English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 January 2021, 11:31   #21
Bruce Abbott
Registered User

Bruce Abbott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hastings, New Zealand
Posts: 1,244
I have a CNET CN40BC PCMCIA network card on my A1200 (50MHz 030), and a Genius ME3000II PCMCIA card on the A600 (Vampire 600). Software is Roadshow and SMB-Handler 0.20.

Copying a 14MB file into RAM: from my PC over the (wired) network I got 580kB/s on the A1200 and 830kB/s on the A600.
Bruce Abbott is offline  
Old 07 January 2021, 13:05   #22
jostberg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 20
A500 - plipbox, Roadshow
A3000 - RTL8139 in Mediator, Roadshow
jostberg is offline  
Old 07 January 2021, 13:08   #23
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 516
A600/A1200 = PCMCIA Ethernet, reaching 5-6 Mbps with 030/50 MHz using Roadshow and Amispeedtest.
duga is offline  
Old 08 January 2021, 10:03   #24
Krashan
Hardware Designer

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Bialystok/Poland
Age: 49
Posts: 138
A1200, wired PCMCIA card. 180 kB/s with 68020 @ 28 MHz.
Krashan is offline  
Old 08 January 2021, 13:35   #25
darkwave
Registered User
darkwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 258
A1200 68060 wired PCMCIA Ethernet = 5.3 Mbps
A600 68030 wired Plipbox Ethernet = 270 kbps

Both using Roadshow. The A1200 is plenty fast enough for my needs of file transfer and occasional (Amiga oriented) internet use. I'll likely upgrade the A600 to PCMCIA wired at some point as the Plipbox is noticeably slow.

I'd be interested to hear if anyone has used something like this with an SPI ethernet controller?
SPI Master Bus Controller
darkwave is offline  
Old 08 January 2021, 15:42   #26
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 46
Posts: 3,276
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Is there any point.
I mostly use it for a shared folder on the peecee, but Aminet works well.
Thorham is offline  
Old 08 January 2021, 16:06   #27
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 44
Posts: 5,919
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
I mostly use it for a shared folder on the peecee, but Aminet works well.

Even for all the messing about and that ugly card sticking out of side.
I still don't see point.
FOL is offline  
Old 08 January 2021, 16:31   #28
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 46
Posts: 3,276
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Even for all the messing about and that ugly card sticking out of side.
Messing around how?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
I still don't see point.
Different strokes for different folks
Thorham is offline  
Old 08 January 2021, 18:58   #29
crazyc
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 860
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Even for all the messing about and that ugly card sticking out of side.
I still don't see point.
I will admit that I didn't like the card sticking out the side.
However with my checkmate case I don't have that anymore and it runs out of a panel on the back.
Also roadshow runs when I boot up and whdload stops it etc when needed so I don't really have any messing around now....
crazyc is offline  
Old 08 January 2021, 19:24   #30
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 44
Posts: 5,919
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
Different strokes for different folks

LMFAO, that is funny, .


Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyc View Post
I will admit that I didn't like the card sticking out the side.
However with my checkmate case I don't have that anymore and it runs out of a panel on the back.
Also roadshow runs when I boot up and whdload stops it etc when needed so I don't really have any messing around now....

Exactly, my point. Its hit and miss and if you don't know much about that type of stuff, it can become a knightmare.
FOL is offline  
Old 08 January 2021, 19:41   #31
crazyc
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 860
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Exactly, my point. Its hit and miss and if you don't know much about that type of stuff, it can become a knightmare.
Well if I can manage to get it set up then most people can

I did find Miami was a bit hit and miss in terms of now and then it just would not connect, but Roadshow has had no such issues. I use Roadie as a front end when needed but as I said, now it just runs and pretty much takes care of itself.

And I do love the checkmate case (OK I had to add a few 90 degree adapters to route the pcmcia back in the case, but its hardly rocket science)
crazyc is offline  
Old 08 January 2021, 21:20   #32
buggs
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rostock/Germany
Posts: 124
Granted, my way to hook up my Amigas to the net is quite probably not the most common one.

My A4000's and the A3000 do have a DIY Z-III Ethernet card (co-development by matze@a1k and me).

(https://postimg.cc/75ty8Bmx)

The A500 and A1200 got DIY Ethernet interfaces, too. There I connected Wiznet W5500 10/100 via SPI to the Vampire cards.

(https://postimg.cc/87XxntbL)
buggs is offline  
Old 26 September 2022, 01:17   #33
back2skooldaze
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: leeds,UK
Posts: 83
plipbox waste of time !
back2skooldaze is offline  
Old 27 September 2022, 01:50   #34
Bruce Abbott
Registered User

Bruce Abbott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hastings, New Zealand
Posts: 1,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by back2skooldaze View Post
plipbox waste of time !
You are right! About 20 times more time wasted than a good PCMCIA or Zorro Ethernet card.

But still a lot less time wasted than a 56k MODEM, which was the best we had for internet back in the 90's (and those things were expensive!).

PlipBox is cheap, anyone can make one with standard hobby electronic modules, and it plugs in easily without conflicting with other peripherals and works on any Amiga (except an unexpanded CD32).
Bruce Abbott is offline  
Old 29 September 2022, 00:12   #35
stairmand
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Cornwall.
Posts: 35
Lucky enough to have an Ariadne Ethernet card on my 4000. I did use a PCMCIA card on my 1200.
stairmand is offline  
Old 29 September 2022, 21:45   #36
Marce
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: SA
Posts: 272
I connect my A1200 to internet using a zoltrix pcmcia 33600 modem connected to the old telephone line

but just once in a year or so, to check if still works

is funny because you can still join aminet using ibrowse and download files at 3kb /seg
Marce is offline  
Old 30 September 2022, 01:21   #37
jcgeuze
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Leon, Mexico
Age: 48
Posts: 53
a1200 wired PCMCIA card. im getting like 900kb/s

roadshow ofcourse
jcgeuze is offline  
Old 30 September 2022, 18:49   #38
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 2,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcgeuze View Post
a1200 wired PCMCIA card. im getting like 900kb/s

roadshow ofcourse

what brand / model card?
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 30 September 2022, 23:52   #39
Bruce Abbott
Registered User

Bruce Abbott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hastings, New Zealand
Posts: 1,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marce View Post
I connect my A1200 to internet using a zoltrix pcmcia 33600 modem connected to the old telephone line

but just once in a year or so, to check if still works

is funny because you can still join aminet using ibrowse and download files at 3kb /seg
Funny thing is, there was a time when 33k6 was considered fast. Even stonking Pentium PC users had to put up with glacially slow internet back then.

I used a 28k8 MODEM on my A1200 because I bought it before 33k6 and 56k were a thing, and the Amiga struggled with 56k anyway on the standard serial port. Later on I got an ADSL connection, which had become cheap enough to justify. That was fine until a few years ago when the phone company forced me to go wireless. Now I am waiting for a fibre connection (ordered it last December, hoping they get around to installing it sometime this year!).
Bruce Abbott is offline  
Old 01 October 2022, 05:24   #40
jcgeuze
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Leon, Mexico
Age: 48
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
what brand / model card?
Dlink fast ethernet card 10/100

do note i have a 030@50Mhz
jcgeuze is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New hardware reveal during Amiga Ireland Online 2021 Ralph Egas Amiga scene 8 24 January 2021 14:29
Amiga Calendar 2021 appnjoy Amiga scene 0 15 September 2020 08:39
Can CD32 Connect to Internet? fondpondforever Amiga scene 4 02 May 2016 11:29
How can I connect my A500+ to the Internet? Sim085 support.Hardware 12 13 May 2013 07:50
Most common programming language in Amiga games manicx Amiga scene 38 10 March 2004 15:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11387 seconds with 15 queries