English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 August 2021, 21:13   #1
rotacak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CZ
Posts: 45
3 external floppies can affect compatibility?

Hello,

I like to use all external floppies with adf disks for all games. My question is - can it broke some games? Is there any game that will crash when I will use external floppies (even when the game does not support these floppies)?
rotacak is offline  
Old 17 August 2021, 21:28   #2
drHirudo
Amiga user
drHirudo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sofia / Bulgaria
Posts: 332
Each external floppy takes some memory for the buffers etc.. I remember some games refused to work, because of insufficient memory.
That's only incompatibility that I had back in the 1990-ies.
drHirudo is offline  
Old 17 August 2021, 21:37   #3
rotacak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CZ
Posts: 45
Hmm Thanks.
rotacak is offline  
Old 17 August 2021, 21:42   #4
Foebane
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 2,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by drHirudo View Post
Each external floppy takes some memory for the buffers etc.. I remember some games refused to work, because of insufficient memory.
That's only incompatibility that I had back in the 1990-ies.
That shows lack of foresight on the developer's part, especially if their game is stored on several floppies. I would think the more reputable companies took the memory usage of external floppy drives into account, even tested their games themselves on such configurations to even see if their code worked.

I myself had an external floppy drive, cos a very few demos refused to run without one. I don't think I had that many multi-floppy games, but they must've been a breeze to run because otherwise I would remember the disk swapping being a nuisance, and especially worried about the main floppy drive wearing out as a result.
Foebane is offline  
Old 18 August 2021, 11:51   #5
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 3,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by drHirudo View Post
Each external floppy takes some memory for the buffers etc.. I remember some games refused to work, because of insufficient memory.
That's only incompatibility that I had back in the 1990-ies.
Same here BitD with two external floppy drive on my A2000.
To be fair 1MB Chip Ram was a bigger problem for game compatibility. And things did not get any better (nor worse fortunately) when I upgraded for 2MB Chip Ram
malko is offline  
Old 18 August 2021, 12:46   #6
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 1,671
IIRC I remember that a lot of games would not even consider looking into DF1, but would just expect you to put the next floppy to be in DF0.

That seriously limits the usefulness of multiple external drives. Add on top of that that on a plain 500 with 512kb+512kb you also start running into memory issues...

System-friendly games will most certainly work with multiple drives, though.
jbenam is offline  
Old 18 August 2021, 14:01   #7
Tomislav
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Zagreb / Croatia
Posts: 302
Some games wont work because they load at absolute address and that address is what programmer of that game though that is start of free address space. Then, because every expansion and floppy needs additional memory for configuration, game overwrites system data. That's why some games crash, soon or later. Solution is to remove additional floppy drives and/or expansions. That's why exists utility bootblocks which do that software way (removes DF1 and/or Fast memory ...).
Tomislav is offline  
Old 18 August 2021, 17:52   #8
Foebane
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 2,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomislav View Post
Solution is to remove additional floppy drives and/or expansions. That's why exists utility bootblocks which do that software way (removes DF1 and/or Fast memory ...).
I'm well aware of the Amiga Early Startup Control that let you do all manner of things to free up memory, like disabling external drives and even AGA for those games that didn't work on it, but if I recall, my external drive had a physical switch to disable it. I may be wrong though, it was a LOOOONG time ago.
Foebane is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500 - A590 with SCSI2SD or IDE68K? how will mem affect compatibility? Which is best? bugsymalone666 support.Hardware 8 28 December 2017 23:17
Can Capacitors on A1200 affect Keyboard functionality? Amicol support.Hardware 3 09 April 2014 20:31
Does switching to Direct3d mode affect input in anyway? jimmy2x2x support.WinUAE 17 17 April 2011 11:21
DosFellow compatibility list and compatibility of specific games ruffian support.WinFellow 8 24 May 2010 19:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07339 seconds with 13 queries