English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 29 June 2020, 17:09   #1
marioboy

Hooooo A500+ motherboard - black screen

I bought this motherboard of A500+ several years ago. It have been shipped only with 512k RAM card.

Couple days ago I bought power supply, and finally had chance to power up this board. Power supply came with cut-off plug, but I checked voltages and put each cable into power port, according to pinout scheme from wiki (I know, it's hillbilly level of electronics, but it does the work )

Black screen - that's all. No matter what did I try - there is signal via AV port, but no image, only black screen.

I am complete noob about Amiga, never used it, that's why have no idea what to do.

About the motherboard:
visually it has no damage, board looks very great. There are missing elements at "clock" and "battery" section, but I have no idea is it revision or indeed elements have been removed - there are no any signs that this board have been messed around with.

There are something with Fat Agnus: 1) There is some element soldered on bottom side of board; 2) socket has plastic missing on one of the corners

Old 29 June 2020, 17:24   #2
solarmon

Looks like a rev 8A board that was used in an A500 case - since there is no battery and RTC onboard.

The battery on the memory expansion unit needs removing. Although, admittedly, it does look in good condition.

Try to boot up without the memory expansion connection And reseat and clean all the socketed chips and sockets.

The issue with the Fat Agnus socket needs to looked at and probably a new socket is needed. Check that the socket pin on the corner where it is broken is making contact with the Fat Agnus pin.

I'm not sure what the mod is, and doing, on pin 40 (CCK) of Fat Agnus.
Old 29 June 2020, 18:47   #3
marioboy

Now it's white screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post