English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 September 2010, 04:50   #1
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 52
Posts: 434
Satan v1.1 Uploaded to the Zone (Please Test and Provide Feedback)

I would appreciate if people would test it and provide feedback.

version 1.1 (09-13-2010) done by Keith Krellwitz (Abaddon):
- Complete re-write (removed jst macros and implemented PATCHLIST)
- Custom1 - Warrior Cheat Mode
Infinite Lives
Infinite Energy
- Added 34x Blitter Waits
- Fixed 3 access faults
1 in Warrior
2 in Magician
- Added support for 2nd firebutton (Magician) Amiga Key (jump to platforms)
- Added support for a 2nd version (IPF 1082)

WinUAE - disable JIT

Fixed Issue With Game Select

Last edited by Abaddon; 14 September 2010 at 04:14.
Abaddon is offline  
Old 13 September 2010, 10:40   #2
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
With my setup (see sig) the character select screen comes up but after selection just black screen. Quitkey does nothing at this point. Tested with WHDLoad 16.9 and newest 17beta. The old slave works normally.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 13 September 2010, 14:41   #3
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 52
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
With my setup (see sig) the character select screen comes up but after selection just black screen. Quitkey does nothing at this point. Tested with WHDLoad 16.9 and newest 17beta. The old slave works normally.
I will take a look tonight. It's either I forgot to copy the latest version to the install directory or I need to change how I determining which game is being loaded.
Abaddon is offline  
Old 13 September 2010, 15:16   #4
kkgarbod
The Human/Gray Hybrid

kkgarbod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Elizabeth Arkham Asylum for the Criminally Insane
Posts: 370
I can confirm the error
kkgarbod is offline  
Old 14 September 2010, 01:24   #5
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 52
Posts: 434
I guess I should have tested my last change on a real amiga. I was relying on the key press to determine which patch to apply. It works on WinUAE, but fails on real hardware as the key value is already 0'd out. I updated the slave and have uploaded the new version to the zone. I uploaded both supported versions.
Abaddon is offline  
Old 14 September 2010, 09:06   #6
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Both versions work, tested with WHDLoad 16.9. Btw. what's the difference between these two versions? They seem identical.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 14 September 2010, 09:10   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 24,024
The disks/images used to install them Bamiga2002
TCD is offline  
Old 14 September 2010, 09:23   #8
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
OK so no other difference then than just size
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 14 September 2010, 13:08   #9
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 52
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Both versions work, tested with WHDLoad 16.9. Btw. what's the difference between these two versions? They seem identical.
The only difference is the bootblock and the initial loader offset $400, length $1c00. I don't use the bootblock, but the initial loader holds the game select and is patched. The games themselves are identical.
Abaddon is offline  
Old 14 September 2010, 19:02   #10
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,820
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
the protection differs too between both version.

The original retail version of Satan use an atari ST track.

the Satan version IPF 1082 is the rerelease (Prism Leisure) with no protection on.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 14 September 2010, 21:28   #11
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 52
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
OK so no other difference then than just size
The disk size is actually the same. I was playing with trimming the size on the original version.
Abaddon is offline  
Old 14 September 2010, 21:59   #12
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,820
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
abaddon, do you want me to up both versions ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 14 September 2010, 23:13   #13
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 52
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
abaddon, do you want me to up both versions ?

What format? Extended ADF or IPF?

I have IPF 1082, but I no longer have the original release (I just have the ripped image from my JST and WHDLoad installs).
Abaddon is offline  
Old 14 September 2010, 23:38   #14
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,820
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Ok, let me prepare an extended ADF from my original disk

EDIT : Please test with the extended ADF zoned

Last edited by dlfrsilver; 15 September 2010 at 00:17.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 15 September 2010, 03:06   #15
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 52
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Ok, let me prepare an extended ADF from my original disk

EDIT : Please test with the extended ADF zoned
It appears to be different from the original I had. The version I originally had only had track 179 as a long track and yours seems to have track 178 & 179. I'll do a little more looking into, but it looks like I it may be a different version.

Edit: I did an md5 compare of you disk image (installed with the original installer) with the one I had and they are identical. I wonder if I just left the track 158 active as the disk2file in the JST package filled the last track on an error. Even though I patched the game to basically return the correct value on the protection check the loader still attempts to load the track. I will be modifying the slave to remove the load of that track, which will make the disk image smaller by $1600 bytes.

Did you ever try installing with my old installer?

Edit: It does work with the original installer

Last edited by Abaddon; 15 September 2010 at 05:04.
Abaddon is offline  
Old 15 September 2010, 18:07   #16
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Ok, let me prepare an extended ADF from my original disk

EDIT : Please test with the extended ADF zoned
Thanks for eADF

Ill try new install soon and test 2nd firebutton
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 15 September 2010, 21:03   #17
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,820
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
No p b
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 04:57   #18
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 52
Posts: 434
Thanks for the EADF as well. I have tested it with winuae and it works fine. It also helped me improve/fix the slave.

What advantages does the extended adf have over an ipf image?
Abaddon is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 19:55   #19
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,820
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
the IPF are the best images of an amiga game.

Extended ADF are only here to help, it helps waiting for the games to be released in IPF format.

One thing however, the eadf format can't hold special protections like RNC Copylock or tracks using special patterns.

Satan original release should be out i think not to far from softpres thanks to the atari ST track format support
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 25 September 2010, 15:24   #20
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,820
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Satan would need button wait on the inter screens when the 1st level is finished

Can you add this ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wreckers V1.1 Uploaded to the Zone (Please Test and Provide Feedback) Abaddon project.WHDLoad 3 06 February 2013 07:16
McDonaldLand V1.4 Uploaded to the Zone (Please Test and Provide Feedback) Abaddon project.WHDLoad 20 08 January 2013 01:45
DarkSpyre V1.0 Uploaded to the Zone (Please Test and Provide Feedback) Abaddon project.WHDLoad 4 25 February 2012 09:12
Ork v1.2 Uploaded to the Zone (Please Test and Provide Feedback) Abaddon project.WHDLoad 4 03 December 2011 00:21
Take'em Out v1.0 Uploaded to the Zone (Please Test and Provide Feedback) Abaddon project.WHDLoad 6 01 December 2011 14:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10970 seconds with 15 queries