English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene > Member Introductions

Old 30 January 2009, 23:49   #1
maddoc666

New here but not the Amiga

Hi everyone, i'm a bit of a noob to the EAB but have used various Amiga systems in my life . I'm really just posting to ask if there is an easy/lowcost (aka. FREE ) way that i can copy the data from all the Amiga disks i have over to the PC (Still hate using that word, always stood for P*sh Computer to me back in the day).

Main reason is, i feel it would be of benefit to have a backup as it were, of all my rapidly agaeing demos, games, homemade Octamed music, without the fear of my disks grinding like an old man's arthritic condition when i put them in my drive.

Is it possible to do something like this without major mods to PC or Amiga, like via serial connection etc.

Any help on doing this would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. I have 1 A500
1 A500+ (With Ram upgrade, Unsure what breed though)
1 A600 (faulty A601)
1 A1200 (170Mb HDD, Still works, surprisingly)

Old 31 January 2009, 00:47   #2
fryguy

Yup, you could try Sernet or TwinExpress (for nullmodem). Or Parnet (uses a laplink paralell cable). I think all these programs are available on Aminet.
Old 31 January 2009, 01:17   #3
pubzombie

Hi maddoc666,
welcome. I am pretty new here also, and not much use to you with techs stuff. I have a miggy1200 and use easy adf transfer at the moment to move files around. Its pretty cheap on erobber.
hope to see ya around
PZ
Old 31 January 2009, 02:01   #4
maddoc666

Many thanks for the welcome and greetz. That to me is the great thing about the Amiga community. Fellow users & more amiga tech savy are always willing to help each other out. More so than the PC culture we have grown to love and loathe at the same time. Still, I suppose as Amiga users we were/are more able to help as we had/have more of a standard or all round platform to help each other with.