English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 June 2022, 16:14   #1
Aminator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 52
Wordworth problems

Is there a way to get wordworth working on a partition larger than 2gb in workbench 3.1?
You can't even install the program to larger partitions using the original installer, but if you use the installer supplied in OS3.9 you can install the program but it won't run, complaining about missing documents and fonts or something.
Aminator is offline  
Old 20 June 2022, 16:44   #2
christoff522
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Stoke
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminator View Post
Is there a way to get wordworth working on a partition larger than 2gb in workbench 3.1?
You can't even install the program to larger partitions using the original installer, but if you use the installer supplied in OS3.9 you can install the program but it won't run, complaining about missing documents and fonts or something.
Hi, you don't say what system you're using. I know that if you are using WINUAE you can go on the hard drives screen and click limit size of directory drives to 1gb.

If it's on real hardware I have no idea, and I hope someone here can help.
christoff522 is offline  
Old 20 June 2022, 16:47   #3
Aminator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by christoff522 View Post
Hi, you don't say what system you're using. I know that if you are using WINUAE you can go on the hard drives screen and click limit size of directory drives to 1gb.

If it's on real hardware I have no idea, and I hope someone here can help.
I'm using real amiga 1200
Aminator is offline  
Old 20 June 2022, 16:53   #4
christoff522
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Stoke
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminator View Post
I'm using real amiga 1200
Okay, I've thought of an idea.
You could, make an install of workbench in WINUAE, get it perfect and install wordworth on it, then copy the fonts folder and the wordworth install over to your Amiga, I'm guessing that you're using a CF or SD card anyway.

It's only the installer that has the problem and the program will run fine once it's installed.
christoff522 is offline  
Old 20 June 2022, 17:00   #5
Aminator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by christoff522 View Post
Okay, I've thought of an idea.
You could, make an install of workbench in WINUAE, get it perfect and install wordworth on it, then copy the fonts folder and the wordworth install over to your Amiga, I'm guessing that you're using a CF or SD card anyway.

It's only the installer that has the problem and the program will run fine once it's installed.
Installer is not the problem, it's the program wordworth itself, i think the program checks for the partition size somehow and if it's too large it just wont work.
Aminator is offline  
Old 20 June 2022, 17:00   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,545
Which version of WW?
thomas is offline  
Old 20 June 2022, 17:02   #7
Aminator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Which version of WW?
All versions of wordworth seem to have the same problem, but what i want on my system is wordworth 7.
Aminator is offline  
Old 20 June 2022, 17:07   #8
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,052
You can fill up the larger 2GB partition with data to get a little bit less then 2GB free space on that partition. Now the old Installer should work.

You can install on a partition smaller then 2GB or RamDisk. When finished copy the WordWorth directory to the partition/place you want it. All path/prefs must be changed manually.

Remove the drive size check in the install script should also work.

First, check your current (not working) install of WW (version 7.01?) for path settings. E.g. tooltypes on Wordworth.info, ENVARC:Wordworth prefs files. Maybe rename WordworthPrefs and last but not least use SnoopDOS.
daxb is offline  
Old 20 June 2022, 17:11   #9
christoff522
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Stoke
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminator View Post
Installer is not the problem, it's the program wordworth itself, i think the program checks for the partition size somehow and if it's too large it just wont work.
No, I use Wordworth 7 on a 480G partition, it's the installer checking if the partition is over 2G, then it won't install. Whatever the 3.9 installer does it tricks the installation into thinking it's only 1G but for whatever reason that didn't work for you.

So long as you can transfer the necessary files across, then Wordworth will work, once installed it doesn't check partition size, its basically checking if theres enough space to install, once installed it knows it has enough space otherwise it wouldn't be installed so theres no more checks.
christoff522 is offline  
Old 21 June 2022, 00:44   #10
Aminator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
You can fill up the larger 2GB partition with data to get a little bit less then 2GB free space on that partition. Now the old Installer should work.

You can install on a partition smaller then 2GB or RamDisk. When finished copy the WordWorth directory to the partition/place you want it. All path/prefs must be changed manually.

Remove the drive size check in the install script should also work.

First, check your current (not working) install of WW (version 7.01?) for path settings. E.g. tooltypes on Wordworth.info, ENVARC:Wordworth prefs files. Maybe rename WordworthPrefs and last but not least use SnoopDOS.
Filling up the disk method worked for me it seems
Thank you for the advice.
Aminator is offline  
Old 21 June 2022, 15:02   #11
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 769
It would have been easier to install to RAM:, then move the finished directory to your HD. You only have to change a single ENV variable to point to the new location afterwards.
Korodny is offline  
Old 22 June 2022, 08:48   #12
SnoopDOS
Registered User
SnoopDOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
To get round this run WW installer and install to RAM: then move the drawer to your Hard drive
SnoopDOS is offline  
Old 22 June 2022, 11:46   #13
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoopDOS View Post
To get round this run WW installer and install to RAM: then move the drawer to your Hard drive
Did you read the post above yours
indigolemon is offline  
Old 29 June 2022, 09:49   #14
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 9,139
I get around those by commenting out the free space check from the install script. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 29 June 2022, 11:48   #15
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
I get around those by commenting out the free space check from the install script. :-)
Yep - done that one a few times myself recently
indigolemon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wordworth 6 antonvaltaz request.Apps 14 24 April 2011 00:02
Wordworth DDNI request.Apps 14 31 May 2008 10:31
WordWorth 6 Mag1c1an support.Apps 1 29 June 2006 22:21
Wordworth Dave_wb support.Apps 2 16 September 2005 09:50
Wordworth Vicked request.Apps 31 30 March 2004 14:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08777 seconds with 14 queries