English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 December 2014, 17:56   #1
jibanes
 
Posts: n/a
Help installing OWB on classic

Hello,

I'm using UAE and 3.1 on 68020; I've tried to install a descent web browser, and I found the archive "OWB_m68k_1.6.lha"; although when I run owb from the shell I get this error: "owb failed returncode 10".

Do you know what I could be doing wrong? Or perhaps you could point me to another browser (that can render javascript and use ssl).


Thank you
 
Old 12 December 2014, 18:49   #2
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 1,054
spare your time, this isnt decent browser by any means only a half a**ed attempt. neither could nor was ever meant to run properly.

if you want semi decent browser download netsurf 68k from aminet or aros with contributions including aros owb. both should be usable under uae.

Last edited by prowler; 12 December 2014 at 22:36. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
wawa is offline  
Old 12 December 2014, 20:30   #3
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 41
Posts: 1,367
Netsurf 68k even runs (a bit slow by today's standards to display pages, but perfectly usable) on a 66Mhz 060.

I could load Facebook mobile page could use chat function. (I had to reload each time to see if there was a reply to my messages though :P and I had to use my phone or PC to save the browser as trusted since I couldn't do it using Netsurf)

The ppc version using OS4.1 is much faster to load pages (but slower to scroll) but I run out of my 128mb memory really quickly.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 12 December 2014, 21:36   #4
jibanes
 
Posts: n/a
I did try to install it, but being fairly new to AmigaOS I'm not quite sure how to proceed; I did uncompress the lha archive in a directory, but how should I go about being able to run it? A quick help would be really appreciated.

Thank you.
 
Old 13 December 2014, 01:53   #5
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 1,054
for netsurf you need ixemul and ixnet libraries. i dont know if they are currently included. get them here:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/amig....library/63.1/
and put them in your libs: directory.

also you need to
assign netsurf: "put here the path where you decompressed it"
like for instance:
assign netsurf: work:netsurf
you can put the above line into your user-startup to have the assign ready at boot.
wawa is offline  
Old 13 December 2014, 02:48   #6
jibanes
 
Posts: n/a
Thank you Wawa, I'm *almost* there.

I did install ixemul_63.1_m68k from the link you had provided, and, upon opening a "shell" I confirm I have tab completion and other fancy things that weren't there before. I did the "Assign" command, as aforementioned; but upon starting NetSurf; I get the message "Need at least version 63 of ixemul.library". Surprising as I have installed 63.1.

Not sure what to make of this.

EDIT: I had not installed it properly, I have redone this now and ixemul is now properly installed.
When I start NetSurfAGA; it displays "insert disk amiTCP"; what is surprising is that AWEB.1 runs fine (and can connect to the internet) which makes me think amiTCP is already installed, no?

I have found on some forum that one needs bsdsockets or some identical library under linux/e-uae and not amiTCP; I confirm that bsdsocket is enabled in e-uae's configuration; although this doesn't seem to resolve the issue with Netsurf not being able to connect to the network.

Last edited by jibanes; 13 December 2014 at 03:23.
 
Old 13 December 2014, 06:14   #7
jibanes
 
Posts: n/a
Looks like the version I have of NetSurf for m68k doesn't run under e-uae (with bsdsocket) because of a dependency on AmiTCP (which wouldn't work under e-uae); is there a known workaround?
 
Old 13 December 2014, 14:10   #8
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 1,054
yes, this amitcp dependence is rubbish, its somewhere in the resources/config files, you can edit it (out?) but i have forgotten where.
wawa is offline  
Old 13 December 2014, 14:19   #9
jibanes
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by wawa View Post
yes, this amitcp dependence is rubbish, its somewhere in the resources/config files, you can edit it (out?) but i have forgotten where.
Do you mean in the file "Assigns"?

It looks disabled by default:
[...snip...]
;TCP: is needed for getvideo
;Uncomment first mount if you have AmiTCP installed, second otherwise.
;If you use MiamiDX TCP: should be mounted already.

;Mount TCP: from AmiTCP:devs/Inet-Mountlist
;Mount TCP: from L/Inet-Handler
[...snip...]

I can't seem to find another reference for AmiTCP, nothing seems to be configurable in Ressources; unless I'm missing a file.
 
Old 25 December 2014, 12:21   #10
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 599
NetSurf needs AmiTCP:libs/usergroup.library and optionally
AmiTCP:devs/Inet-Mountlist file for GetVideo.

usergroup.library is incuded with NS. Assign AmiTCP: to NetSurf: to fix.
arti is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem installing classic wb 68k in winuae. trydowave support.WinUAE 7 18 September 2013 17:21
Help installing Classic WB 3.9 Synthesize Me project.ClassicWB 3 19 September 2011 11:53
A1200, installing a CF HD and Classic WB Lorfarius New to Emulation or Amiga scene 0 27 January 2010 16:04
Installing M1230 in Classic WB DoneYone project.ClassicWB 17 29 August 2009 19:36
Installing Classic WB onto a CF Card ami_junkie support.Hardware 0 06 March 2008 08:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09526 seconds with 13 queries