English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 May 2008, 22:15   #1
rhester72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New York / USA
Posts: 144
A3000 SCSI/1.4-based SuperKickstart 1.3 boot fails

Using WinUAE 1.4.6 with A3000 QuickStart settings (including KS 1.4 with bonus) and a 50MB hard file. Steps followed:

- Created empty hard file
- Booted from 2.04 A3000 SuperKickstart floppy (NOTE: 2.0 SKS will not allow PrepHD to work!)
- Booted from 2.0 A3000 Install disk, ran PrepHD, FormatHD, and InstallHD
- Verified devs:kickstart exists in both WB_1.3: and WB_2.x:
- Clean rebooted, selected 2.x from hard drive on boot menu, all was well
- Clean rebooted, selected 1.3 from hard drive on boot menu - it loads the SKS image, restarts, flashes the screen rapidly, hard restarts, automatically loads SKS 2.x from hard drive and comes up in 2.0 (expected behavior is to load SKS 1.3 and boot from WB_1.3:, of course)

Attached boot and UAE log from a clean boot demonstrating the issue.

Rodney
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (7.7 KB, 178 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (15.9 KB, 225 views)
rhester72 is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 14:10   #2
rhester72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New York / USA
Posts: 144
I have also tested this against the latest beta which behaved in an identical manner. I did not report it in the beta thread lest I be savaged because it isn't a problem with an explicit change in the beta (hi, Toni! .

Rodney
rhester72 is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 22:06   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,736
KS 1.3 bonus remapping appears to be borken. (it is ugly hack after all) May or may not be fixed..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 December 2009, 23:37   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,484
Still broken, it seems as I was playing around with these just a moment ago. Even the kickstart hand graphic seems garbled. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 31 December 2009, 14:13   #5
rhester72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New York / USA
Posts: 144
Historically speaking, I *really* wish this could be made to work reliably...it's a huge part of Amiga history, at least in the US.

That having been said, I know that getting it to work involves very nasty MMU fakery, so I realize the difficulty of the effort. And while I imagine my input on the matter is of little relevance, I would like to once again humbly request this be looked at if possible.

Rodney
rhester72 is offline  
Old 31 December 2009, 14:31   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,484
Ah, I was a bit too quick to blame here, I talked about it on IRC with Toni today and it works when you disable JIT.

So.. You can indeed have a superkick a3000 config with WinUAE, works pretty well even though it isn't supposed to. ;-)
Jope is offline  
Old 31 December 2009, 14:41   #7
rhester72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New York / USA
Posts: 144
Ah - I hadn't actually tried it myself. Ironically, just *before* hearing from you, I had planned to set up another special test-case HDF for this and try it, but decided not to after seeing your report. Oopsie.

Sorry, Toni.

Rodney
rhester72 is offline  
Old 31 December 2009, 15:15   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,736
JIT (or 68040/060 with caches enabled) and KS 1.x isn't very stable combination
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A3000 Kickstart 1.4 Superkickstart alexh support.Hardware 11 25 May 2018 09:06
Odd A3000 SuperKickstart/SCSI behavior rhester72 support.WinUAE 4 30 September 2011 14:55
Need A3000 Superkickstart file(s) r.cade support.Hardware 3 06 May 2009 02:26
CD32 Quickstart fails to boot CD if.. a4k-oerx support.WinUAE 11 17 November 2008 18:35
Where to find A3000 Superkickstart 3.1 r.cade support.Hardware 6 24 January 2008 16:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09091 seconds with 16 queries