English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

Old 06 December 2016, 02:44   #1
LuigiThirty

Question Infinite vertical scrolling

I'm new to Amiga programming and I'm trying to figure out how to write a simple vertical scrolling engine. I have 4 bitplanes tall enough to contain 2 screens worth of 16x16 tiles.

Every frame I move the bitplane pointers in my copperlist up by 1 scanline. When the window reaches the end of the tilemap I move it back down so the bottom half of the tilemap is visible. But I need to do it in a way that it's invisible to the user.

I think what I need to do is blit the next row of tiles both off the top and the bottom of the visible area so that when I reset the bitplane pointers the screen is still showing the same data, right? But when I did that, I couldn't blit the two rows of tiles before running out of time during the frame. Is there some example code floating around I can look at?
Old 06 December 2016, 09:17   #2
alpine9000

http://aminet.net/package/dev/src/ScrollingTrick

Check this out. Explains most of the commonly used scrolling techniques.
Old 06 December 2016, 10:28   #3
roondar

The scrolling trick package on Aminet is great stuff.

Do note that vertical scrolling using the copper-split version of his trick will make getting bobs drawn correctly on the screen harder (and use more CPU time).
Old 06 December 2016, 10:42   #4
DanScott
Lemon. / Core Design

Quote:
Originally Posted by LuigiThirty View Post
I'm new to Amiga programming and I'm trying to figure out how to write a simple vertical scrolling engine. I have 4 bitplanes tall enough to contain 2 screens worth of 16x16 tiles.

Every frame I move the bitplane pointers in my copperlist up by 1 scanline. When the window reaches the end of the tilemap I move it back down so the bottom half of the tilemap is visible. But I need to do it in a way that it's invisible to the user.