English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 October 2022, 15:37   #61
CFou!
Moderator
CFou!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 49
Posts: 3,800
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psygore View Post
Here the Great Giana Sisters slave supporting backgroung color gradient, set custom4=1 to use it.

Maybe you have a better palette, it could be included.
CFou! is offline  
Old 05 October 2022, 15:39   #62
CFou!
Moderator
CFou!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 49
Posts: 3,800
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psygore View Post
Here the Great Giana Sisters slave supporting backgroung color gradient, set custom4=1 to use it.

Maybe you have a better palette, it could be included.
why not 2 external editable files with colors list?
First for Sky levels and second for cave levels...
CFou! is offline  
Old 06 October 2022, 15:25   #63
rothers
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 435
I assume the Amiga could send code to the genlock, so a little assembler hack on the level complete stages of games could change the background? Or did it not work like that?
rothers is offline  
Old 06 October 2022, 20:59   #64
john4p
Competition Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by rothers View Post
Very nice way to make deluxe versions of games. In theory do/could those min-amiga clones support this?
Only if the Genlock-emulation incl. the new enhancements would be ported to an ARM emu like UAE4ARM (which can be run on the Mini).
With the preinstalled emulator it's not possible.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rothers View Post
I assume the Amiga could send code to the genlock, so a little assembler hack on the level complete stages of games could change the background? Or did it not work like that?
AFAIK the genlock hardware is just a "video mixer", it only takes input (from two sources) but doesn't send anything back.
john4p is offline  
Old 06 October 2022, 21:28   #65
john4p
Competition Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,697
@CFou! & Psygore: Would it be possible with WHDLoad to replace the Turrican extra life-graphic with the one from Turrican II (and also replace its collection-sound with the "one up"-voice sample)?

=>

Or is the palette a problem?

(off-topic, but additionally to the copper-background this is the one change I was hoping for when I heard about Turrican being released for PS4&Switch)
john4p is offline  
Old 06 October 2022, 21:42   #66
Dan
Registered User
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 581
As far as i understand: genlock is a device which combines the output from the TV/VCR/Camera with the amiga output, and displays them both on the TV.

[ Show youtube player ]

Software like CheatEngine or ArtMoney can monitor the winuae's memory and find the level values in it ...

In a theory:

To have different Genlock picture for each level, someone could write an windows app which has the needed information on where to find the memory byte which contains the level information.
(the app would need to be written flexible so that it can be used for more games)


What Winuae would need to do is to have a trigger (keypress) which would let it to reload the genlock picture.

The windows app would then copy the level picture as the picture defined in the image file settings, and send a keypress to the winuae window to reload it.


The problem is how to find the memory location where the level byte is saved.

For the Giana sisters game, the level memory location looks like this:



The address in this example is 7fff74ab, with 0 as lvl 1.
My assumption is that the visible text "t SVOR", "t SKOL" and "BRUECKE2" will always be in the same memory location, and therefore the level byte could be located by searching for one of these.

(p.s.this may need testing with different memory configs)


The steps needed for this approach would be:
  • Start winuae.
  • Start the monitoring app.
  • Select the game you want to play (in the app)
  • Launch the game (eventually start the 1st level) - winuae
  • Let the app locate the level byte.

After that the app takes over and monitors the memory, copying the image file after the level change, notifying winuae that the image has changed.

So "theoretically" it could be done in this way.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Winuae-GianaSisters.png
Views:	165
Size:	8.4 KB
ID:	76770  

Last edited by Dan; 06 October 2022 at 22:04.
Dan is offline  
Old 06 October 2022, 22:19   #67
john4p
Competition Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,697
^ Yes, it'd definitely be possible to do it this way. Thank you for the elaborate explanation and video.
john4p is offline  
Old 06 October 2022, 23:06   #68
Dan
Registered User
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 581
Hehe, when i started replying to this thread, you have not written your answer to rothers.

It took me a bit to test and take the picture and find the video ...

There is something that i would add to my previous post:

Winuae would need to have a way to change the genlocked color index ... remotely, for my theoretical example.
Dan is offline  
Old 07 October 2022, 10:27   #69
john4p
Competition Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Winuae would need to have a way to change the genlocked color index ... remotely, for my theoretical example.
Yes, that would be necessary, but it could be combined with the pic/video to be shown so that a config-solution would be sufficient.
After an optional comma after each genlock media file in the config you could change the genlock_effects-values.

Example:
genlock_media0=C:\bg\bg0.png,5
genlock_media1=C:\bg\bg1.png
genlock_media2=C:\bg\bg0.png,0,3
[...]

Alternative: a single genlock_media_list-parameter that has each file (incl. the optional genlock_effects-change) separated by semicolon.

Now we'd just need one (mappable) button for cycling through the defined media-files and another button to enable/disable the background (as suggested by TCD) because not every part of a game may be suited for custom backgrounds at all.
In the example above the first two pics would use palette index 5 for transparency and the third pic would use index 0 and 3.

This should be all that's needed on the WinUAE-side.

Last edited by john4p; 07 October 2022 at 11:38.
john4p is offline  
Old 07 October 2022, 14:26   #70
rothers
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 435
You may as well make a theoretical piece of hardware which talks to the genlock via the parallel port.

You could then scroll the background and change it as you please. The hardware supports all this in theory. The genlock just being a more advanced bit of hardware which can accept commands in 2022.
rothers is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replace a color with a texture turrican3 support.WinUAE 9 18 October 2019 09:10
Color Saturation and Color Tint/Hue Retro-Nerd support.WinUAE 22 02 August 2018 11:38
Printing in color with WinUAE on color laser source support.Apps 7 14 April 2013 01:32
ISO true color to 256 color algorithm Lord Riton Coders. General 19 15 April 2011 18:49
New 256 color backgrounds in the Zone ! DoomMaster support.Apps 0 09 October 2004 11:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09790 seconds with 16 queries