English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 May 2020, 23:37   #1
utukku
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 85
Strange Gotek problem

Guys, got a strange problem, am using a gotek to install workbench onto an A4000D. Formatted a good quality usb stick fat32, and copied just the adf's, install ,workbench, locale etc onto it. The computer boots from the install disk (adf) and I can format the CF card and start the installation.


But when it asks for the workbench disk (adf) although I select it on the gotek, the installation does not see that the disk has changed. I reformatted the stick, re-copied the adf's but still the same.



I even tried a different gotek ( both are flash floppy btw, one V2.13 with oled and rotary switch, the other 2.14 oled with buttons. ). but still the same problem. If I boot from the install adf, and then select a different disk in workbench, I.S turn the dial, workbench does not see a disk change either.

So is it something really simple? something I missed? as I had previously done an install using the same gotek drive.
utukku is offline  
Old 06 May 2020, 00:27   #2
Fastdruid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 144
How have you configured flashfloppy?
Paste the relevant bits of your FF.CFG here

Mine (OLED+Rotary) is as follows (all # lines removed for brevity)


interface = jc
host = unspecified
pin02 = auto
pin34 = auto
write-protect = no
side-select-glitch-filter = 0
track-change = instant
index-suppression = yes
head-settle-ms = 12
motor-delay = ignore
ejected-on-startup = no
image-on-startup = last
display-probe-ms = 3000
autoselect-file-secs = 2
autoselect-folder-secs = 2
folder-sort = always
sort-priority = folders
nav-mode = native
nav-loop = yes
twobutton-action = zero
rotary = full
indexed-prefix = "DSKA"
display-type = auto
oled-font = 6x13
oled-contrast = 143
display-off-secs = 60
display-on-activity = yes
display-scroll-rate = 200
display-scroll-pause = 2000
nav-scroll-rate = 80
nav-scroll-pause = 300
step-volume = 10
da-report-version = ""
extend-image = yes

Last edited by Fastdruid; 06 May 2020 at 00:33.
Fastdruid is offline  
Old 06 May 2020, 06:59   #3
utukku
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 85
Didn't know you had to do this. last time it worked I just plugged it in. But saying that, there is a file called image.cfg with 18 bytes on the memory stick. On opening that with notepad, all it says is: Workbench3_1_4.adf

Last edited by utukku; 06 May 2020 at 07:04.
utukku is offline  
Old 06 May 2020, 10:10   #4
Fastdruid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 144
They are optional, I was wondering if you'd missconfigured it instead. Maybe on the DSKCHNG line (which is one that can be configured).

https://github.com/keirf/FlashFloppy/wiki/Initial-Setup

image.cfg - I believe that is the last image to load.


Have you got a working original floppy drive and some disks to rule out hardware issues with the A4000?
Fastdruid is offline  
Old 06 May 2020, 21:41   #5
utukku
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 85
Problem solved, turns out I needed to use the floppy connector BEFORE the one with the twist in the cable. Done this, and everything is working correctly. Thanks For the help :-)
utukku is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Boot Problem Nishicorn support.Hardware 3 01 February 2020 10:26
Very strange problem Arnie support.WinUAE 5 26 February 2015 20:55
Strange problem ami_junkie support.Hardware 0 30 April 2010 13:06
Strange problem with WB 3.1 on A3000Tower zimgr5 support.Hardware 5 28 March 2009 11:44
Strange ROM problem Eclipse support.WinUAE 3 20 March 2009 18:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10151 seconds with 13 queries