English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 August 2007, 00:06   #1
Sarford
 
Posts: n/a
Problems with WHDload (yes, me too)

Hi all,

I'm a new (WinUAE) Amiga emulation user and a former Amiga 2000 owner.
I'm very happy to be back (sort of) on the amiga platform again.

I bought the Cloanto Amiga Forever version and it seems to work ok.

But, like a lot of other emulator noobs, I too have problems with WHDload.
I know about the kickstarts and I have them in the devs:kickstart directory.

WHDload (I've bought a licence for that too) doesn't wanna read the kick34005.a500 file. Ive deleted the .PAT extension and now I get a read error, look here:

http://www.blinq.net/temp/grab1.jpg

I've been trying all kinds of stuff the last few nights but to no avail. Can someone help me with this?

regards, Simon
 
Old 31 August 2007, 00:13   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,204
Have you copied the rom.key to Devs/Kickstarts too?

Quote:
Starting WHDLoad version 16.5 also the kickstart images from the Cloanto Amiga Forever CD's may be used. The images must be renamed according the table below. Additionally the rom.key must be copied to Devs:Kickstarts/. Some older installs require a kick40068.A1200 image these installs wont run with the Cloantos ROMs.
http://www.whdload.de/docs/en/need.html
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 31 August 2007, 00:38   #3
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,492
a kick34005.a500.pat file is not the actual kickstart file, you need a proper a500 kickstart file which will be 256k in size, just copy and rename the 1.3 kickstart you use for winuae.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 31 August 2007, 00:42   #4
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,204
Of course you need the Amiga 500 kickstart in the "Kickstarts" folder too. Search for "kick130.rom / amiga-os-130.rom" on the Amiga Forever CD and rename it, and don't forget to copy the rom.key file too.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 31 August 2007, 00:53   #5
Sarford
 
Posts: n/a
Hi Retro-Nerd,

There wasn't a rom.key file in the Colanto's ROM directory, but there was a 'rom' file. I copied the 'rom' file to the devs:kickstarts directory, copied it and renamed it rom.key. I also copied all rom images from the colanto rom folder to the devs:kickstarts directory and renamed the amiga-os-130.rom to kick130.rom and the amiga-os-310.rom to kick310.rom. I did all this in windows XP. Still the same problem.

My devs: directory is on my D drive (PC) from wich I boot to windows XP. The path is: D:/Documents and settings/all users/documents/amiga files/system/dir/system/devs Is this maybe the problem?

I did install the WHDload through the emulator in the C directory (in System).
Could it be that WHDload is corupted?
 
Old 31 August 2007, 00:57   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarford View Post
Hi Retro-Nerd,

There wasn't a rom.key file in the Colanto's ROM directory, but there was a 'rom' file. I copied the 'rom' file to the devs:kickstarts directory, copied it and renamed it rom.key. I also copied all rom images from the colanto rom folder to the devs:kickstarts directory and renamed the amiga-os-130.rom to kick130.rom and the amiga-os-310.rom to kick310.rom. I did all this in windows XP. Still the same problem.
You got me wrong: Rename the amiga-os-130-room or the kick130.rom (i didn't know the correct names on your CD) to:

Quote:
kick34005.a500

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 31 August 2007 at 01:08.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 31 August 2007, 01:05   #7
Sarford
 
Posts: n/a
He, thats it! Thanks a lot man!

Wow, I haven't seen that in a long time, just giving a file a totaly different name and it works !

Thanks you Retro-Nerd and Belgarath for your fast and friendly help !
 
Old 31 August 2007, 01:07   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarford View Post
He, thats it! Thanks a lot man!

Wow, I haven't seen that in a long time, just giving a file a totaly different name and it works !

Thanks you Retro-Nerd and Belgarath for your fast and friendly help !
You confused me for some seconds, but i'm glad that it works now.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Too many problems with WHDLoad Akira support.Apps 69 30 August 2018 11:14
Problems with WHDLOAD piemmeweb project.WHDLoad 0 20 May 2010 20:06
WHDLoad problems Rod_cl support.Games 15 30 July 2007 19:35
WHDload Problems Eny- support.Games 2 27 July 2004 01:04
Problems with WHDLOAD yadster support.Apps 9 30 July 2003 14:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08800 seconds with 13 queries