English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 July 2006, 14:40   #1
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,216
Keyboard Connectors

What are the best Keyboard connectors for the 1200?

The one I have doesn't allow proper multiple key presses so resetting is not possible.

It sits over the keyboard controller chip and allows the use of a din type connector (not PS2)

I am hopefully gonna replace it with a better connector
BippyM is offline  
Old 12 July 2006, 14:51   #2
BinoX
Miggy Man
BinoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom
Age: 37
Posts: 831
I use an elbox PCkey 1200.. That works well, snaps into the keyboard connector on the board...

get from elbox directly or amigakit

They Lyra 1200 is good too (so I've heard) The A4000 version works fine anyway.. but I'm not sure about the 1200 one...
BinoX is offline  
Old 12 July 2006, 15:02   #3
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,216
There is a Lyra on ebay atm.. might go for that

gonna look at the elbox pckey

Thnaks
BippyM is offline  
Old 12 July 2006, 15:13   #4
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
I hear pc-key cannot really cope with multiple keypresses, like the direction arrows (for ab3d, gloom, etc)
I have rbm converters, works 100% with pc and amiga keyboards...
AFAIK lyra is only for pc keyboards...
keropi is offline  
Old 12 July 2006, 15:13   #5
DoctorQ
What?? Who?? DoctorQ!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rødding/Denmark
Age: 40
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to DoctorQ
@bippym

Are you sure the keyboard is alright? Even though the keyboard adaptor doesn't allow multiple keypresses, it will be able to reset. The issue with multiple keypresses can only be experienced with gaming.

The Lyra is the only one that allows true multiple keypresses, but it can only use PC keyboards.
DoctorQ is offline  
Old 12 July 2006, 16:03   #6
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
lyra the only one? I doubt it... the rbm adaptor that comes along witht the towerhawk tower has no probs either, you can press whatever combination u want... I sure hope the "other rbm" adaptor I got latelly works the same, lol

oh, and someone on .org reported that eytech's ezkey has no probs either...
keropi is offline  
Old 12 July 2006, 16:06   #7
DoctorQ
What?? Who?? DoctorQ!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rødding/Denmark
Age: 40
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to DoctorQ
Well, I doubt the RBM adaptors can cope with multiple keypresses. Have you tried playing Wipeout 2097 with the adaptor?
DoctorQ is offline  
Old 12 July 2006, 16:22   #8
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
not with yours, I have tried it OK with mine... but mine is newer I guess, and it has atx convertor on board too...
keropi is offline  
Old 12 July 2006, 16:34   #9
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorQ
@bippym

Are you sure the keyboard is alright? Even though the keyboard adaptor doesn't allow multiple keypresses, it will be able to reset. The issue with multiple keypresses can only be experienced with gaming.

The Lyra is the only one that allows true multiple keypresses, but it can only use PC keyboards.
I brought another keyboard this morning and same issues.. Cannot reset w/out powering off
BippyM is offline  
Old 12 July 2006, 17:21   #10
DoctorQ
What?? Who?? DoctorQ!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rødding/Denmark
Age: 40
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to DoctorQ
@bippym

Amiga or PC keyboards? The PC keyboards uses some wierd combinations, and not all use the same combinations. If Amiga keyboards, it should be easy though.
DoctorQ is offline  
Old 12 July 2006, 19:23   #11
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
I have 3 a1200 keyboard adapters. each of which are edffernet

1). PCkey (uses keyboard connecter) PC or Amiga KB*- flawless operation -*
2). Generic ( uses socket ) Amiga KB Flawless, some issues with PC kb.
3). Eyetech dongle (uses socket) (recently got off ebay see pic)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	keyboad-dongle30_1.jpg
Views:	275
Size:	13.7 KB
ID:	11549  
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 13 July 2006, 02:51   #12
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorQ
@bippym

Amiga or PC keyboards? The PC keyboards uses some wierd combinations, and not all use the same combinations. If Amiga keyboards, it should be easy though.
I am using a PC keyboard.

I have tried 2 different keyboards with the same result

I'll take a photo of my KB adapter (i'm not 100% sure what it is as it came with the tower) so you can see
BippyM is offline  
Old 05 September 2009, 10:12   #13
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
I'm trying to find a *working* keyboard adaptor for my A1200 because the PC-Key doesn't allow true multiple keypresses. Resetting works, but trying to play anything Doom-like, it doesn't register multiple keys. Playing Abuse is a pain too when trying to jump succesfully.

I know the Lyra works like a charm but with FastATA installed it's not possible to use it . I have like 2 Lyra's in the closet which i cannot use. And as much as i sometimes hate the FastATA (hate/love relationship ) i'm not willing to throw it away to use a lyra.

Any suggestions here?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 05 December 2011, 08:53   #14
uridium
Registered User
uridium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 19
@Bamiga2002:
Did you end up finding a solution to the FastATA-IV + Lyra2 problem? I've just luckily bought both at the same time from amigakit and found out that they don't fit. :~(

Wish I had known.

I tried to build up the sockets on my mobo with shims which works (YAY!) but heck, now the MediatorTX won't fit on top of the fastata any more.

Is there an adapter that the FastATA-IV can socket into that will move it down by even so much as 3mm? The whole shebang would fit then. Wouldn't need to be electrically complex (pin to pin) ..just a shim. I really don't want to have to make and etch one.

Ideas? Constructive abuse? ($OTHER) ?

Al.
uridium is offline  
Old 05 December 2011, 10:50   #15
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by uridium View Post
@Bamiga2002:
Did you end up finding a solution to the FastATA-IV + Lyra2 problem? I've just luckily bought both at the same time from amigakit and found out that they don't fit. :~(

Wish I had known.

I tried to build up the sockets on my mobo with shims which works (YAY!) but heck, now the MediatorTX won't fit on top of the fastata any more.

Is there an adapter that the FastATA-IV can socket into that will move it down by even so much as 3mm? The whole shebang would fit then. Wouldn't need to be electrically complex (pin to pin) ..just a shim. I really don't want to have to make and etch one.

Ideas? Constructive abuse? ($OTHER) ?

Al.
Nope didn't find any other solution than selling the Fast-ATA and buying Idefix Express. I can't understand why they didn't correct the problem with the new Fast-ATA MK IV....
Bamiga2002 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DB23 connectors ivansc MarketPlace 12 16 May 2010 12:24
edge connectors source support.Hardware 2 20 November 2009 21:00
Looking for connectors for accelerators frost242 support.Hardware 7 29 June 2008 13:08
DB23F connectors Brass support.Hardware 2 13 May 2007 15:36
Unused Connectors/Ports BippyM support.Hardware 16 26 July 2006 13:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.18640 seconds with 14 queries