English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 November 2009, 13:47   #1
pmc
gone
 
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
AsmOne even directive...?

Watcha chaps.

I'm doing some stuff at the moment where I need to assemble one of the sources I created in Devpac using AsmOne with the wb (write binary) option.

I'm finding that doing this is screwing up my code.

The reason seems to be (from some peeking I've done with HRTMon) that various things keep ending up at odd addresses. Access to these odd addresses via an address register == hello guru.

The code works fine in Devpac so my question is - does AsmOne ignore Devpac's even directive? If so, is there an equivalent I can use? Or alternatively, is there a Devpac equivalent to AsmOne's write binary?

Last edited by pmc; 12 November 2009 at 13:58. Reason: typo...
pmc is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 14:29   #2
pmc
gone
 
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmc
The code works fine in Devpac so my question is - does AsmOne ignore Devpac's even directive?
I should learn to RTFM.

I can see that even is accepted by AsmOne.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmc
alternatively, is there a Devpac equivalent to AsmOne's write binary?
Would still be interested in this though if anyone knows? I can't see anything obvious so I assume the answer is: no.
pmc is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 14:54   #3
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
 
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 2,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmc View Post
Would still be interested in this though if anyone knows? I can't see anything obvious so I assume the answer is: no.
I don't think so. If there is I've wasted a good portion of my life in a hex editor stripping headers
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 15:01   #4
pmc
gone
 
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi5150
I don't think so. If there is I've wasted a good portion of my life in a hex editor stripping headers
LOL! Ok mate, thanks for confirming.

In case it's of interest to anyone - AsmOne was pushing entries in an rsreset structure to odd addresses after an rs.b and causing the crashes.

For AsmOne at least, sticking an even inside the rs reset structure doesn't cause any assembly errors but doesn't fix the problem either. The only way I could sort it was to shuffle a few rs.b entries around and make sure the whole strucure was even aligned by the time it reached the end.

I don't know if Devpac takes care of this stuff itself...?
pmc is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 15:06   #5
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmc View Post
For AsmOne at least, sticking an even inside the rs reset structure doesn't cause any assembly errors but doesn't fix the problem either.
Which makes perfect sense, to me at least. It's just a structure so you should take care to align it yourself if necessary by adding some rs.b 1 etc where necessary.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmc View Post
I don't know if Devpac takes care of this stuff itself...?
If it does it would be one more reason for me not to use it (never used it anyway ;D) as I want to have full control over any structures I create.
StingRay is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 15:17   #6
pmc
gone
 
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay
Which makes perfect sense, to me at least. It's just a structure so you should take care to align it yourself if necessary by adding some rs.b 1 etc where necessary.
Yeah, that's cool - it's the first time I've used one of those rsreset structures myself (following your PM'd advice about pc relative code ) so I'm just learning about all these little code killing things that I'll have to remember about.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay
If it does it would be one more reason for me not to use it (never used it anyway ;D) as I want to have full control over any structures I create.
LOL! Fair point. I still love Devpac though.

Must admit that cos I've been using things in AsmOne recently that I don't hate its interface as much as I used to.

It's actually quite nice now that I've adjusted a bit and it does have nice functions - write binary being the one that's come in most handy so far...
pmc is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 19:06   #7
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
 
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 2,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmc View Post
LOL! Fair point. I still love Devpac though.
Me too Although it seems it's just an English thing... the rest of Europe hate it (or at least everyone I've spoken to does!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmc View Post
It's actually quite nice now that I've adjusted a bit and it does have nice functions
Yes, Mr Stinger is right once again I have to use AsmOne for some of my WHDLoad stuff as Devpac versions seemed to bug out. A bit of variety in which grey GUI I'm using is a good thing I guess To be honest if I was new coming to assembler now I'd use AsmOne exclusively I think. I will however, always stick to Devpac3 as my Mum bought it for me back in the day and I still feel I owe it to her to get the best value from it
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 20:15   #8
pmc
gone
 
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi5150
Although it seems it's just an English thing...
Funny you should say that - I assumed this too as, like you, all the European demo coders always talk about using AsmOne. However, I posted in a thread on amiga.org that I thought using Devpac was mainly a British thing and people started posting saying they all used Devpac.

So, I think it's more accurate to say using AsmOne is a European thing rather than using Devpac's a British thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi5150
Yes, Mr Stinger is right once again
Is he ever wrong...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi5150
To be honest if I was new coming to assembler now I'd use AsmOne exclusively I think.
Easy now - let's not go mad! I still prefer Devpac's menu driven / point and click style interface. That probably emphasises my lameness more than anything else though for, as we all know, - real power users do it with the keyboard!

Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi5150
I will however, always stick to Devpac3 as my Mum bought it for me back in the day and I still feel I owe it to her to get the best value from it
LOL.
pmc is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 21:53   #9
Vortex
Used Register
 
Vortex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Headvillage / The Nethervoids
Age: 50
Posts: 103
I find RT RS WT and WS quite handy in ASMOne. And let's not forget CC.

(Oh and no I didn't die. Just very busy and last months of the year are always crazy for me...).
Vortex is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 21:58   #10
pmc
gone
 
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vortex
I find RT RS WT and WS quite handy in ASMOne. And let's not forget CC.
What actually is all that stuff...? Are these letter codes described in the AsmOne docs...?
pmc is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 22:01   #11
Vortex
Used Register
 
Vortex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Headvillage / The Nethervoids
Age: 50
Posts: 103
RT = Read Track
RS = Read Sector
WT = Write Track
WS = Write Sector
CC = calc and write bootblock checksum

You should be able to find them in the ASMOne doc, but you can also find them in one of the menu's... I just read you have a soft spot for menus
Vortex is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 22:04   #12
pmc
gone
 
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vortex
I just read you have a soft spot for menus
ROFL!

It's good to have you back dude!
pmc is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 23:17   #13
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmc View Post
real power users do it with the keyboard!
Indeed. MUCH faster than any menu/mouse crap.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Vortex View Post
I find RT RS WT and WS quite handy in ASMOne. And let's not forget CC.
I find "wo" incredibly useful too. And IS/CS (I.nsert/C.reate Sinus) is very useful too. As is h.x (x=b/w/l) for hex dumping etc pp. AsmOne ftw \o/
StingRay is offline  
Old 16 November 2009, 18:44   #14
Photon
Moderator
 
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,602
/me wonders if anyone has seen the WB etc options in AsmOne's pull-down menu... or the file requester... ?

Not that I use any menus or requesters tho I guess I haven't seen this awesome point and click interface in DevPac 3 that saves the horrid laborious typing of 1- and 2-letter commands... is it really that big of a difference in ease of use?
Photon is offline  
Old 16 November 2009, 18:49   #15
pmc
gone
 
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon
I guess I haven't seen this awesome point and click interface in DevPac 3 that saves the horrid laborious typing of 1- and 2-letter commands...
LOL.

Devpac is a nice assembler but, I must admit, I'm beginning to see more and more reasons

Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay
I find "wo" incredibly useful too. And IS/CS (I.nsert/C.reate Sinus) is very useful too. As is h.x (x=b/w/l) for hex dumping etc pp. AsmOne ftw \o/
why you guys love AsmOne... maybe enough for me to start loving it too!
pmc is offline  
Old 16 November 2009, 22:21   #16
Photon
Moderator
 
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,602
btw, what I meant was if Devpac 3's "GUI" has some neat features that AsmOne's GUI lacks. It seemed as if someone thought AsmOne only had a commandline. Just because I don't use the AsmOne GUI doesn't mean it's not there.
Photon is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 12:15   #17
phx
Natteravn
 
phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 2,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmc View Post
>Originally Posted by pmc
>alternatively, is there a Devpac equivalent to AsmOne's write binary?

Would still be interested in this though if anyone knows? I can't see anything obvious so I assume the answer is: no.
Vasm can do it, which is compatible to Devpac.
Just select binary output format:
Code:
vasmm68k_mot -Fbin -o mybinary mycode.s
Also PhxAss can write binaries (even directly onto disk), but Devpac compatibility is not complete.
phx is offline  
Old 02 December 2009, 19:29   #18
Plagueis/KRX
coder
 
Plagueis/KRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: a galaxy far far away
Age: 49
Posts: 84
I just sent PMC a big email regarding this whole issue (Devpac vs AsmOne). He started me out by suggesting Devpac, though I did feel drawn to AsmOne due to the lack of a mouse driven interface. When I use Linux, or BSD or any other version of UNIX I don't feel at home unless I'm in text mode using 100% command line. When I use Windows I'm always using keyboard shortcuts. The BSD based kernel was the best thing to happen to MacOS in my opinion....well, you get the picture.

I noticed a lot of the intro/demo sources I was able to get my hands on to study were coded in AsmOne too, and I tend to want to use what the majority of the demo community use/used. Nevertheless, it would probably be a good idea to be fluent in both. For comfort alone though, a command line interface would be preferable.

Does anyone have a link to an AsmOne manual?
Plagueis/KRX is offline  
Old 02 December 2009, 19:50   #19
pmc
gone
 
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
I've just replied to that big email with... a big email! \o/

You wanna use AsmOne!? Pah! Sell out!

Don't blame you actually, many cool features. Download AsmOne v1.48 from aminet - the manual is in the archive...
pmc is offline  
Old 02 December 2009, 19:54   #20
Plagueis/KRX
coder
 
Plagueis/KRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: a galaxy far far away
Age: 49
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmc View Post
I've just replied to that big email with... a big email! \o/

You wanna use AsmOne!? Pah! Sell out!

Don't blame you actually, many cool features. Download AsmOne v1.48 from aminet - the manual is in the archive...
Getting ready to check my email...I didn't say for sure I was going to use AsmOne as my main assembler, I just said I was tempted by the speed of a command line interface.

-Brett
Plagueis/KRX is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange AsmOne operator phx Coders. Asm / Hardware 23 18 March 2015 23:13
AsmOne: Undefined symbol copse Coders. Asm / Hardware 2 02 April 2012 01:41
AsmOne doesn't like my accelerator... Photon Coders. General 6 03 February 2011 23:37
ASMOne: Sectors and Tracks Vortex Coders. General 19 03 December 2009 08:31
Invalid Directive Kimmo support.WinUAE 1 23 July 2004 11:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:19.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09907 seconds with 13 queries