English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 September 2021, 19:46   #1
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 50
Posts: 1,092
Armiga:Horizontal Hold Bars Night Breed Games

Anyone seen this before in the Armiga...? No I have not spelt Amiga wrong, I have a ARMIGA..

I guess its the emulator that doing it but only on the Night Breed games.

Night Breed The Interactive Movie and Action games.

I think I saw it in a emulator along time ago in UAE4all.

Could it be a NTSC PAL thing...? where the emulator see the game as PAL but shows it as NTSC on the screen and then you get horizonal bars across the screen.
If you look at the pictures, it looks like to me thats thats a NTSC signal cause the vertical PAL Screen is shorter, it has a big gap at the bottom of the game screen, the pal screen does not cover the whole of it, that does.

The screen is out sync.

Does anyone know whats causing it..?

NigthBreed The Interactive Movie
Click image for larger version

Name:	armiga nightbreed interative.png
Views:	66
Size:	363.3 KB
ID:	73233

Night Breed The Action Game
Click image for larger version

Name:	armiga nightbreed action.png
Views:	44
Size:	259.4 KB
ID:	73234

Some history: The Armiga is a device that like THEC64 but was handmade, has a 3D printed case with ARMIGA on it and uses a Floppy Disk Drive in it for ripping Floppy Disk copies into ADF files, it uses a Cubieboard2 in it.

The emulator it uses the code is from the Dreamcast version of UAE4All.


Last edited by spannernick; 18 September 2021 at 20:46.
spannernick is offline  
Old 18 September 2021, 21:06   #2
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,201
You sure you haven't accidentally selected AGA?

That is a modulo problem, wrong value will cause that kind of shifting, but also if FMODE is active on an AGA system it can cause the same thing
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 19 September 2021, 21:57   #3
kremiso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by spannernick View Post
...The emulator it uses the code is from the Dreamcast version of UAE4All
i hope in some way improved, because i well know that emulator, having a Dreamcast;
a couple of good ones works very bad with uae4allDC, like Lionheart, Jim Power, First and Second Samurai i.e. ;
i'll try to test Night Breed, just curious
kremiso is offline  
Old 20 September 2021, 15:33   #4
Foebane
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 2,871
I remember having one of those Nightbreed games as part of my Amiga 500 pack, and I know for a fact that if that one isn't AGA, then the other one isn't, neither.

Does the Armiga allow you to select the chipset? Or is it forcing you to use the one they've decided for the games? Reminds me of the whole Amiga Forever fiasco, if you ask me. Now THAT was a bad idea.
Foebane is offline  
Old 20 September 2021, 19:55   #5
kremiso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 331
just tested the action game on DC, not surprisingly it does not work correctly also;
very similar gfx issue :


i suspect just an outdated emulator core issue, then
this old thread have some other infos, maybe can be useful too :
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=1598
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nb.PNG
Views:	108
Size:	24.1 KB
ID:	73275  

Last edited by kremiso; 20 September 2021 at 20:03.
kremiso is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 3000 vertical bars (jail bars) via VGA normal? Per Hansson support.Hardware 13 19 April 2020 14:51
Night Breed: The Interactive Movie on CD32 Compilation? Haywire Retrogaming General Discussion 4 03 October 2019 13:39
Are there any good Texas Hold'em poker games for Amiga? NeonBible Retrogaming General Discussion 9 06 August 2016 13:06
Games - Best Resolution + Horizontal & Vertical + Position DamienD support.Games 0 27 December 2015 13:28
Night Breed: The Interactive Movie is seriously pissing me off. MethodGit support.Games 37 26 November 2007 00:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08188 seconds with 16 queries