English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 March 2021, 12:50   #241
BippyM
Global Moderator
 
BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 9,355
Quote:
Originally Posted by prb28 View Post
There is no way to have it in real time, you can transform it with the calculator: type F1 and “calculator”.

That's a shame as it would be so useful. I found a thread on stackoverflow and it seems it can be programmed info extensions



https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...-in-debug-mode
BippyM is offline  
Old 21 March 2021, 14:05   #242
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
It’s totally feasible, but needs to be added to the extension.
I think that vscode has a standard way to do this, but I must investigate.

If some of you are interested in contributing, you are welcome!
I think there are two main features that will greatly contribute to the experience:
- setting conditional breakpoints (the gdbremote protocol is a complicated to send this informations)
- adding the profiling options as the bartman extension

Before diving in these big works, I work for some little features as your request.
prb28 is offline  
Old 21 March 2021, 17:39   #243
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by BippyM View Post
You're right, I've added this feature request : https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig...bly/issues/149
prb28 is offline  
Old 21 March 2021, 19:08   #244
BippyM
Global Moderator
 
BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 9,355
Wicked, how dio I update
BippyM is offline  
Old 21 March 2021, 19:17   #245
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by BippyM View Post
Wicked, how dio I update
As soon as I have something useful, I'll post a link to update !
prb28 is offline  
Old 21 March 2021, 19:24   #246
BippyM
Global Moderator
 
BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 9,355
Quote:
Originally Posted by prb28 View Post
As soon as I have something useful, I'll post a link to update !

Hahahah sorry I misread your post as "added this feature"
BippyM is offline  
Old 23 March 2021, 23:17   #247
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
@BippyM, Here is a pre-release for tests https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig...s/tag/pre_0.22
Download the VSIX file.

To install type F1 and select "Extensions: install from VSIX..."


You will find a new build sequence in the terminal (no more output quest) and the variable format modification by right click.
And certainly some new bugs !


Be careful there are some breaking changes in the tasks and launch configuration to stop the debug if the build does not succeed.
https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig...v_0.22/.vscode
https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig...reakingChanges


Hope it will help you in your quest of mastering assembly !
prb28 is offline  
Old 25 March 2021, 20:29   #248
BippyM
Global Moderator
 
BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 9,355
Will give this a go soon work has been hectic
BippyM is offline  
Old 27 March 2021, 16:20   #249
BippyM
Global Moderator
 
BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 9,355
So erm..

How does this work??? I have it installed. Winuae just flashes up and closes. FSUae runs, but there's nothing when disassembling.
BippyM is offline  
Old 27 March 2021, 19:51   #250
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by BippyM View Post
So erm..

How does this work??? I have it installed. Winuae just flashes up and closes. FSUae runs, but there's nothing when disassembling.
I'll give you a link to a zipped working workspace, that will help.
Just fixing a bug before.
prb28 is offline  
Old 27 March 2021, 20:09   #251
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by BippyM View Post
So erm..

How does this work??? I have it installed. Winuae just flashes up and closes. FSUae runs, but there's nothing when disassembling.
Try this workspace : https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig...indows_x64.zip
The amiga-assembly-0.22.0.vsix extension is inside. You have to install it in you vscode.
prb28 is offline  
Old 12 April 2021, 23:25   #252
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,161
I just installed the whole lot in a few minutes and getting the sample app running in the debugger.

It's just incredible. I could achieve some debugging using a gdb server (Bebbo's) and another IDE but it was difficult to configure and ended up not working anymore. Now all integrated like this it's just great (and the sample app is all I was looking for too)

A few remarks

- The first time, WinUAE "rom loaded" popup blocks the execution and the debugger fails. Click on OK => fixed

- in the debugger, all commands (including help) return as json output. Not very convenient. VS code upgrade? See the result of "bt":

Code:
bt
{"output":["#0  0x00c0b426 in WaitVbl () at K:/jff/data/C++/games/AmigaTest/main.c:50\n","#1  main () at K:/jff/data/C++/games/AmigaTest/main.c:301\n"],"token":23,"outOfBandRecord":[],"resultRecords":{"resultClass":"done","results":[]}}
anyway, FREAKING AWESOME THIS!
jotd is offline  
Old 13 April 2021, 01:04   #253
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
A few remarks
....
I've never seen these... and your source is in C.

Aren't you using the Bartman C extension (https://marketplace.visualstudio.com/items?itemName=BartmanAbyss.amiga-debug#review-details) for visual studio code ?
It's really awesome I agree with you but it's not the same .
prb28 is offline  
Old 13 April 2021, 19:26   #254
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,161
of course I'm using Bartman extension. Else I wouldn't be able to create a sample app & debug it.
anyway, I could develop whole games without debugging. I can handle a few formatting annoyances.
jotd is offline  
Old 13 April 2021, 19:49   #255
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
of course I'm using Bartman extension. Else I wouldn't be able to create a sample app & debug it.
anyway, I could develop whole games without debugging. I can handle a few formatting annoyances.
You should post your comment here : http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=98525&page=5.
prb28 is offline  
Old 14 April 2021, 13:29   #256
BippyM
Global Moderator
 
BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 9,355
I have dupicated my workspace in the hopes of starting a new project.. However whenever I try and build I get the error below:

ALso I want to have multiple projects using just the one install. What is the best way to go about this?

As in I don't want the bin/include/ folders duplicated in each project, what is the best way to do this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard Image.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	156.4 KB
ID:	71584  
BippyM is offline  
Old 14 April 2021, 17:23   #257
BippyM
Global Moderator
 
BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 9,355
Nevermind.. I should read your instructions more closely, fixed





Quote:
Originally Posted by BippyM View Post
I have dupicated my workspace in the hopes of starting a new project.. However whenever I try and build I get the error below:

ALso I want to have multiple projects using just the one install. What is the best way to go about this?

As in I don't want the bin/include/ folders duplicated in each project, what is the best way to do this?
BippyM is offline  
Old 09 May 2021, 23:21   #258
emiespo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Oxford
Posts: 103
Hi, I've got back to my asm project (ups and downs, lack of time, etc...) after a while, only to discover it won't build/run/debug anymore.

Of course in the meantime VSCode has updated a few times, so maybe something has changed...

1st error: solved reading from issues in github: vasm path had to be put absolute.
2nd error: doesn't build anymore (I have a project with a main source in the root folder, and everything else inside a subdir). Tried to overcome with a custom Makefile and:

Code:
             "buildWorkspace": false,
...but unfortunately I can't debug this either. The debug config will launch fs-uae, but nothing else happens (after a few seconds I see the spinning beach ball on a Mac... it seems stuck and I have to stop the debugger).

Any clues? What I really don't understand is why it doesn't build automatically anymore. I am using git source control, and pretty sure I didn't change anything since last time it worked (a couple of months ago...).
emiespo is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 00:07   #259
prb28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by emiespo View Post
Any clues? What I really don't understand is why it doesn't build automatically anymore. I am using git source control, and pretty sure I didn't change anything since last time it worked (a couple of months ago...).

Maybe it's a problem os file signing on mac : https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig...working-on-osx
The thread of the issue :
https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig...bly/issues/143
prb28 is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 02:12   #260
arcanist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 41
Posts: 405
Not sure if it's related but VS Code 1.56.1 gets stuck trying to launch my program on Windows with extension 0.21.1.

Rolling back to 1.55.2 works fine.
arcanist is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
assembly code to test for assign (2.0+) jotd Coders. System 2 27 December 2017 23:16
very basic C/ASM/Visual Studio hand holding Sephnroth Coders. C/C++ 2 08 March 2016 20:15
Amiga Audio/Visual KhneFr request.Other 6 03 January 2015 10:25
Profiling WinUAE with Visual Studio 2013 mark_k support.WinUAE 3 14 January 2014 20:26
amiga visual editor thinlega request.Apps 1 22 January 2003 15:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:48.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14898 seconds with 16 queries