English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 October 2007, 01:31   #1
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
Question Help identifying capacity of cache sram chips...

I have the following cache chips on a 486/100 mobo:

4 x Alliance AS7C512-15PC
and 4 x UM61512-AK-15

the mobo only completes boot when it is jumpered at 512kb cache. Are the above chips giving 512kb? because I get HD read errors when things get heavy... it all began when I wanted to upgrade to 512 from 256kb, and added the alliance chips... removing them does not help now, maybe some have gone bad?
keropi is offline  
Old 15 October 2007, 10:08   #2
DrF
Blessed A1200 Of TeH Rat
DrF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bham, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 496
Maybe some have gone bad?
What motherboard/chipset is it, maybe it only supports certain combinations/speeds etc.? (are all the sockets full?)

During the 486 era I do recall some motherboards not being all they claimed (fake cache, literally useless chips in sockets, bios showing cache that was not there etc.) do you know what board you got?
DrF is offline  
Old 15 October 2007, 10:16   #3
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
I have no idea what mobo it is, it is UMC 8886AF + UM8881F based, it has all jumpers silkscreened, and on the bottom right it says: 95C-0067 .. it has an American Megatrends BIOS that looks like windows 3.1 ...
I actually solved the prob... I kept only the original cache chips, and after combinations I found another jumper setting that gives 256kb cache (2 jumper combo) , I did extensive cache/ram testing and copied the 1.2GB C: to D: without any errors... I guess the jumpers where to blame!
keropi is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Current capacity of FTP amiga_Forever project.Amiga File Server 1 15 March 2012 20:21
Instruction cache question Lord Riton Coders. General 2 07 April 2011 12:25
Disk cache, pre-cache NoULTalk Coders. General 7 30 January 2010 19:07
JIT Cache and HD Boot formater support.WinUAE 3 10 June 2007 18:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08363 seconds with 13 queries