscope and check it out. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 16 September 2012, 10:00   #10
lilalurl
Global Moderator
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 3,289
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Happy

Have you tried the Turing test to be sure if it has a mind of its own?
lilalurl is offline  
Old 16 September 2012, 12:44   #11
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
My guess is that some cards let the activity pin float and as a result the voltage occasionally goes above the threshold voltage required to switch the LED on. Could be perhaps fixed with a mild pullup resistor at the CF adapter?

This is not based on any measurements though. Feel free to dig out your oscilloscope and check it out. :-)
That does sound very plausible.

Quote:
Have you tried the Turing test to be sure if it has a mind of its own?
john1979 is offline  
Old 26 October 2012, 07:37   #12
melbourneben!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: adelaide
Posts: 44
I have the same problem on my A1200 1D4, I got the card/adapter from Amigakit...It works great apart from the eratic flashing. It seems like it flashes when it detects any IO...even moving of the mouse pointer.

Anyone know how to fix this?
melbourneben! is offline  
Old 26 October 2012, 14:48   #13
Cymru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dorathea/AT
Posts: 373
Cf cards vary in what they tell the host controller. Some say are hard drives assumed to be non-removable, some say that they are removable which causes an intermittent "poll" of the channel to see if they have been changed, and I would guess that yours is of the latter type with CPU activity mediating the periodicity.
Cymru is offline  
Old 26 October 2012, 15:12   #14
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 5,894
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by melbourneben! View Post
I have the same problem on my A1200 1D4, I got the card/adapter from Amigakit...It works great apart from the eratic flashing. It seems like it flashes when it detects any IO...even moving of the mouse pointer.
Yet it works fine here when we test them. So its definately the board rev used.
FOL is offline  
Old 26 October 2012, 15:42   #15
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
The HDD flashing is downright annoying...I just put some tape on the leds for now.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 31 January 2013, 23:46   #16
A1200
 
Posts: n/a
Mine does this too, using a latest (Escom) motherboard - REV 2B and the CF HDD solution from Amigakit and mine is strobing / flickering / flashing like a goodern - when blanker kicks in it seems to increase it's intensity by a factor of 3 in comparison with an idling machine.
 
Old 01 February 2013, 10:07   #17
Turran
Moderator

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 1,232
I've tested two different IDE-CF adapters (both cheap ones from ebay) and one of them does this as well. The light blinks all the time, but not as bright as when there are actually IDE IO. Then it lights upp the LED "all the way"
Turran is offline  
Old 01 February 2013, 11:19   #18
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 43
Posts: 629
I have one of Kippers CF adaptors and it will do this if you have the jumpers closed with a card inserted. LED behaves properly when the jumpers are opened. Perhaps he can make an educated guess at what is going on.
jimbob is offline  
Old 01 February 2013, 13:08   #19
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 5,894
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob View Post
I have one of Kippers CF adaptors and it will do this if you have the jumpers closed with a card inserted. LED behaves properly when the jumpers are opened. Perhaps he can make an educated guess at what is going on.
Which jumpers are you referring to?
As the only jumper is master / slave. If this open, then drive will not work at all.

As I said it only seems to effect certain motherboards, our test board works fine.
FOL is offline  
Old 01 February 2013, 13:25   #20
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 41
Posts: 4,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Which jumpers are you referring to?
As the only jumper is master / slave. If this open, then drive will not work at all.
Kipper2k's CF adapters have two jumpers. One for Master/Slave selection and the other for the LED. If he didn't have that second jumper, it would take longer to boot the machine if there was no CF card installed.
demolition is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
V27 with PFS3 (HDD LED problem) Articat project.ClassicWB 2 29 June 2012 16:11
problem with HDD LED diodes orange support.Hardware 2 07 October 2010 10:59
A1200 Hdd Led robheaton support.Hardware 5 19 December 2009 21:32
A1200 LED to PC-Case LED? PoliceQuest support.Hardware 2 30 August 2008 13:09
is the HDD led supposed to work when using CF card Interceptor support.Hardware 2 25 September 2007 10:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11387 seconds with 13 queries