English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 December 2010, 23:45   #1
Reptile
Registered User
Reptile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ellesmere Port / GB
Posts: 35
Legend

I recently purchased a copy of LEGEND for the Amiga, as it is one of my old favourites. It used to work fine on my 600 but the graphics are flaky when I try to run it on my A-500 Plus, as in, about half of the screen loads, the rest is distorted, is it my disks? Can anyone verify that it works on a 500+?
If it works on the 600 I can't see why not, but just checking, if it is my disks I won't be very happy since I paid £13 for it

Reptile is offline  
Old 15 December 2010, 08:00   #2
Anakirob
Unregistered User
Anakirob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tasmania
Age: 39
Posts: 858
Faulty disks mate.
What did you expect from magnetic media which is around 18 years old?
Anakirob is offline  
Old 15 December 2010, 09:00   #3
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 24,024
Works in WinUAE with a A500+ quickstart, so I'd second Anakirob's conclusion.
TCD is offline  
Old 15 December 2010, 11:03   #4
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 6,636
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
If you really want to play from floppy's the best thing is to make backups from Tosec and keep your original games safe, even if they are working now they wont do for much longer at this age.

I keep all my original games because I like to own the originals but I don't play them, I play from WHDLoad or ADF's written to floppy for those without slaves.

For a while I had an HxC Floppy emulator, this was a nice solution for playing (converted)ADF's on a real Amiga.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 December 2010, 11:30   #5
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 46
Posts: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anakirob View Post
Faulty disks mate.
What did you expect from magnetic media which is around 18 years old?
That it works. I´ve never had problems with original software (Amiga) yet. Only self-copied disks make problems here (even 2D). C16/C64 even better : Problems <0,5%. My oldest Tape ist 26 Years old and still loads fine.
mombasajoe is offline  
Old 15 December 2010, 13:43   #6
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 9,019
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
yes, it clearly depends on HOW the disks are stored.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 03 January 2011, 15:18   #7
Reptile
Registered User
Reptile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ellesmere Port / GB
Posts: 35
When it is advertised as working on eBay I expect them to work!

Bah.. thanks anyway.
Reptile is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legend of Grimrock Zandig Retrogaming General Discussion 159 08 February 2016 14:18
Black Legend 'Where are they now?' MadAngus request.Other 3 16 November 2011 00:10
Worlds Of Legend THX1138 support.Games 0 09 January 2005 14:31
Legend Tim Janssen HOL data problems 2 27 June 2003 10:28
Knights of Legend Fred the Fop request.Old Rare Games 6 14 August 2001 07:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12055 seconds with 13 queries