English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 September 2022, 11:36   #1
mousehouse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 105
ZZ9000ax audio module causing reboot loop

Hi all… my ZZ9000 works just fine in my 3000D with BFG9060, really enjoying that combo. It does require 1 reboot to have the additional 256MB show up, must be some sort of initialisation thing. Maybe there is new firmware for the BFG that I need to flash but have not looked at that yet. My 3000D has a clean/new install of 3.2.1 with ROMs.

My issue is that as soon as I connect the 'ax' module to the main ZZ9000 board it goes into a reboot loop.

Roadshow + ZZ9000 : works
Picasso drivers + HDMI output : works
256MB Zorro3 memory : works
ZZ9000 + AX module : reboot-forever

As soon as I connect the two cables that connect the AX to the ZZ9000 board and turn on the power the machine starts reboot-looping. Flashing power LED and reboot, continuously. I cannot get into the boot menu by holding the mouse buttons which leads me to believe it is crashing during autoconfig or something like that.

Any ideas what I’m missing?

machine:
3000D + BFG9060 with 68060 at 50MHz, 3.2.1 ROMs and Workbench, ZZ9000 firmware and drivers (all works) version 1.11
mousehouse is offline  
Old 30 September 2022, 14:01   #2
SnoopDOS
Registered User
SnoopDOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 29
I own 3 of these and all are working fine. All I can suggest is to carefully look over the AX cabling in the instructions pictures as its very easy to plug it in wrong.
SnoopDOS is offline  
Old 30 September 2022, 22:07   #3
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,393
I don't know if the hardware fix on ZZ9000 may be required. Have you done that?
spudje is offline  
Old 30 September 2022, 22:29   #4
mousehouse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 105
Thanks... I've looked at it a million times, maybe someone can have a look at the attached photo's and check with theirs?

mousehouse is offline  
Old 30 September 2022, 22:30   #5
mousehouse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
I don't know if the hardware fix on ZZ9000 may be required. Have you done that?
Yes, Lukas did the fix for me...
mousehouse is offline  
Old 01 October 2022, 11:14   #6
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 2,212
I would have thought updating the zz9000 firmware would be the next thing to try
trixster is offline  
Old 04 October 2022, 17:12   #7
mousehouse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 105
Ok, in true Amiga fashion I got it to work.

I pulled the AX module and ZZ9000, daughterboard, the works. Then put it all back together. Looks exactly the same, difference? It works.

Thank all for the hints!
mousehouse is offline  
Old 05 October 2022, 00:31   #8
Leon Besson
Banned
Leon Besson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: Anywhere and everywhere I have a contract
Posts: 822
Ahh the Z3 connectors in the Daughterboard issue. Having something similar at the moment with my X-surf100 card and rapid road. Same happened with my PIV card, until I pulled it out and pushed it back in again.
Leon Besson is offline  
Old 05 October 2022, 04:28   #9
SnoopDOS
Registered User
SnoopDOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by mousehouse View Post
Ok, in true Amiga fashion I got it to work.

I pulled the AX module and ZZ9000, daughterboard, the works. Then put it all back together. Looks exactly the same, difference? It works.

Thank all for the hints!
Sounds like you need to use some DeOxit on all the slots.
SnoopDOS is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600 with Furia 40 Mhz cold boot OK warm reboot loop/guru Lisko support.Hardware 1 02 April 2021 13:17
Peter K Icons reboot loop and now lost Scalos simulant project.ClassicWB 0 10 March 2019 00:39
ACT Apollo 1260: crash-reboot loop when memory added Richard Downer support.WinUAE 12 10 April 2017 19:23
A590/A2091 reset/reboot loop mark_k support.WinUAE 13 03 July 2014 13:02
50hz Vsync causing audio problems WDeranged support.WinUAE 16 02 October 2009 03:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08602 seconds with 13 queries