English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Green Amiga Alien GUIDES

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 January 2022, 00:15   #1561
Amiga-Digital
Registered User
Amiga-Digital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Deventer/Netherlands
Age: 50
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLD-SNaKe View Post
By the way... Testing the new ROM 3.2.1 and update under Amithlon
wow nice , where can i find the smallird.gz with the ks3.2 i like to try if it works with the biostar m7vig board
Amiga-Digital is offline  
Old 15 January 2022, 17:47   #1562
milanca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Serbia and Montenegro
Posts: 81
I got interested by @jdog320 trying to run amithlon within qemu and by the fact that i don't have an amithlon computer and that the latest version of virtualbox just doesn't support it. Multiple reasons to try it with qemu. Looks like there is a problem with ide and i tried with both kern310 and kernel4 but CD doesn't work. Ide controller is piix3 and it is supported by the kernel (otherwise cd won't show up at all). Some problem for sure.

I am bit rusty with setting things up so thanks to @SnkBitten for helping me to set the build environment. I managed to get it working and to start amithlon with CD and both bigird and smallird inside qemu. I was using scsi driver from the kernel. Amithlon is running just fine, both hd and cd attached to the same scsi. I am doing some tests with vmware video card, second attempt, because the first one ended badly :-) It boots fine. There is no accel, just to see to get it initialized first. I will try then to get it accelerated. If anyone is interested I can write how to get it running under qemu (my version is 6.2.0).

All the best and Happy New Year to everybody!
milanca is offline  
Old 15 January 2022, 19:55   #1563
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 56
Posts: 1,861
Hi Milanca and welcome back. Please do share a write up. I'm a keen KVM/Qemu user and would love doing GPU passthrough to Amithlon VM
Methanoid is offline  
Old 15 January 2022, 23:40   #1564
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 745
You can use Virutalbox for Amithlon with all features working (USB, Network, AHI) except for hardware accelerated graphics. You just have to use an older version. "VirtualBox-6.0.24-139119-Win" works perfectly.

https://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/6.0.24/

Just configure it as a DOS based system, 16MB video card, 1 GB ram and IDE drives. Audio setup as ICH AC97 and network depends on the kernel you plan to run.
Kernel4 set your adapter type as Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop and Kernel 3.10 set your adapter type as PCnet-FAST III. I attach it as a bridged adapter on my host computes NIC so I can access my internal stuff (wireless printers, NAS storage, etc..).
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 16 January 2022, 22:47   #1565
milanca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Serbia and Montenegro
Posts: 81
Thanks @SnkBitten. Yes i read in your previous post that it works fine using that version. Unfortunately I can not use it (at least currently) which will require me to downgrade currently installed VBox. As I am a developer by trade I have some projects (some of their parts) which are under vagrant (and virtual box) and segments are on CentOS. I am afraid not to break it. Not sure if it will all go smoothly so I am not keen to risk. That's why I wanted to try it with Qemu.

It is actually not going well with Qemu. I am not able to get any mode other than builtin 640x480, even in vesa, and i tried with all available video devices in qemu which are supported by kernel. Vesa mode is working but only in 640x480. Ati rage 128p was promising but its support looks minimal. I spent a weekend messing up with it, it was fun though, but I'd suggest staying away from amithlon in qemu (which is great by the way). Looks like that amithlon doesn't like virtual video devices at all. Could be that i missed installing something, all amithlon updates are installed. Anyways, if anyone wants to try running amithlon in qemu here is the way I am running it:

Code:
qemu-system-x86_64 -machine type=pc,accel=kvm \
-m 768M -vga vmware \
-device dc390,id=scsi0 \
-device scsi-hd,drive=drive0,bus=scsi0.0,channel=0,scsi-id=0 \
-drive file=path-to-hdd-image.vdi,format=vdi,if=none,id=drive0 \
-device scsi-cd,drive=drive1,bus=scsi0.0,channel=0,scsi-id=1 \
-drive file=path-to-cd-image.iso,if=none,id=drive1
Here I am using image from virtualbox(which is supported) so the format is vdi. So make sure to use appropriate format, raw,qcow,etc.

The way drives are added to scsi
Code:
-device dc390,id=scsi0 <-- here we set scsi device id=scsi0
-device scsi-hd,drive=drive0,bus=scsi0.0,channel=0,scsi-id=0 <-- here we set scsi hd drive=drive0
-drive file=path-to-hdd-image.vdi,format=vdi,if=none,id=drive0 <-- attach image to drive0
Kernel to use for qemu is attached.

Best
Attached Files
File Type: zip kernel41a.zip (752.0 KB, 11 views)

Last edited by milanca; 16 January 2022 at 22:48. Reason: forgot to attach
milanca is offline  
Old Today, 00:42   #1566
milanca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Serbia and Montenegro
Posts: 81
I said I shouldn't be messing up with qemu-amithlon, at least not for now, and I am not. I am just bringing up an idea that could, theoretically speaking (but we have so many examples that it is not just backed up by theory) open new way of running Amithlon. Qemu is just great and I am impressed with all its features. Exploring it recently, I came across a feature and had an idea to use it for Amithlon. Its been out for quite some time and I see new opportunity for amithlon users with it, IOMMU, PCI passthrough, and its implemented in Qemu, VBox, etc. Our only problem for all this time was the graphics, generally speaking. Amithlon requires real hardware, video card, real registers for hw acceleration. Any other component we can easily emulate, sound, controllers, and so on, all but the graphics. This way we can build and run (hopefully, as it is still an idea to be worked out) on any modern hardware having fast cpu. All we need to have is another, pci video card, that is nicely supported in Amithlon. What do you guys think about this?

For those who don't know what pci passthrough is, it is a feature which allows a pci device on a bus to be passed to a guest OS with all its features and possibilities. Guest system has full control of a device like it was present in it. Think of it like this, FX5500 PCI passed to Amithlon and 'it is' fully in control of amithlon. There are small adapters pci-x 2 pci, with one or more pci slots. The steps to achieve this are not that hard and there are lots of howtos. In simple words a device we wish to pass through is found by the host kernel but not initialized (the system doesn't take control over it, loads driver ..) instead it is assigned to another layer. From that layer and using Qemu for example we pass it to our guest os which has exclusive access to it. That is why we need to configure device, load iommu module, prevent guest os from taking over the device, and finally pass it to guest os. Sounds interesting ??

Best regards!
milanca is offline  
Old Today, 14:41   #1567
amigamia
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Chesapeake USA
Posts: 30
That is a genius idea! I have always wondered for a feature like that but for the CPU instead. For example, running UAE on a PPC Mac (G5 for speed) and use a pass-through to the CPU from guest to host to let Amiga OS 4 run on it. So, running OS 4 at least for CPU is is a native execution while the rest is emulated (sound, etc.)
I think qemu has great potential and if this IOMMU feature works, it is going to be a great refresher for Amithlon.
amigamia is offline  
Old Today, 15:45   #1568
Korban
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
PCI passthrough wont work.
The gpu needs hardware to support it and nothing Amithon supports is recent enough to support iommu.
Korban is offline  
Old Today, 16:05   #1569
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 56
Posts: 1,861
Really? PCI passthrough will pass through any PCI or pcie GPU. Fx5200 will work. I would not be surprised if PCIE versions also since all PCIE cards appear as PCI cards
Methanoid is offline  
Old Today, 16:26   #1570
milanca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Serbia and Montenegro
Posts: 81
I personally think that this new approach of running amithlon has indeed a great potential. If it all turns out well it can be another great way of running it besides the classical way. User can run it on a modern, the latest hardware, in the same manner we use uae today. No need for a dedicated desktop just for amithlon. One can connect passed video card to a second monitor and have it displayed there, it is running really nice, beautiful thing. Items ordered from aliexpress usually travel around 30 days to my place. I think I have an old matrox pci card which can be used for a pilot project until I get fx5500 pci. Also pci-e->pci bridge adapter I'll need to buy so I can give it a try.
I've seen a post where ati rage 128 is passed to G4 PPC within Qemu and it is running great, so why wouldn't be applied to amithlon in the same way. Not sure, I think it was Tiger 10.4, but the point is the video card is running natively. I don't have much free time but when I get pci bridge adapter I will give it a go one weekend.

@Methanoid, yes of course, why not:-) You can't pass through your primary video card but you could try with pci-e fx5200 if its in another pci-x slot. After enabling iommu module there is a small script which finds devices and iommu groups telling you which devices and groups can be passed through.
milanca is offline  
Old Today, 16:29   #1571
milanca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Serbia and Montenegro
Posts: 81
@Korban, why do you think so? We need to pass through a device which amithlon supports. If 5200 can be passed, it is supported, i see no reason why it shouldn't work. From what I've seen, ati rage 128 pro can be passed definitely and it can also work under amithlon.
milanca is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My first guide - Drakkhen leveling guide Fragger Nostalgia & memories 2 08 April 2010 22:35
Amithlon / AHI Sound Configuration Guide? dframeli New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 11 September 2009 23:51
Amithlon-Guide / PDF-version Paul News 0 10 March 2006 16:43
Amithlon Peter Leyland Amiga scene 1 11 February 2003 03:43
Amithlon eldiablo10 support.WinUAE 6 20 September 2001 20:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13113 seconds with 15 queries