English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 January 2010, 19:57   #1
Mangar
Got the fever back
Mangar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto / Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 288
Telnet with Winuae

Good day everyone,

Trying to telnet to some Ami/X bbs's through Winuae but I'm having difficulty. I've tried DCtelnet 1.6 and AMtelnet. DCtelnet seems borked. Doesn't save connections properly that I create and it will not connect to any of the telnet sites I'm trying to connect to. AMtelnet doesn't load at all.

I'm using Amikit, which doesn't seem to have a telnet client installed. Is there something in Winuae I need to setup to get this working or am I just using the wrong programs.

Any suggestions to get this working are greatly appreciated.
Mangar is offline  
Old 16 January 2010, 11:35   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,741
There is nothing special in telnet. Missing/wrong libraries most likely, not WinUAE problem.

I can confirm that at least AMTelnet works fine.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 January 2010, 18:01   #3
Mangar
Got the fever back
Mangar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto / Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 288
Thanks Toni, I'll look into ensuring the proper libraries are installed. I remember back in the day there was a flaky telnet library...
Mangar is offline  
Old 17 January 2010, 06:14   #4
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 37
Posts: 1,721
did you enable bsdsocket.library in the WinUAE options?
redblade is offline  
Old 17 January 2010, 07:12   #5
Mangar
Got the fever back
Mangar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto / Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 288
yeah, it's enabled by default.. I can surf the web fine.. just cant telnet.. AMtelnet won't even load.. DCtelnet doesn't connect.. nor save my damn contacts.. Again.. It all could be due to settings within the amikit configuration.. Winuae seems to be setup properly..
Mangar is offline  
Old 20 January 2010, 09:19   #6
nOw2
 
Posts: n/a
Use term (or another 'proper' serial terminal) with telser.device. Much more reliable and a more authentic experience.
 
Old 20 January 2010, 10:57   #7
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 822
DCTelnet should be the best for telnet BBS use. I've been using it over ten years regularly (daily basis) and haven't had any problems with it, on real hardware. It's been reliable and no connection problems at all. Actually I have used it few times on basic WinUAE setup from my USB drive when haven't had real Amiga available.. so it should work with that too.

But reason for that address book issue is probably that it doesn't take changes if you change fields with mouse without pressing enter first. It's better to hit the enter after every string you type there. Or jump to next field with tab _and_ hit the enter on the password field
jPV is offline  
Old 20 January 2010, 13:54   #8
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mangar View Post
. AMtelnet won't even load..
Make sure you have *ALL* the MUI classes it requires !

Make also sure your ISP isn't blocking for some reason the telnet port (port 23, usually) !

Last edited by amiga; 20 January 2010 at 14:23.
amiga is offline  
Old 20 January 2010, 17:30   #9
Mangar
Got the fever back
Mangar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto / Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 288
Thanks, I'll try a term program because that is what I used to do in the mid to late 90's on my real amiga.

I appreciate the tips on how to get DCTelnet behaving properly.

It's not my ISP as I can telnet just fine from a Win7 command shell.
Mangar is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Troubleshooting /X BBS with Telnet illy5603 support.Apps 5 22 September 2011 22:40
kx light and telnet netsurge support.OtherUAE 7 17 January 2009 00:54
CLI Telnet server gmiaow support.Apps 6 23 October 2008 13:27
Telnet into WinUAE "machine" Methanoid support.WinUAE 1 07 April 2006 16:16
Active Telnet BBSes? DaZZaBoY Nostalgia & memories 11 05 March 2006 17:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07693 seconds with 15 queries