English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2003, 20:21   #1
Fackamato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 144
Send a message via MSN to Fackamato
Cool Feature request

Thought I'd create this thread, to see what features people want in WinUAE

I don't really know what I want yet.. Hm. Serial support can always get some more action..

PPC emulation support would of course be great but nearly impossible..

Hm hm, what do you guys want? D:
Fackamato is offline  
Old 27 December 2003, 22:07   #2
jerry
 
Posts: n/a
I would seriously like to see some DCTV display emulation, as I am a great fan of it.

-scratch` from qnet
 
Old 27 December 2003, 22:15   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,735
PPC: Never. Never owned one, not interested. IMHO not worth the complexity and totally useless without JIT. May not work without MMU-emulation (very complex and slow to emulate). Most PPC games are PC ports.

Serial port? I think you mean serial link problems? I have already explained why serial link play is not possible. (yes, I know nothing is impossible but needed game/emulator specific hacks/fixes are not worth the trouble)

I think the only 100% working solution is to create special hardware board with directly (very low latency) accessible serial port.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 27 December 2003, 22:33   #4
bobbybearing
Zone Friend
bobbybearing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: France
Age: 48
Posts: 161
euh... hmmm
like SainT, but in option, I would like to ear the floppy drive sound
bobbybearing is offline  
Old 27 December 2003, 23:23   #5
Fackamato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 144
Send a message via MSN to Fackamato
Quote:
Originally posted by bobbybearing
euh... hmmm
like SainT, but in option, I would like to ear the floppy drive sound

Yeaaaaahhh


For Toni: Okies
Fackamato is offline  
Old 29 December 2003, 10:10   #6
Chipmunk_UK_1
Registered User
Chipmunk_UK_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Royston / UK
Age: 45
Posts: 61
Send a message via ICQ to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via MSN to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via Yahoo to Chipmunk_UK_1
Floppy Drive Sounds

Believe it or not, I allready did the floppy drive sound thing with an older release of WinUAE, you can grab it here, as I say, it's an older version, without any off the new stuff from the last few releases (i must get the latest sources and update it at some point) You can turn the effect on and off from the floppy tab. The effect is ... different ... but there you go enjoy.
Chipmunk_UK_1 is offline  
Old 29 December 2003, 16:06   #7
Fackamato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 144
Send a message via MSN to Fackamato
Re: Floppy Drive Sounds

Quote:
Originally posted by Chipmunk_UK_1
Believe it or not, I allready did the floppy drive sound thing with an older release of WinUAE, you can grab it here, as I say, it's an older version, without any off the new stuff from the last few releases (i must get the latest sources and update it at some point) You can turn the effect on and off from the floppy tab. The effect is ... different ... but there you go enjoy.

Holy something! *downloading*

Please update it with the latest
Fackamato is offline  
Old 29 December 2003, 16:20   #8
Chipmunk_UK_1
Registered User
Chipmunk_UK_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Royston / UK
Age: 45
Posts: 61
Send a message via ICQ to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via MSN to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via Yahoo to Chipmunk_UK_1
Heheh, and that funny little demo that plays music with your floppy drive, does work with this feature, you can "just" about make out the music...
Chipmunk_UK_1 is offline  
Old 29 December 2003, 16:43   #9
Fackamato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 144
Send a message via MSN to Fackamato
Hehe

I just thought of something else. Does WinUAE support, or would it benefit from the following: SSE, SSE2, MMX (think it has this ), 3dnow!, 3dnow!2 (don't remember the name of that one) ?
Fackamato is offline  
Old 30 December 2003, 00:18   #10
Chipmunk_UK_1
Registered User
Chipmunk_UK_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Royston / UK
Age: 45
Posts: 61
Send a message via ICQ to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via MSN to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via Yahoo to Chipmunk_UK_1
OK, here is WinUAE 0.8.23 with Drive Click emulation... Enjoy...

Hopefully, when it's been tidied up, it can be added as a core option in winuae... (lots of work till it get's that tidy tho)

What's probably needed is an option to enable and disable it for each drive, cos at the moment, when it's on, it's on for all drives, and that noise does get annoying when you've got 4 drives setup, and three of them are empty!
Chipmunk_UK_1 is offline  
Old 30 December 2003, 00:24   #11
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally posted by Fackamato
Hehe

I just thought of something else. Does WinUAE support, or would it benefit from the following: SSE, SSE2, MMX (think it has this ), 3dnow!, 3dnow!2 (don't remember the name of that one) ?
Wouldn't have thought WinUAE uses the FPU, so those optimizations are useless apart from MMX.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 30 December 2003, 00:50   #12
Fackamato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 144
Send a message via MSN to Fackamato
Quote:
Originally posted by Bloodwych
Wouldn't have thought WinUAE uses the FPU, so those optimizations are useless apart from MMX.

Okay

Hm, not much posting here... Is really WinUAE complete for you guys (except any unfound bugs etc)?! We need more out of this

Make it bake or something :P
Fackamato is offline  
Old 30 December 2003, 01:52   #13
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 66
Posts: 685
I'm eagerly anticipating the implementation of the neural net interface in WinUAE myself so that I can finally not be bound by having to use mice, keyboards, joysticks or joypads anymore. I didn't want to sound like I was asking too much of Toni though, so I figured I'd just wait until he gets around to it.
Chuckles is offline  
Old 30 December 2003, 04:00   #14
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Originally posted by Chipmunk_UK_1
WinUAE 0.8.23 with Drive Click emulation... Enjoy...

Hopefully, when it's been tidied up, it can be added as a core option in winuae... (lots of work till it get's that tidy tho)
Cool idea and work!

Hmmm. But no sound at all here.
OS is Win98SE.
A crack intro works with sound, thus sound does work, but not clicking sound

Your linking should be changed, too.

- Your build is linked firmly to ZLIB.DLL (complains if you launch WinUAE and zlib.dll isn't in the directory) but due to Toni's modifications in 0.8.23, this new build now needs ZLIB1.DLL!
Currently, you need BOTH: zlib.dll so that it doesn't complain, zlib1.dll so that you can load zip images!
andreas is offline  
Old 30 December 2003, 09:53   #15
Chipmunk_UK_1
Registered User
Chipmunk_UK_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Royston / UK
Age: 45
Posts: 61
Send a message via ICQ to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via MSN to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via Yahoo to Chipmunk_UK_1
Quote:
Hmmm. But no sound at all here.
Did you have the file click.raw in the same folder as WinUAE0.8.23.clickdrv.exe ? (It needs to be in there, or you won't get any clicks... I'll add it to the exe as a resource when i figure out how )


Quote:
Your linking should be changed, too.

- Your build is linked firmly to ZLIB.DLL (complains if you launch WinUAE and zlib.dll isn't in the directory) but due to Toni's modifications in 0.8.23, this new build now needs ZLIB1.DLL!
Currently, you need BOTH: zlib.dll so that it doesn't complain, zlib1.dll so that you can load zip images!
Hmm... Not sure how I managed that I'll have a closer look when I get home tonight
Chipmunk_UK_1 is offline  
Old 30 December 2003, 10:05   #16
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,690
Toni could port it to MorphOS since I sent him a Pegasos for free. It is up to him though.

Pyromania is offline  
Old 30 December 2003, 11:34   #17
Fackamato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 144
Send a message via MSN to Fackamato
Quote:
Originally posted by Pyromania
Toni could port it to MorphOS since I sent him a Pegasos for free. It is up to him though.

Aw that'd be cool

HUGE differences though I guess

And it's PPC based, which Toni hates.. :P
Fackamato is offline  
Old 30 December 2003, 11:37   #18
bobbybearing
Zone Friend
bobbybearing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: France
Age: 48
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally posted by Chipmunk_UK_1
Heheh, and that funny little demo that plays music with your floppy drive, does work with this feature, you can "just" about make out the music...
?!? this demo really exist ?!? :eek
bobbybearing is offline  
Old 30 December 2003, 11:50   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,735
Floppy sound: will be included someday but it does need updating first, separate common code and sound code (for easier porting, replace sound api with directsound), support for multiple different sounds (A500 internal drive is much more noisier than most external drives) and so on..

Pegasos: I don't hate PPC, I just don't care about non-m68k Amigas.

I don't know about MorphOS but if it supports SDL, shouldn't R.Drummond's UAE port compile without major problems?

Floppymusic: Try enabling cycle-exact for better sound because that "demo" uses CPU timing loops.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 December 2003, 12:43   #20
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Originally posted by Chipmunk_UK_1
Did you have the file click.raw in the same folder as WinUAE0.8.23.clickdrv.exe ? (It needs to be in there, or you won't get any clicks )
Of course I have. I've also tried to experiment with Stereo/Mono, and no clicks either.

[edit] OK, sorted it out.
You could have told people that Drive Sound checkbox is next to Floppy Speed!
It was off, therefore no sound.
I simply thought it was permanently on in your test build.

Last edited by andreas; 30 December 2003 at 12:49.
andreas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feature request Galahad/FLT support.WinUAE 5 12 February 2013 19:38
feature request Mad-Matt support.WinUAE 4 25 January 2007 09:22
Garrison (feature request) Bamiga2002 Games images which need to be WHDified 2 02 March 2005 13:33
Feature Request Npl request.UAE Wishlist 5 02 August 2004 21:43
cool feature request amigan support.WinUAE 9 25 January 2004 01:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09447 seconds with 13 queries