English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 April 2021, 20:19   #1
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 940
Tf1230



no. this is not a joke. it is on...

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/forum/vi...hp?f=65&t=4118
Chucky is offline  
Old 01 April 2021, 20:31   #2
dreadnought
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Ur, Atlantis
Posts: 852
What, no FPU? Rubbish.

dreadnought is offline  
Old 01 April 2021, 20:35   #3
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 940
Yeah totally!..
Chucky is offline  
Old 01 April 2021, 20:41   #4
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 392
Is that extra IDE interface any faster than the Amiga IDE? Also do you know how much these will sell for Chucky?
wiz12 is offline  
Old 01 April 2021, 20:43   #5
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 940
that IDE will be as the TF1260 a EXTRA IDE Controller. it will be faster yes (as the TF1260 IDE is faster.)

you will be able to boot from it with a custom kickstart wit the driver in rom. other than that. it is just a slave IDE controller. (as having it as a bootable as scsi.device would disable the pcmcia and this is something you do not want)

lets wait for the rev0 pcb first
Chucky is offline  
Old 01 April 2021, 21:05   #6
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 6,602
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Awesome always good to have choice on the market
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 01 April 2021, 23:57   #7
Pollock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 87
Outstanding Chucky, bravo!

Pollock is offline  
Old 02 April 2021, 00:15   #8
Lemaru
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Berks, UK
Posts: 185
Looking forward to this. Blank boards from exxoshost too, sweet. I enjoy making my own so all good.

And got an A1200 on the way too. Nice
Lemaru is offline  
Old 02 April 2021, 00:21   #9
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 813
That is great!! It will sell a lot even without FPU.
There is no game and maybe 3 demos that require FPU on 030.
nikosidis is offline  
Old 02 April 2021, 10:19   #10
dreadnought
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Ur, Atlantis
Posts: 852
For the record, I was joking...

dreadnought is offline  
Old 02 April 2021, 14:11   #11
seb132
French in Australia
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Age: 49
Posts: 407
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
It’s a great idea... if not April’s fool joke.
But really a FPU on a blizzard is coooooool!
seb132 is offline  
Old 02 April 2021, 16:17   #12
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 1,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by seb132 View Post
It’s a great idea... if not April’s fool joke.
But really a FPU on a blizzard is coooooool!
Ok, so.. there is already plenty of 1230 cards with FPU if one thinks that's really necessary so get one of those by all means? I mean, they've been around for 27 years or so so its not like there wasn't time to get one ;-)
TF designs are usually about making affordable alternatives for the masses.. alternatives to what's already out there.

But mostly I'm curious what people do with FPU on 030 cards these days. I used to raytrace (Imagine 3d) on a 50MHz Blizzard 1230 back in 1994/95 and already then I thought it was waaaay to slow so when I got a 060 as soon as it came out, it rendered 5 times faster and I never looked back at a 030 as an alternative.. also games like Quake that need an FPU are not playable on 030 anyway.
Apart from that FPU requirements must be a very low %% of what people do with their Amigas these days. Its not that I think and FPU is a bad idea but one needs to look at it from the proper context. Not every product ever released is the solution to everyone's problems.
If one really needs an FPU then other cards than this might be right for you ;-)
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 03 April 2021, 10:45   #13
theq
Registerdeaded abUser

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Beyond the Wall
Age: 44
Posts: 107
"Why?" and "why not?" discussions are pretty pointless when it comes to retro equipment. It's rather a philosophical question if you ask me.

Why would you want a 060 CPU in an Amiga? Nothing would justify the expenses and pretty much no games would run faster on it. Same when it comes to a 030 CPU, let alone a FPU.
A CPU with MMU, additional memory and HDD, however, those make a difference.

Imho, my answer to "why?" would be "just for the sake of it and just because I can". Wanting to play 'Quake', 'Doom' and 'Rise of the Triads' on an Amiga confirms this. People Frankenstein the hell out of their Amiga to prove its capabilities and achieving a long lost childhood dream of a maxed out Amiga. If you want to play those games properly and as they were intended to be played, you'd play them on a PC. Lightwave 3D got ported to MAC/PC. And you'll get more bang for the buck. Virtually everybody has a PC nowadays anyways, so no reason at all to fiddle around with your Amiga anymore.
Nothing makes sense in the retro community, or in a hobby for that matter. I've spent an insane amount of time and money on retro stuff that won't pay itself back economically. Do I regret it? Hell no! Is it fun? Hell yes! Is it worth it? Most definitely.
A hobby is ment as a recreation. Definition of recreation is "an essential element of human biology and psychology". So for me it fits the description. If it doesn't fit for you then it's either your job or it's not a hobby ment for you.

When it comes to wether or not it has a FPU slot; who cares? Stephen Leary is doing a great job for the community. We should thank him for that and stop acting entitled. And if this product isn't for you, then you should move along.
theq is offline  
Old 03 April 2021, 10:46   #14
seb132
French in Australia
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Age: 49
Posts: 407
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
I was just saying.
Yes emulation would be the best to go if I wanted to do big ray tracing, surely not a 030 board.
But I didn’t think it was that hard to add.
You talk about price, it doesn’t have to be installed, not even a socket if that’s saving few more $$.
seb132 is offline  
Old 03 April 2021, 10:47   #15
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 940
THEQ: ^ word ^
Chucky is offline  
Old 03 April 2021, 10:48   #16
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 940
After discussing the FPU issue etc. FPU would also mean "no burstmode" on ram..

really. skip faster ram access to render a raytrace in 20 hours instead of 21?
Chucky is offline  
Old 03 April 2021, 18:36   #17
demon-knight
Blitter

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Inger Land
Posts: 47
How much are we talking roughly per card Chucky?
demon-knight is offline  
Old 03 April 2021, 18:58   #18
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 940
I just did very quick maths in my head like 80-100eur or so with some euros to the builder aswell.
so yes. cheap.
Chucky is offline  
Old 03 April 2021, 19:19   #19
demon-knight
Blitter

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Inger Land
Posts: 47
Wow that's an excellent price for a card like that, thanks Chucky
demon-knight is offline  
Old 03 April 2021, 20:52   #20
512k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Creatures Land
Posts: 162
Nice to see new cards nice price range wifi support anyone?
512k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.16150 seconds with 13 queries