English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 June 2020, 10:33   #1
thyslo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 138
DOpus 5.82 and XADopus - wrong timestamp of unpacked files

I've recently installed XADopus for DOpus 5.82 and then noticed that the timestamps of files unpacked with XADopus always are set to the current date/time:
  • When double clicking a LHA archive its contents are opened in a new listener
  • Therein I can browse the directories, all files have their original timestamp
  • When I now select a file and copy it into the destination lister, the time stamp of the destination file is changed to current date time.
On contrary, when using c:xadunfile to extract the whole archive, the original time stamps are preserved. So it might be caused by the XADopus extension and not by XAD itself.

Did anybody here notice this too or maybe have an idea how to fix it?
thyslo is offline  
Old 23 June 2020, 15:19   #2
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,139
It may use "copy" instead of "copy clone" somewhere. Have you tried to contact the author of XADopus? You can check the DOpus environment settings "Copy" where you can set if the source time stamp shall be copied or not.
daxb is offline  
Old 23 June 2020, 15:59   #3
thyslo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 138
I suppose you're right and "copy" instead "copy all" is used from inside XADopus.

I've just checked the environment setting you mentioned and it is set to "Copy date from sorce", so this should work.

So, maybe I'll mail the XADopus author and inform about this - but probably meanwhile he is out of reach given the release was about 20 years ago.

Last edited by thyslo; 23 June 2020 at 16:01. Reason: Spelling
thyslo is offline  
Old 24 June 2020, 10:54   #4
npagonis73
Registered User

npagonis73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Corfu / Greece
Posts: 341
I contacted the author a week ago for a question I had for a xad command but he replied that he is not active and told be ciao!!!!!
npagonis73 is offline  
Old 24 June 2020, 16:45   #5
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,139
Then it it might be a good idea to ask for source code and allow that someone can upload it to Aminet. So, anybody can have a look and may fix bugs. At least asking shows interest.
daxb is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 10:45   #6
thyslo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 138
Meanwhile I've found the XADopus sources: https://sourceforge.net/projects/dop...us5.82/source/

Edit: And for about one month it also can be found in Aminet: http://aminet.net/package/util/dopus/XADopus_src

Sooner or later I will have a look..

Last edited by thyslo; 18 September 2020 at 15:16.
thyslo is offline  
Old 28 September 2022, 19:26   #7
thyslo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 138
Getting back to this old topic..

I've got the XADopus sources to compile and looked into the code to find why the timestamp of the files is getting lost after extraction.

I also had a look into the Avalanche source as it also uses XAD to see why there the timestamps aren't lost after extraction: Because there the timestamps (and the comments, and the protection bits) are manually updated for every file after extraction.

So I added such a behavior to XADopus and the result is attached here.

So if anybody has XADopus in use on a AmigaOS3.1.4+ machine you're free to test it and give feedback if it now works

Feel free to do a before and after test: extract a file from an LHA archive with the old XADopus version. See if the timestamp of the extracted file is wrong as expected. Then repeat it with the new version and see if the timestamp now is ok.
Attached Files
File Type: lha xadopus_fixed.lha (8.0 KB, 19 views)

Last edited by thyslo; 29 September 2022 at 13:37.
thyslo is offline  
Old 29 September 2022, 21:47   #8
thyslo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 138
Oops..forgot to add the fix also to when individual files are extracted from the archive.

Attached another version which includes this fix too.
Attached Files
File Type: lha xadopus_fixed.lha (8.1 KB, 14 views)
thyslo is offline  
Old 01 October 2022, 14:03   #9
thyslo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 138
There still were issues. Timestamps were not updated in some circumstances. Latest fix is attached here.


Does anyone know 'the rules' on how to release an update/fix to a package of an meanwhile retired author on Aminet?
Attached Files
File Type: lha xadopus_fixed.lha (8.1 KB, 17 views)
thyslo is offline  
Old 01 October 2022, 15:15   #10
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,139
First, you cannot overwrite foreign packages. As far as I know there are not such rules beside the general upload rules. So, upload your update/fix to the right Aminet directory (util/dopus) with a proper name.
daxb is offline  
Old 01 October 2022, 16:29   #11
EctoOne
Registered User
EctoOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 163
Just out of curiosity. Why not use 5.91 which already comes with XADopus?

I never liked DirOpus 5 because of its multi windows layout compared to DirOpus 4. But I decided to give it another try and was wondering if there would be any benefit when using the older version.
EctoOne is offline  
Old 01 October 2022, 18:27   #12
thyslo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 138
Somewhere (sorry, I don't remember the sources; it might have been a PeterK/icon.library thread) I read that Dopus 5.82 has some minor memory leaks. In that same discussion was said that Dopus 5.91 fixed these leaks but introduced new ones that are 'not so minor'. All just from memory.

But I tested the 5.91 XADopus already and it has the timestap problem too.

Last edited by thyslo; 01 October 2022 at 18:37.
thyslo is offline  
Old 01 October 2022, 20:43   #13
EctoOne
Registered User
EctoOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 163
Thanks for the answer. I will see if I run into any problems with 5.91 but, although I've spotted some nice features in DOpus 5, I don't think it will ever replace my DOpus 4 setup.
EctoOne is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DOpus: Doesn't like executing files with long names Foebane support.Apps 14 30 July 2018 21:45
Naming LHA files when creating in DOPUS? pixelsmack Amiga scene 6 08 June 2017 23:07
Changing date/timestamp of AmigaDOS directory? rhester72 support.Apps 1 28 May 2015 00:42
Dopus suddenly won't extract LhA Files manic23 support.Apps 3 30 March 2013 14:43
Unable To Play Mod Files In DopuS Mag1c1an support.Apps 6 06 July 2006 17:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09549 seconds with 14 queries