English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 February 2011, 00:49   #1
h0ffman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 577
Massive oversight in HRTMON!

So, tonight I finally started putting together the data for my music disk so it can be track loaded. Wrote a source file which incbin the data files and has a file table at the start. I though the easiest option would be (as i'm in WinUAE) would be to invoke HRTMon and simply write the memory directly to a disk.

However... the WS (write sectors) command ends up with

"error, whdload not active or old whdload verson"

Suprise suprise, there is also a whload command of WS!

So, HrtMon cant write sectors to a floppy!?

h0ffman is offline  
Old 25 February 2011, 04:13   #2
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,166
Try an older version of HRTMon before WHDLoad support was added?
Codetapper is offline  
Old 25 February 2011, 08:27   #3
pmc
gone
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
Maybe use AsmOne to write the sectors as an alternative...?
pmc is offline  
Old 25 February 2011, 09:25   #4
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,661
What pmc said. Incbin your files and then use ASM1's "WS" (write sector) command.
Another alternative is to write a binary of the disk (i.e. incbin all your files and then save 901120 bytes) and then use a tool such as TSgui to write that very binary to a real disk.
StingRay is online now  
Old 25 February 2011, 11:20   #5
h0ffman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 577
So many ways to skin the proverbial cat, cheers guys

Maybe Toni might be interested in the HRTMon issue for an updated version of WinUAE??
h0ffman is offline  
Old 25 February 2011, 23:55   #6
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ffman View Post
So many ways to skin the proverbial cat, cheers guys

Maybe Toni might be interested in the HRTMon issue for an updated version of WinUAE??
Err, no.

The full version is already included

In WinUAE 2.0.1:

- Under Hardware, goto ROM menu
- Miscellaneous, cartridge ROM file and select option
(either HRTmon v2.32 or Action Cartridge Super IV Professional)


Regards,
Lonewolf10
Lonewolf10 is offline  
Old 26 February 2011, 00:25   #7
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonewolf10 View Post
Err, no.

The full version is already included
This is not what he meant and if you read his post you'll notice that he already knows how to enable HRTmon in WinUAE.

What he meant is an updated version of HRTmon which allows to write sectors to a disk using WS command. At the moment there is a clash with the original WS command and the command to save memory to a file which was added when WHDLoad support was added to HRTmon. This command also uses "WS" so the original "write sectors" command doesn't work anymore.
StingRay is online now  
Old 26 February 2011, 01:48   #8
h0ffman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 577
BTW - the ASMOne option worked out the best....

First time I've ever used ASMOne, I can kinda see why people like it.. some great features in there, its like a full on mc monitor built into an assembler
h0ffman is offline  
Old 26 February 2011, 11:55   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,830
Not interested, sorry. I don't use hrtmon, it is annoying if you have used action replay too much..

I prefer uae debugger (if not debugging on real A500) because it is totally "invisible" to running program and I can quickly modify it if needed.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 February 2011, 14:42   #10
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
This is not what he meant and if you read his post you'll notice that he already knows how to enable HRTmon in WinUAE.

What he meant is an updated version of HRTmon which allows to write sectors to a disk using WS command. At the moment there is a clash with the original WS command and the command to save memory to a file which was added when WHDLoad support was added to HRTmon. This command also uses "WS" so the original "write sectors" command doesn't work anymore.

Oh, right. Mea culpa.


Regards,
Lonewolf10
Lonewolf10 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Massive by skarla NovaCoder support.Demos 17 20 August 2017 03:47
Need a massive favour - Deuteros Neil79 Retrogaming General Discussion 11 10 September 2012 19:51
possible HOL manual download oversight gizmomelb HOL data problems 2 31 August 2006 01:46
HRTmon metalrules support.WinUAE 2 30 August 2006 18:53
IRC massive update ! RCK project.IRC 0 26 April 2003 01:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08572 seconds with 15 queries