English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 March 2009, 11:53   #1
daznic
Registered User
daznic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: chester / england
Posts: 172
Joystick Autofire

Is there any device available to make autofire available to any joystick that does not have it ?
My fav joystick is an old Comp Pro, but I tend to use a Naff quickshot just for the autofire !
daznic is offline  
Old 04 March 2009, 13:10   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,698
There were lots of autofire circuits floating around in magazines, etc. in the heyday of the Amiga and C-64.

Not surprisingly, the keyword "autofire" provides you with such a circuit when entered into aminet search.

http://aminet.net/package/docs/hard/autofire
Jope is offline  
Old 04 March 2009, 16:18   #3
daznic
Registered User
daznic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: chester / england
Posts: 172
Well I`m not too good at circuits, I have shaky hands & bad eyes.....
But, I could massacre one of my old joysticks & transplant the autofire circuit into my comp. pro maybe ?
daznic is offline  
Old 04 March 2009, 18:29   #4
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 47
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
i will recomend to use 555 timer, something like this

Chain is offline  
Old 04 March 2009, 20:51   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,698
Both circuits are of a similar difficulty to build, the one in the aminet link claims to be superior.
Jope is offline  
Old 18 October 2016, 17:24   #6
slappy32
 
Posts: n/a
@Jope
Hello, I'm an Amiga user from Germany and still own a working, upgraded A1200.
Now, I would like to create that autofire circuit for my Joystick for my Competition
Pro (the better one, based on a 14-pin 4011 CMOS IC with four nand gates)
However, I cannot read circuit plans. So, could you or anyone else here make me a drawing of how this "superior" circuit from "autofire.lha" on aminet released by Mark Spankus back in 1991 would like to the human eye (its parts and how they are wired)
?

Sure, my blue Comp. Pro already has an autofire switch, but I am not really satisfied with it, because the fire rate is not adjustable to every game, and there are always hickups while firing. As if that 555 IC is faster than the Amiga can react to its signals. Using the same crappy 555 IC for my own circuit is not an Option, obviously.
Hope you can help me further. thanks.
 
Old 18 October 2016, 20:56   #7
Bastich
Registered User

Bastich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 341
I've converted my Competition Pro (black and red) to have audio fire by taking the circuit out of other broken / damaged joysticks (I have far too many). I just use the right hand button for auto fire and the left is left as normal. There are certain auto fire circuits that do not require the extra 5v line (missing from virtually all originally non auto fire joysticks) which means you do not need to change the cable.
Bastich is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winuaex autofire? Jerry support.OtherUAE 4 10 July 2009 11:22
WinUAE, autofire (xenon2) Nephilim support.WinUAE 5 21 April 2008 20:08
Autofire with Keyboard Kellerkind support.WinUAE 0 31 August 2006 17:22
How do I use autofire for keyboard? leipuri support.WinUAE 3 27 June 2006 17:49
Autofire in WinUAE Mudr support.WinUAE 0 06 September 2004 11:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11382 seconds with 13 queries