English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 September 2022, 05:10   #41
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 662
if those PNG's work well, is it viable to also support animated GIF's? might be interesting for some space games like rtype to have extra animated stars or something similar.
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 29 September 2022, 11:30   #42
john4p
Competition Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,698
Video files are already supported. But I agree, GIF-support would be nice.
john4p is offline  
Old 29 September 2022, 20:22   #43
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by john4p View Post
Video files are already supported. But I agree, GIF-support would be nice.
No. (EDIT: none of features will happen that are only needed to support this weird use case)

Just choose some video codec that does not use lossy compression. Identical results.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 29 September 2022 at 20:31.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 29 September 2022, 21:36   #44
john4p
Competition Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Just choose some video codec that does not use lossy compression. Identical results.
True.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rothers View Post
You should add some awesome pixel art as backgrounds, loads freely available online. A nice dark set of mountains would look awesome in Turrican.
It's not dark, but here is world 1 with some mountains (couldn't find a better pic):

[ Show youtube player ]
john4p is offline  
Old 29 September 2022, 21:48   #45
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,533
Huh! That looks very nice indeed!
vulture is offline  
Old 29 September 2022, 21:57   #46
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 662
surprised, it actually looks really good.
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 29 September 2022, 22:16   #47
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 25,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by john4p View Post
It's not dark, but here is world 1 with some mountains (couldn't find a better pic):

[ Show youtube player ]
That looks a lot better than I would think it could. If there's a way to change the background per level automatically it would improve the experience a lot.
TCD is offline  
Old 29 September 2022, 22:29   #48
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 662
all thats needed now tbh is some kind of "Event" trigger system added to some whdload slaves that mark certain events in games (change of level, a scroller starting/stopping or whatever), Events which do nothing and dont do anything good or bad on real hardware, but perhaps these Events could be read/detected by WinUAE and automagically toggle on/off these new options for adding new effects, or change from 1 png/video to another.
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 29 September 2022, 22:33   #49
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 5,126
That does look Really good. Like I say would love to see this on real hardware.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 30 September 2022, 03:59   #50
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 662
whats the corret way to use this? when i try adding a video or png my background is always replaced by a solid blue color.

EDIT: Ok got png's working, its video files im having issues with, anyone know what the correct format/codec/etc has to be?

EDIT2: Got the videos working by just checking the OUTPUT prefs to see what codecs WinUAE supports there and assumed this works the other way also for genlock video input, which it does, i converted to CINEPAK to test and....it worked.


just tried with a quick convert using...

Code:
ffmpeg -i spaceloop.mp4 -c:v cinepak -an -vf scale=320:256 spaceloop.avi
and got this for a first attempt. (no audio because im a moron recording the wrong audio device)
[ Show youtube player ]

Attempt no2:
[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by DisasterIncarna; 30 September 2022 at 08:31.
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 30 September 2022, 09:38   #51
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,533
Nice, very nice!

About the background change, maybe the easiest way is with a couple of hotkeys moving to next/previous image from a list
vulture is offline  
Old 30 September 2022, 10:02   #52
john4p
Competition Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,698
Cool effects on Deluxe Galaga indeed, very atmospheric!


Quote:
Originally Posted by DisasterIncarna View Post
all thats needed now tbh is some kind of "Event" trigger system added to some whdload slaves that mark certain events in games (change of level, a scroller starting/stopping or whatever), Events which do nothing and dont do anything good or bad on real hardware, but perhaps these Events could be read/detected by WinUAE and automagically toggle on/off these new options for adding new effects, or change from 1 png/video to another.
Yes, that'd work. I'm sure Toni is not interested to invest that much effort though.
Maybe 10 pics/vids that could be defined in the config and switched through by key presses (incl. turning them off) would be something that could be negotiated?
edit: Like vulture just suggested, too.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TCD View Post
That looks a lot better than I would think it could. If there's a way to change the background per level automatically it would improve the experience a lot.
That would be the ultimate improvement.
For Turrican in particular only levels 1-1, 1-2 and 1-3 are candidates though since the later ones all have multi-colored backgrounds (except for the world 5 sky but replacing that leads to gfx problems in other parts).
john4p is offline  
Old 30 September 2022, 11:06   #53
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 25,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisasterIncarna View Post
Attempt no2:
[ Show youtube player ]
That looks very good.

I think a hotkey to swap the background and a hotkey to turn it on/off would be the best solution inside of WinUAE. Looking forward to what's possible using WHDLoad
TCD is offline  
Old 30 September 2022, 18:55   #54
rothers
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 436
Quote:
Code:
ffmpeg -i spaceloop.mp4 -c:v cinepak -an -vf scale=320:256 spaceloop.avi
and got this for a first attempt. (no audio because im a moron recording the wrong audio device)
[ Show youtube player ]

This is awesome.
rothers is offline  
Old 01 October 2022, 15:15   #55
Psygore
Moderator

Psygore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: France
Posts: 491
Here the Great Giana Sisters slave supporting backgroung color gradient, set custom4=1 to use it.

Maybe you have a better palette, it could be included.
Attached Files
File Type: slave GreatGianaSisters17.slave (2.3 KB, 18 views)
Psygore is offline  
Old 01 October 2022, 15:57   #56
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 25,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psygore View Post
Here the Great Giana Sisters slave supporting backgroung color gradient, set custom4=1 to use it.

Maybe you have a better palette, it could be included.
Thank you
TCD is offline  
Old 01 October 2022, 16:10   #57
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 662
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psygore View Post
Here the Great Giana Sisters slave supporting backgroung color gradient, set custom4=1 to use it.

Maybe you have a better palette, it could be included.
ooooh new toys, nice, like your default selection already, now the rush for everyone to play everything they own to find similar titles to give a new lick of paint.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	lookinggood.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	49.4 KB
ID:	76733  

Last edited by DisasterIncarna; 01 October 2022 at 16:18.
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 02 October 2022, 10:35   #58
john4p
Competition Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,698
The 100% Amiga solution. Looks perfect and is a huge improvement to the game. Merci beaucoup!

Hope this solution can be added to other slaves of single color background-games, too.
john4p is offline  
Old 05 October 2022, 03:10   #59
lifeschool
Local Moderator

lifeschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lancashire, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,291
This is an interesting topic, and one which I was thinking about recently too.

When they 'converted' Fire and Ice to the A1200/CD32, they masked out the backgrounds and used the extra bit plane on the A1200 to put a high colour image behind the game. As the bitplane used it's own independent colour palette, the colours in the game were unaffected.

I think Gremlin also did this when they made Zool A1200. They just added a huge screen in the background which scrolled slowly in the same direction as whatever input was being received by the controller, so the sprite and the background moved at the same time.

I'm sure the function to matt out plain backgrounds can be used on most solid background games within WHD and even without a genlock, using a copper list. With something like Turrican, each level loads by itself, so it might not be so hard to put some flags in the code when each level loads, which changes the copper list or switches it off.

For Giana, the game has outdoor and inside levels, so it might not be so easy to get a good copper list for both types of levels without hacking the code.
lifeschool is offline  
Old 05 October 2022, 14:39   #60
rothers
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 436
Turrican with the background graphics really make the foreground graphics pop.

Fascinating hardware feature, kind of amazing it's not been done before now.

Very nice way to make deluxe versions of games. In theory do/could those min-amiga clones support this?
rothers is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replace a color with a texture turrican3 support.WinUAE 9 18 October 2019 09:10
Color Saturation and Color Tint/Hue Retro-Nerd support.WinUAE 22 02 August 2018 11:38
Printing in color with WinUAE on color laser source support.Apps 7 14 April 2013 01:32
ISO true color to 256 color algorithm Lord Riton Coders. General 19 15 April 2011 18:49
New 256 color backgrounds in the Zone ! DoomMaster support.Apps 0 09 October 2004 11:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.21493 seconds with 14 queries