English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 August 2014, 12:52   #1
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 451
[Bug?] VHD support in 2.5.12 broken & unable to write to VHD in 2.5.11

Hi Frode,

I played a bit with VHD dynamic image files in FS-UAE. It seems, that VHD support is broken in the last dev version (FS-UAE crashes).

in 2.5.11 it seems, FS-UAE cannot write to or expand a dynamic VHD image. In log there are these lines relevant I think:

Code:
uae_start_tread "hardfile" function at 0x17ef60 arg 0x1bf0e54
hdf_resize_target: SetEndOfFile() 0
vhd_enlarge: failure
The above lines were written to the log after I clicked "save changes to disk" in HDToolBox.

Code:
hdf_resize_target: SetEndOfFile() 0
vhd_enlarge: failure
hdf_resize_target: SetEndOfFile() 0
vhd_enlarge: failure
hdf_resize_target: SetEndOfFile() 0
vhd_enlarge: failure
The above lines were written to the log after I tried to format the partitions created on a dynamic VHD in WinUAE.

I've tried this first with a VHD created by the command line tool "VBoxManage createhd" from Virtual Box. To look, if this tool creates something wrong I tested the same with a VHD created in WinUAE. Same results.
Attached Files
File Type: txt fs-uae.log.txt (51.3 KB, 208 views)
amigafreak68k is offline  
Old 24 August 2014, 13:55   #2
Schlachtwerk
68k RULEZ
Schlachtwerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 199
Here is WinUAE

FS_UAE Support is here ^^

http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=122
Schlachtwerk is offline  
Old 24 August 2014, 14:05   #3
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 24,024
And moved
TCD is offline  
Old 24 August 2014, 14:15   #4
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 451
Whaaaa!!! Yes, you all are right!

I didn't know why I had posted it in support.WinUAE

BTW:

I'd written a little AppleScript to create a VHD using command line tools from VirtualBox.

Should VHD support appears in FS-UAE everyone can use this little tool to create own (dynamic) VHD hardfiles.
Attached Files
File Type: zip VHD Creator.zip (53.4 KB, 165 views)

Last edited by amigafreak68k; 24 August 2014 at 14:24.
amigafreak68k is offline  
Old 24 August 2014, 18:59   #5
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,860
VHD support has been acknowledged to be broken in WinUAE 2.9.0 beta12 (included in 2.5.12dev). So at least some issue will be fixed in .13dev (WinUAE 2.9.0 beta13) is already merged (Note, that the version numbers match up here is just coincidental ).

As for VHD problems being a bug or not. I don't think I have ever tested .vhd support, but I believe people have got it working in FS-UAE. So you could say FS-UAE does not officially support .vhd files (it is just "accidentally" included because WinUAE supports it, and I haven't specifically done anything to *remove* the support).

It would be useful if I made a table of features indicating support level (and comment, if needed). I've started on one here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...it?usp=sharing (we'll see if I actually will add more to it / keep it up 2 date). As you can see, I put "VHD support" in the "orange category".
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 16:22   #6
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 451
Hi Frode,

thanks for the explanations!

I have tested VHD with fixed size and these hardfiles works very well. So it's only a problem with dynamic hardfiles.

BTW: Creating a 4GB fixed size hardfile takes less than a second! :-)

Edit: I'll update my little tool "VHD Creator" so everyone is able to create fixed and/or dynamic hardfiles :-)
amigafreak68k is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 17:13   #7
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 451
Here is the second version of my little VHD creator. Now you can choose the hardfile type at start, so you can create & use VHD (at this time only fixed size) hardfiles in FS-UAE
Attached Files
File Type: zip VHD Creator.zip (54.9 KB, 1493 views)

Last edited by amigafreak68k; 02 September 2014 at 18:42.
amigafreak68k is offline  
Old 26 February 2015, 17:57   #8
sev7en
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Qatar
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigafreak68k View Post
Here is the second version of my little VHD creator. Now you can choose the hardfile type at start, so you can create & use VHD (at this time only fixed size) hardfiles in FS-UAE
Good afternoon,
thanks but anytimes I run it when it has to create the file I have the following error: "... No such file or directory"

this error happens any path I select. I am using Yosemite.


Cheers,
sev7en is offline  
Old 01 March 2015, 16:44   #9
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 451
Sorry. Seems that the binary is missing!

Updated version in attachement. Please try.
Attached Files
File Type: zip VHD Creator.zip (52.0 KB, 265 views)
amigafreak68k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE & vhd disks zardoz support.FS-UAE 6 18 December 2013 21:53
Compacting vhd hardfiles hrmes support.WinUAE 7 19 October 2010 19:42
vhd physical vs. logical size thomas support.WinUAE 2 19 August 2010 16:44
Use .vhd extension for new dynamic HDFs. thomas request.UAE Wishlist 8 29 July 2010 17:49
v2.1.0 VHD RDB non-writable Maccara support.WinUAE 3 15 May 2010 08:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08630 seconds with 16 queries