English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 September 2021, 16:32   #1481
mateusz_s
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Fat95 equivalent capability is already included in L:CrossDOSFileSystem, but you still need to add the dosdriver and compactflash.device to access cards connected to the PCMCIA slot.

I was requesting a similar feature where scsi.device+carddisk.device would be extended and would work together to support IDE controllers in the PCMCIA port, but that idea was not accepted back then. Just putting it out there again. Would be super nice to be able to be able to boot off PCMCIA CF or SD from cold start and install/partition an internal IDE drive from there.
Hmm interesting.. but how to use L:CrossDOSFileSystem instead of fat95?
just delete fat95 and let L:CrossDOSFileSystem do the job autmatic or do I have to configure something? Not sure how to use it..
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 14 September 2021, 23:24   #1482
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateusz_s View Post
Hello,
as I am working on my AmigaOS 3.2 instalation
I am finding other ideas, that maybe useful for you in future..

(...continuing...)

24. Maybe adding REBOOT option in WB menu (instead of QUIT or before it)

25. This one would be very important for me - PCMCIA CF Card already included:
CF0 (in Devs/DosDrivers), compactflash.device (in Devs) and fat95 (in L),
so it would be possible to use CF card via PCMCIA just after install.
This is my main transfering way between PC<->AMIGA.
I think the sources are open.
Right now I am installing from floppies and then I am
connecting my CF card to PC to copy the driver files.

26. When some ICON is selected and we click on "Execute Command"
the name/path of the icon sould already appear.

27. Maybe when clicking into drawer it shoud open in the same window?
Then we could have additional option in Window or Icon menu called "Open in new window".

28. Find - when a searching phrase is found - like for example "TextEdit"
I shoud be able to open the folder that contains it double clicking or by additional button.
If possible to make - I think the selected "TextEdit" line could be draggable,
so I could drag it directly to other application like: ToolsMenu etc.

29. A simple GUI tool for creating MENUS would be great.
Manually adding lines to Arexx script takes time.
So 3rd party tools like ToolsMenu or ToolsDeamon wouldn't be needed.
Also I would merged the AutoArrangeIcon into MenuTools (where Help menu is added).
Or just move AutoArrangeIcon to Cleanup submenu

30. I think this one is important:
The selecting rectange should be limited to active window.
Sometimes we can by accident select some additional icons
just by moven mouse to far and icons that underneath active window
are also selected and may be deleted or moved..

31. I wonder if fonts like emerald, saphire, garnet, opal are needed?
Does people even use it? They are unreadable - and take lots of space
on install floppies.

32. As the AmigaOS grows up the floppy installer is bigger.
No problem when installing from CD.
Maybe additional form of instaling would be to compress all files into some kind of
split archive - the fresh System takes less than 10MB when zipped.

33. I would also loved to have options from MagicMenu avaiable,
like for example: sticky menu when right clicked.

34. I think I might have found a BUG in Arexx.
When the drawer is empty or there are no icons
I can't get informations about number of displayed icons or selected icons.
Also works when Show All Files is on and some no icon files appear.

I am using:
GETATTR WINDOWS.ACTIVE VAR file_path;

and then I got error code 10 when using:
GETATTR WINDOW.ICONS.SELECTED.COUNT NAME file_path VAR selected_icons_count;
or:
GETATTR WINDOW.ICONS.ALL.COUNT NAME file_path VAR selected_icons_count;

I dig your list.



24. I was hoping that would be included somehow, also. It's one of the reasons I still use MultiCX. You have a very good idea there. Include it, not remove quit...though I don't use Quit Workbench at all.



26. That would be a sweet way to run a program with the name appearing there with a space and ready for whatever 'argument'. You wouldn't have to run CLI so much anymore.


27. It's a sweet idea, but only if the previous window's positions are retained. Otherwise, not a good idea.


28. Yeah the Find has a lot of limitations. I still use Simple Find ( http://aminet.net/package/util/dir/simplefind3 ) but if you don't have or support MUI and you just re/installed then.... When I saw Find I thought perhaps those ideas and more would be used.


29. Very cool idea, a way to add Menus and modify them. That would be a modern idea.


33. I was very much expecting that with 3.2. MagicMenu is extremely cool with its features. I really like how it and normal Intuition menus allow you to keep the Right Click menu active and make multiple selections and then let go and the do the commands in order.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 15 September 2021, 09:06   #1483
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateusz_s View Post
Hmm interesting.. but how to use L:CrossDOSFileSystem instead of fat95?
just delete fat95 and let L:CrossDOSFileSystem do the job autmatic or do I have to configure something? Not sure how to use it..
If you want to try, you can open the cf0 dosdriver in a text editor and just change l:fat95 to l:crossdosfilesystem. It should work with the same dostype, but there is the caveat, that it will load crossdosfilesystem a second time into memory if you later mount PC0: for example.

If you really want to tune your mem use in a low memory system, you would adjust the name of the dosdriver to end in the letter C (such as renaming it + its icon to CFC and CFC.info) and use the dostype 0x4d534800.

More information on this is available in the FAQ. Hit help when you're on the workbench screen, select 10 - FAQ and scroll to section 2.13.
Jope is offline  
Old 15 September 2021, 13:03   #1484
mateusz_s
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 75
@Jope
Thanks I will try it.

ps.
Why the name change from CF0 to CFC is so important?
Why using dostype 0x4d53480 instead of the one that is written in CF0 file?

Last edited by mateusz_s; 15 September 2021 at 13:17.
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 15 September 2021, 13:29   #1485
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateusz_s View Post
Why the name change from CF0 to CFC is so important?
Why using dostype 0x4d53480 instead of the one that is written in CF0 file?
These two changes are linked together. If you change the dostype, you must change the name of the dosdriver too.

The reason is in the FAQ I linked to, I recommend reading it, but shortly: if you decide to use the new dostype, then the filesystem driver looks at the last letter of the device name to determine which partition to mount. FAT95 uses the dostype itself to determine which partition to mount or if it is supposed to use autodetection.
Jope is offline  
Old 15 September 2021, 13:39   #1486
mateusz_s
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
These two changes are linked together. If you change the dostype, you must change the name of the dosdriver too.

The reason is in the FAQ I linked to, I recommend reading it, but shortly: if you decide to use the new dostype, then the filesystem driver looks at the last letter of the device name to determine which partition to mount. FAT95 uses the dostype itself to determine which partition to mount or if it is supposed to use autodetection.
OK thanks again, I will look also at the FAQ..
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 15 September 2021, 22:59   #1487
mateusz_s
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 75
Hello,
I found something weird about the icon.library..

I switch main 8 icons from sys: to this nothing fancy Ken Icons:
http://www.amiga-look.org/artwork/kens-icons-v23

and after opening sys: drawer icons started to appear very slooowly. That 8 icon appear time took about 4-5 seconds
on RTG winuae 060

So I tried to switch the icon.library with this:
http://aminet.net/package/util/libs/IconLib_46.4

.... and the icon loading time is now superfast, the window appear already with icons, you cant even see when they appear.

another thing is, that now I started seeing AmigaOS4 and (i guess) dual PNG icons with transparency behind them - with no slow performance issue:
http://www.amiga-look.org/artwork/packpaticonv2


So I wanted to ask - is it a matter of future optimalization od AmigaOS 3.2 icon.library (and adding additional icons support) or some compatibility issues with other Amigas or legal issues?

Thanks!
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 15 September 2021, 23:41   #1488
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,338
If it is really taking 4 seconds to show 8 icons there must be some problem with your WinUAE configuration.
Minuous is offline  
Old 16 September 2021, 15:18   #1489
mateusz_s
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
If it is really taking 4 seconds to show 8 icons there must be some problem with your WinUAE configuration.
You could check yourself if possible, you don't have to switch the icons,
just open that folder from that lha package:
...Icons\Kens_Icons_v2.3\Kens_Icons\Workbench

http://www.amiga-look.org/artwork/kens-icons-v23

It just a glow icon package, noting fancy in my opinion..
When using native 3.2 icon.library they are appear very slow..
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 16 September 2021, 18:09   #1490
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,338
Each of those icons takes about 1/10 of a second here, and my host machine is not especially fast (1.5GHz).

Last edited by Minuous; 16 September 2021 at 18:16.
Minuous is offline  
Old 16 September 2021, 19:30   #1491
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover, Germany, after 1984
Posts: 3,008
He is probably running WinUAE without the JIT and "Fastest Possible" CPU. Maybe he wants to enable the MMU, and then you can't use the JIT. I've tried that just for fun, and indeed without the JIT KensIcons v2 (256 colors) are coming up very slow on RTG screens using the v45 OS libs, about half a second for every icon, which is caused by the color mapping (more than 100000 color compares for every icon). My library uses direct drawing for the 24 bit RGB colors, and that only for the first image, no slow compares at all! (I was a bit shocked, the OpenWin.rexx benchmark said something about 85 times faster using the HDD (SSD), not the Ram Disk, for this configuration).

Last edited by PeterK; 16 September 2021 at 19:37.
PeterK is offline  
Old 21 September 2021, 00:18   #1492
mateusz_s
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 75
Hi,
I think I have found a BUG. When we are inside the drawer that doesn't have an icon
and we are doing cleanup and then SNAPSHOT the System crashes. Both WinUAE and Real Amiga.
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 21 September 2021, 08:29   #1493
Steady
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 17
@mateus_z

I just tried to replicate this but I get no crash. Can you please provide a step-by-step action that I can use to verify?
Steady is offline  
Old 21 September 2021, 09:50   #1494
mateusz_s
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steady View Post
@mateus_z

I just tried to replicate this but I get no crash. Can you please provide a step-by-step action that I can use to verify?
Sorry, my bad.
It seems that @PeterK icon.library replacement is the cause:
http://aminet.net/package/util/libs/IconLib_46.4

To reproduce:
- go to dh0:
- show all files
- open a drawer without .info like s, c, libs etc.
- click autoarraneicons or just clean up and make snapshot
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 21 September 2021, 12:03   #1495
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,929
Wouldn't it be nice if the OS open a requester in this case asking for should I create an icon for you to be able to snapshot or cancel?
daxb is offline  
Old 21 September 2021, 12:26   #1496
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateusz_s View Post
Sorry, my bad.
It seems that @PeterK icon.library replacement is the cause:
http://aminet.net/package/util/libs/IconLib_46.4

To reproduce:
- go to dh0:
- show all files
- open a drawer without .info like s, c, libs etc.
- click autoarraneicons or just clean up and make snapshot
I can't reproduce this here - 3.2 with PeterK's library.
indigolemon is offline  
Old 21 September 2021, 13:09   #1497
mateusz_s
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
I can't reproduce this here - 3.2 with PeterK's library.
hmm.. Are you sure you have it installed. Try type:
version libs:icon.library

Or maybe Your S,C, LIBS drawer has their icons..

Friend of mine also check it on his Amiga - and it crashed.

Last edited by mateusz_s; 21 September 2021 at 13:15.
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 21 September 2021, 14:20   #1498
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover, Germany, after 1984
Posts: 3,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateusz_s View Post
Or maybe Your S, C, LIBS drawer has their icons..

Friend of mine also check it on his Amiga - and it crashed.
Ok, confirmed, sometimes it really crashes, which needs some investigations. Sorry, I didn't watch this thread for some days ... no, no, I was just sleeping too long ...
PeterK is offline  
Old 21 September 2021, 17:10   #1499
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 67
Posts: 6,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateusz_s View Post
Hi,
I think I have found a BUG. When we are inside the drawer that doesn't have an icon
and we are doing cleanup and then SNAPSHOT the System crashes. Both WinUAE and Real Amiga.
This may also depend on some incompatibility due to the datatypes not recognizing some files, try deleting the files one by one until you find the culprit.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 September 2021, 17:14   #1500
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 67
Posts: 6,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
These two changes are linked together. If you change the dostype, you must change the name of the dosdriver too.
The name of the DosDriver in my opinion doesn't influence on its functionality, in my systems I use Driver names invented by me and I don't have any problem in the various mounting volumes.


Example CD0 you can rename CDX, CDY or CDZ and it will always work the same way.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (4 members and 1 guests)
bni, boemann, PurpleMelbourne, lilwshu
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmigaOS 3.1.x v 3.9 steve_mynott New to Emulation or Amiga scene 35 19 April 2020 06:23
AmigaOS 3.9 PoLoMoTo support.WinUAE 8 27 August 2011 18:06
AmigaOS 3.5 or 3.9 maddoc666 support.Apps 12 22 February 2010 08:02
AmigaOS koncool request.Apps 6 04 June 2003 17:45
AmigaOS XL sturme New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 15 January 2002 02:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15021 seconds with 14 queries