English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 January 2003, 00:39   #1
wakeupbomb
Amiga Collector
wakeupbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Leeds, England
Age: 38
Posts: 191
Elvira 2

Hey, I'm having trouble getting this game to run. I'm trying the Elvira 2 - The Jaws of Cerberus (1992)(HorrorSoft)[cr SKR] version and its just refusing to run. Iv'e tried all types of configs but none work. It tries to load up but freezes on a small red disk icon. I tried putting other disks in, but nothin happens.
hmmm
wakeupbomb is offline  
Old 21 January 2003, 18:26   #2
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Join the club

I could never get it working on a real Amiga...
Severin is offline  
Old 21 January 2003, 18:33   #3
Walker
Junior Member
Walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 595
Here's a working config for you guys. As the name indicates, it's verified with WinUAE 0.8.22 R1 but you can use the latest version as well. Maybe it doesn't matter, but I used this TOSEC disk #1:

Elvira 2 - The Jaws of Cerberus (1992)(HorrorSoft)[cr Skid Row][a](Disk 1 of 7)
Attached Files
File Type: uae elvira2_0822r1.uae (4.2 KB, 227 views)
Walker is offline  
Old 21 January 2003, 19:51   #4
wakeupbomb
Amiga Collector
wakeupbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Leeds, England
Age: 38
Posts: 191
Thanks man
Works great now
wakeupbomb is offline  
Old 21 January 2003, 23:49   #5
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Roll eyes (sarcastic)

Quote:
Originally posted by Severin
Join the club

I could never get it working on a real Amiga...
This means, provided the emulator is properly configured, it is able to bypass an error on this disk the real Amiga CANNOT bypass. This is not good.

In other words, we might be in need of a proper version for the real thing guys.
andreas is offline  
Old 22 January 2003, 01:32   #6
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 31
Posts: 4,662
Quote:
Originally posted by andreas
This means, provided the emulator is properly configured, it is able to bypass an error on this disk the real Amiga CANNOT bypass. This is not good.

In other words, we might be in need of a proper version for the real thing guys.
Not neccesarily. Other variables can prevent a game from working on a particular model of Amiga. Most Amigas won't run "Hacker", but the version I have indeed works on an NTSC A1000 (or an NTSC A500 with 1.2 ROM and 512C/512F). Emulation has the ability to bypass restrictions of hardware that may provide limitations on a real machine. And there's no rule that a real Amiga will have an easier time with some games.

On another note, I never had any problems with Elvira 2 on any real Amiga. Maybe the version floating around is either NTSC or been "fixed" for NTSC. which was a common patch alongside trainers back in the day.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 22 January 2003, 02:09   #7
Konrad
Registered User
Konrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 723
I had the same problem with the game but got it to work with WinUAE and my Amiga 4000. But I can't remember how, I'd have to take a look.
Konrad is offline  
Old 22 January 2003, 15:38   #8
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Originally posted by Twistin'Ghost
On another note, I never had any problems with Elvira 2 on any real Amiga. Maybe the version floating around is either NTSC or been "fixed" for NTSC. which was a common patch alongside trainers back in the day.
I second that, this was also done on the C64 a thousand times.
Can you get hold of your version or is it still "buried" in one of your tapes?
andreas is offline  
Old 28 January 2003, 22:27   #9
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 43
Posts: 1,745
Most of the Accolade games works only on kick 1.3 or older only.
haynor666 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elvira 2 IT, DE, ES, FR originals killergorilla request.Old Rare Games 9 11 August 2022 01:16
Elvira 2 laura request.Old Rare Games 11 06 October 2014 10:14
Hired Guns & Elvira/Elvira II/Waxworks Kada project.Sprites 20 26 September 2013 00:07
Elvira II manual demoniac request.Other 2 16 June 2006 01:07
Elvira, Elvira II, Waxworks Sasquatch request.Old Rare Games 6 23 May 2003 18:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09079 seconds with 14 queries