English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 November 2019, 15:04   #1
XsamX1987
Registered User

XsamX1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 212
Msata hard drive ---Help-----

--------------------------SOLVED--------------------------SOLVED----------------------SOLVED--------------------------SOLVED--------------------------SOLVED--------------------------SOLVED----------------------SOLVED--------------------------SOLVED

Dont no why but its now working

--------------------------SOLVED--------------------------SOLVED----------------------SOLVED--------------------------SOLVED--------------------------SOLVED--------------------------SOLVED----------------------SOLVED--------------------------SOLVED
Hello All

Ok so i was having a little play around as I had a Msata drive Doing nothing so i bought a Msata to Ide adapter hooked it up installed 3.1.4 Everything seemed ok until I rebooted and it wouldn't boot to Workbench all I get it the boot screen, To test it I hooked it up to my pc and with Winuae it works perfectly, So what am I doing wrong or is it just not Fully compatible ?

Anyway, hope someone can help me

will include a picture of my Adapter

Last edited by XsamX1987; 03 January 2020 at 18:30.
XsamX1987 is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 15:11   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,819
What size is your msata drive? What kickstart ROM do you have in the Amiga?
Jope is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 15:25   #3
XsamX1987
Registered User

XsamX1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
What size is your msata drive? What kickstart ROM do you have in the Amiga?
Hey Jope

I tried a 16gb and a 64gb and tried a different make of adapter from another Project

I have 3.1.4 ROMs

It all works on my main Sd card on my 1200.
XsamX1987 is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 15:39   #4
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,630
In the early boot menu (hold down both mouse buttons on boot), what does Boot Options list show - provide a picture of it.
solarmon is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 16:07   #5
XsamX1987
Registered User

XsamX1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
In the early boot menu (hold down both mouse buttons on boot), what does Boot Options list show - provide a picture of it.
Sure here you go, Could this be Happening as I didn't select Direct SCSI transfer when I partitioned my drive?

Last edited by XsamX1987; 03 January 2020 at 18:30.
XsamX1987 is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 16:19   #6
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,630
I was interested in whether it was detected and what the priorities and bootable settings were. Your looks OK compared to my A1200 with IDE to CF adapter:

solarmon is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 16:27   #7
XsamX1987
Registered User

XsamX1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
I was interested in whether it was detected and what the priorities and bootable settings were. Your looks OK compared to my A1200 with IDE to CF adapter:

Hmmm weird, ok I'm gonna go back over it and see if I'm doing something wrong.
XsamX1987 is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 16:38   #8
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,208
When you used the drive with WinUAE, did you have it connected to the emulated Amiga IDE port?
mark_k is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 16:48   #9
XsamX1987
Registered User

XsamX1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
When you used the drive with WinUAE, did you have it connected to the emulated Amiga IDE port?
Sorry, not 100% sure so I have taken a screenshot from Winuae.

Last edited by XsamX1987; 03 January 2020 at 18:30.
XsamX1987 is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 17:04   #10
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,630
Please show how the volumes are formatted in HDToolbox. What max transfer values have you used?
solarmon is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 17:12   #11
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,630
Also, please check what scsi.device version you are using.

EDIT: You can run hddreport:

http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.../hddreport.lha
solarmon is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 21:02   #12
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 1,133
I use a mSATA drive with IDE adapter in my A4000 so they do work.
If you can, try booting from a floppy and see if you can access it.

I wrote about by board here:
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...7&postcount=18
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 15:58   #13
XsamX1987
Registered User

XsamX1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 212
Ok i must of been doing something wrong but I don't know what as I tried different things at the same time, this time I formatted and partitioned the drive from winuae enabled SCSI and when I put it in my 1200 it's working perfectly I used a different cable, so I tried it on a 16 GB 32gb 64gb and they all work and bother adapter boards, So I don't know why it's working now which at the same time is annoying, Very sorry for wasting everyone's time but thank you for trying to help me.
XsamX1987 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hack@Home: 16GB mSATA SSD to Amiga IDE - for about £10 Zetr0 support.Hardware 133 21 December 2018 20:28
mSata drive not detected when booting from 3.1.4 Kickstart okee support.Hardware 1 31 October 2018 11:43
why cannot I boot hard drive directory or hard disk image jotd support.WinUAE 2 31 October 2017 19:00
Project: Adding a CF Drive as an Hard Drive to an A500 mfletcher support.Hardware 8 03 July 2008 01:20
Compact flash drive Vs. 2,5" hard disk drive fc.studio support.Hardware 5 16 June 2007 17:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12524 seconds with 13 queries