English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 February 2007, 11:28   #1
PHPHPH
 
Posts: n/a
Help Needed Connecting A500 to Monitor

Hi,

I've recently bought an A500, as I just could not resist going back to my youth for such unbelievable cheap prices that they seem to be going for now, but I was wondering if anyone can tell me if its possible to connect it up to a HP F2105 LCD monitor ?

http://www.dealtime.co.uk/xPF-Hewlet...-Panel-Monitor

I've read varying articles on this which seem to contradict each other so am just looking for a bit of advice if possible.

Many Thanks

Paul
 
Old 12 February 2007, 11:34   #2
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,327
Depends on what connectors it has... if it only has DVI/VGA then you'd need to get a scandoubler for your Amiga (expensive £70+ and quite rare).

If it would accept Scart (or maybe composite?) then it should be ok... but I doubt it does as I've just read one of the reviews.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 12 February 2007, 11:58   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
from the tech specs all it has is DVI-D input

you would need to convert your amiga output signal to svga frequencies as musashi say you need a scan doubler.

there is another way however... at about half the cost.. the results are quite reasonable for the price..

you need one of these items. for arround £35

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/External-TV-Tu...QQcmdZViewItem

you may find cheaper ones so have a look arround, pay in mind the scren size they can do, I have found if you go tooo cheap they can only do 800x600 wich most likely wont look all that good on a nice 21" screen!

I have one similar to the above that can output 1440 x 960, this on a 19" crt is very nice and well worth the price!

anyways

Welcome to the EAB PHPHPH, i hope that you like it here.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 12 February 2007, 15:21   #4
PHPHPH
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks a lot for your help..
 
Old 13 February 2007, 14:45   #5
PHPHPH
 
Posts: n/a
I just discovered I have one of these at home:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VGA-XGA-Magic-...QQcmdZViewItem

I bought it to connect my PS2 to my HP monitor and was wondering if this is basically the same piece of kit that you recommended above ?

Thanks

Paul
 
Old 13 February 2007, 14:47   #6
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,327
That would do the job! Not sure how good quality the output would be - but well worth a try to save you some £££
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 14 February 2007, 00:13   #7
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
Sweet!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 21 February 2007, 17:30   #8
clarencebeaks
80's NUT
clarencebeaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Surrey united kingdom
Posts: 47
Hi,
I have just bought an amiga A500 and was wnadering which type of monitor
would be suitable for such a classic piece of machinery?!

The Beaks
clarencebeaks is offline  
Old 21 February 2007, 17:36   #9
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 7,957
If it's just for games I'd just get yourself a SCART cable and plug it in to your TV
killergorilla is offline  
Old 21 February 2007, 19:12   #10
clarencebeaks
80's NUT
clarencebeaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Surrey united kingdom
Posts: 47
Thanks KILLERGORRILA, better look for a classic second hand crt tv, as I don't want the wife to know, so I can't use the LCD in the main room LOL!!

The Beaks
clarencebeaks is offline  
Old 21 February 2007, 19:13   #11
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 7,957
how you gonna hide a TV from your wife?
killergorilla is offline  
Old 21 February 2007, 21:07   #12
clarencebeaks
80's NUT
clarencebeaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Surrey united kingdom
Posts: 47
Stick out tongue

With great difficulty, though using it and hiding it in the garage may
work, I'll get a 18" screen second hander!!
clarencebeaks is offline  
Old 21 February 2007, 21:09   #13
clarencebeaks
80's NUT
clarencebeaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Surrey united kingdom
Posts: 47
Stick out tongue

I remember those days with the Amiga a500, playing cannon fodder, xenon 2
and fighting over every game with my younger brother. I have to say it, the
Amiga for it's time was and is an exceptionable machine and it doesn't waste
room like the pc of this day
clarencebeaks is offline  
Old 21 February 2007, 21:11   #14
clarencebeaks
80's NUT
clarencebeaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Surrey united kingdom
Posts: 47
Stick out tongue

Can't wait, mines arriving tommorrow hopefully, it better work or, or well
I suppose I'd buy another
clarencebeaks is offline  
Old 21 February 2007, 21:15   #15
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 7,957
You remember those days? They can be again in your local garage

Some people hide their mistress and sneak off to do... well you know.

You sneak off to play Cannon Fodder. AWESOME.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 21 February 2007, 22:09   #16
clarencebeaks
80's NUT
clarencebeaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Surrey united kingdom
Posts: 47
Stick out tongue

So what your getting at is that I only need an old tv with a scart connection and a scart leed?
clarencebeaks is offline  
Old 21 February 2007, 22:12   #17
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 7,957
Well you have a few options to connect it to a TV.

1) Buy a modulator and use an RF lead
2) Buy a modulator and use a composite video lead (with optional scart adapter)
3) Buy a 23pin RGB to SCART RGB lead (your TV needs to support RGB)
killergorilla is offline  
Old 21 February 2007, 22:22   #18
clarencebeaks
80's NUT
clarencebeaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Surrey united kingdom
Posts: 47
Stick out tongue

Thanks, much appreciated, however so as not to insult your intelligence, I was born yesterday, therefore your second option would suggest a composite video lead, which is the black lead with the white,red and yellow connectors which can then be attached to a scart adaptor,then into the scart socket.That sentence was way too long, anyways where would I get a modulator from and more for that matter what does it look like? Ebay Maybe? Dam I'm out of touch Your help however is much appreciated
clarencebeaks is offline  
Old 21 February 2007, 22:23   #19
clarencebeaks
80's NUT
clarencebeaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Surrey united kingdom
Posts: 47
I'm currently checking suitable tv's on ebay
clarencebeaks is offline  
Old 21 February 2007, 22:28   #20
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 7,957
the a500 modulator is called an A520, they are fairly cheap on ebay



Composite is indeed the white(sometimesblack)/red/yellow leads



RGB Scart will give you the best quality, like this:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Amiga-RGB-Scar...QQcmdZViewItem

Most TVs if they have a SCART are RGB capable but yeah you should check first
killergorilla is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help connecting A500 to CRT trydowave support.Hardware 9 11 February 2013 15:57
Connecting Amiga 1200 to Hantarex Polo/3 Arcade Monitor Blip support.Hardware 5 23 November 2011 10:04
Connecting Amiga to TV - Explanation needed for a moron (me) vroom6sri support.Hardware 16 01 October 2010 09:18
Connecting A500 to laptop (sorry) Mountaingod New to Emulation or Amiga scene 18 04 December 2008 03:28
A2000 monitor connecting MrFluffy support.Hardware 12 27 October 2008 12:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10274 seconds with 13 queries