English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 February 2021, 02:02   #1
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,532
WHDLoadMenu




Author: vesurijormas.com (Vesa Halttunen)

WHDLoadMenu v1.0: Download


WHDLoadMenu: is a frontend for WHDLoad. It displays a list of WHDLoadable applications in the given directory and allows them to be started by clicking on the name of the application using the mouse or by selecting the application name using the keyboard or a joystick.

WHDLoadMenu is intended to beconditionally started on system startup.

WHDLoadMenu requires WHDLoad (http://www.whdload.de/whdload/WHDLoad_usr.lha) to start the applications.

Please refer to the provided AmigaGuide documentation for installation
instructions.

1. Install using the provided Install script
2. Add Install:Path/StartWHDLoadMenu to the very beginning of Startup-Sequence
3. Hold down left mouse button and reboot

Version 0.11 changes:

- User defineable background color in WHDLoadMenuAnimated
- Improved ball animation in WHDLoadMenuAnimated
- Remove unnecessary name length limit in WHDLoadMenuAnimated

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. To view a copy of this license, visit http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/ or send a letter to Creative Commons, PO Box 1866, Mountain View, CA 94042, USA.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 16 April 2021 at 08:12.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 15 February 2021, 14:42   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,489
The unanimated version is perfect! Lightweight, gadtools, fast.
Jope is offline  
Old 16 February 2021, 03:52   #3
falken
Amiga Lover
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 140
Seems like retroarch interface!
falken is offline  
Old 16 February 2021, 04:51   #4
Radertified
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: -
Posts: 524
I'm glad to see this constantly being updated.

I'd like to see the ability to customize the installation after its been installed. eg. I don't like the windowed interface so I'd like to switch it to the animated screen, in black, etc. At the moment I'm having to use the installer everytime I want to make a change.
Radertified is offline  
Old 16 February 2021, 07:31   #5
512k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Creatures Land
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
The unanimated version is perfect! Lightweight, gadtools, fast.
Screenshot?
512k is offline  
Old 16 February 2021, 09:32   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radertified View Post
I'm glad to see this constantly being updated.

I'd like to see the ability to customize the installation after its been installed. eg. I don't like the windowed interface so I'd like to switch it to the animated screen, in black, etc. At the moment I'm having to use the installer everytime I want to make a change.
You don't have to reinstall it every time, you can use a text editor to change the scripts the installer makes for you.

Naturally this is not mouse driven, but we can see it as a gateway drug to learning how AmigaDOS operates. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 16 February 2021, 09:33   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by 512k View Post
Screenshot?
[ Show youtube player ]

It has Mouse + keyboard + joystick navigation and type to search. Basically all you need. Starts practically immediately, no nonsense, no bullshit. :-D
Jope is offline  
Old 16 February 2021, 10:23   #8
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radertified View Post
I'm glad to see this constantly being updated.

I'd like to see the ability to customize the installation after its been installed. eg. I don't like the windowed interface so I'd like to switch it to the animated screen, in black, etc. At the moment I'm having to use the installer everytime I want to make a change.
As said by Jope, you don't need to reinstall, you can change colors or path from scripts, maybe the author in the future will create a Prefs GUI, hopefully
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 February 2021, 12:58   #9
Vesuri
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Amsterdam / The Netherlands
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by 512k View Post
Screenshot?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Radertified View Post
I'd like to see the ability to customize the installation after its been installed.
I'll have it install a separate customize script in a future release!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WHDLoadMenu 0.11.png
Views:	1229
Size:	51.6 KB
ID:	70948  

Last edited by Vesuri; 17 February 2021 at 10:57.
Vesuri is offline  
Old 16 February 2021, 15:38   #10
Radertified
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: -
Posts: 524
Yeah, I've seen you can edit the files manually but that shouldn't be necessary with programs like this

@Vesuri: Thanks, a customizing installer would be great!
Radertified is offline  
Old 16 February 2021, 22:58   #11
wobbly
Registered User
wobbly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 127
great
wobbly is offline  
Old 23 February 2021, 21:25   #12
A500
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Finland
Posts: 46
This looks great, will download!
A500 is offline  
Old 23 February 2021, 23:55   #13
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,740
This looks similar to iGame but seems even more lightweight without the screenshot? Can this be run from shell as it would save a considerable amount of memory for those needing every byte!
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 24 February 2021, 00:20   #14
yelworC
Registered User

yelworC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
This looks similar to iGame but seems even more lightweight without the screenshot? Can this be run from shell as it would save a considerable amount of memory for those needing every byte!
I did not yet try this software, but I am sure, it can be run from shell, since it is meant wo be started from Startup-Sequence where it is of course started from shell

It is designed to be started at the very beginning of the startup-sequence by holding the left mouse button at startup to make sure as much as possible memory is available for the games.
yelworC is offline  
Old 24 February 2021, 10:42   #15
Vesuri
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Amsterdam / The Netherlands
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Can this be run from shell as it would save a considerable amount of memory for those needing every byte!

It can be run from a shell, preferably using the provided runner script. When the user selects the applcation to be started from the menu, the menu generates a script which will run the selected application using WHDLoad. After this the menu itself exits and the runner script runs the generated script. This way the menu itself is not in memory at all when WHDLoad is started, leaving the maximum amount of contiguous memory available for WHDLoad.


It should be noted that by default the script is generated in the WHDLoadMenu installation directory. Executing scripts in AmigaOS also uses T: which also resides on the startup disk unless assigned to RAM:, for instance. Using the disk has the abovementioned advantage of leaving as much contiguous memory available as possible. However, it has the caveat that when using FFS disks the system should only be powered off while not running a game because otherwise the disk could be left in an invalidated state.
Vesuri is offline  
Old 24 February 2021, 12:34   #16
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vesuri View Post
However, it has the caveat that when using FFS disks the system should only be powered off while not running a game because otherwise the disk could be left in an invalidated state.
Just to make sure: PFS does not have this problem?

This is btw an awesome piece of software
emuola is offline  
Old 24 February 2021, 14:07   #17
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by emuola View Post
Just to make sure: PFS does not have this problem?
PFS3 will just forget the temp file in this case.

I recommend doing assign t: ram: though, if you are not absolutely starved for RAM.
Jope is offline  
Old 24 February 2021, 17:57   #18
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
PFS3 will just forget the temp file in this case.

I recommend doing assign t: ram: though, if you are not absolutely starved for RAM.
Thanks Jope
emuola is offline  
Old 25 February 2021, 16:02   #19
K1200RS21
Registered User

K1200RS21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: fRANCE
Posts: 6
So basically this program is there to hide the workbench and show all the games on a list instead?
K1200RS21 is offline  
Old 26 February 2021, 09:41   #20
Vesuri
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Amsterdam / The Netherlands
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by K1200RS21 View Post
So basically this program is there to hide the workbench and show all the games on a list instead?

Yes, it allows you to see the game list without going to the Workbench first. If you switch the computer on and keep the left mouse button pressed, instead of the Workbench the first thing you will see on the screen is [ Show youtube player ] or [ Show youtube player ] (depending on which UI you choose to use).
Vesuri is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10197 seconds with 13 queries