English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 August 2007, 00:47   #1
Wotan
 
Posts: n/a
WinUAE Paused

Hello,

I have been using WinUAE for many years, it's a fantasic program. SInce the last couple of updates i am having a problem. When run in Windowed mode, it appears to go into a 'pause' mode. Once the focus has been taken off the window the screen updates, and then stops again, take the focus off the window and the screen updates again. Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks
 
Old 04 August 2007, 12:26   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,231
Check settings in priority panel. Another possibility is weird display driver combined with RGB overlays, try ticking "Don't use RGB overlays" in misc panel.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 05 August 2007, 20:00   #3
Wotan
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks Toni, it was the RGB Overlays.

Cheers
 
Old 03 December 2021, 12:03   #4
Umpal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: DR
Posts: 25
When I run Oracle's VirtualBox (with Windows 7 running), my WinUAE (v4.4.0 64-bit on Windows 10 64-bit) instance pauses and I can't unpause it (I've tried the priority thing but it doesn't help). It used to work before without a problem. It might work for a while (I mean switching between Windows and back to WinUAE) but recently it became a nightmare — the only thing I can do is to quit from WinUAE (the F12 menu usually works but sometimes all is unresponsive and I have to kill the task).
Any idea what is going on?

Update: A fresh discovery. If I switch a couple of times clicking once on the emulated Windows 7 under VirtualBox and on WinUAE it eventually gets unpaused. Then again if I click outside WinUAE it pauses and can't be unpaused. Repeating the process by clicking a couple of times between the VirtualBox screen and back on WinUAE unpauses it again. Really strange behavior.


One more thing. None of my priority scenario has "Pause emulation" enabled.
Click image for larger version

Name:	2021-12-03_111909.png
Views:	48
Size:	21.8 KB
ID:	73985

Update 2: Tried also on WinUAE 4.2.1 — same behavior.

Last edited by Umpal; 03 December 2021 at 12:27.
Umpal is offline  
Old 04 December 2021, 20:12   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,231
Try with -log command line parameter. When it pauses, does anything appear in the log window?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 December 2021, 13:01   #6
Umpal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: DR
Posts: 25
Logs attached.
Today I discovered another anomaly. When I start WinUAE (it can be even just plain kick 1.3 screen with the basic configuration), minimize it on the taskbar, and then click on the icon in the systray, it becomes unresponsive and icons on menus of different Windows programs start blinking like crazy (and the system acts strangely until I kill the WinUAE process).

Click image for larger version

Name:	2021-12-08_115534.png
Views:	25
Size:	14.2 KB
ID:	74017

Log files
1 - this is taken with the VirtualBox in the background and mentioned pauses.
2 & 3 - Issue with the systray click (2 - advanced configuration, 3 - kick 1.3)
WinUAE_logs.zip
Umpal is offline  
Old 08 December 2021, 13:04   #7
Umpal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: DR
Posts: 25
OK, those logs above were taken from the file WinUAE creates automatically.
This is with the -log parameter:

Click image for larger version

Name:	2021-12-08_120300.png
Views:	36
Size:	29.5 KB
ID:	74019

And it keeps scrolling until I kill the WinUAE task.
Umpal is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RTG window not refreshed when WinUAE is paused and restored mark_k support.WinUAE 0 10 February 2012 19:36
WinUAE 0.9.92 "WinUAE 1.0 public beta #3" Released! Jim News 2 23 December 2004 12:29
WinUAE - HD, and WinUAE Beats me Mr.B support.WinUAE 19 26 October 2003 18:49
WinUAE 0817r3-GUI dissappears/ WinUAE freezes. 7-Zark-7 support.WinUAE 2 23 December 2001 15:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12082 seconds with 15 queries