English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 July 2021, 19:21   #1
alancfrancis
Registered User

alancfrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Scotland
Posts: 133
Speedball 2, A1200

Howdy folks.

I've had my A1200 (recapped, P5 030 with 128Mb) for over a year and have mostly been programming for it, never tried a game.

I just took the urge to play Speedball2 as it was one of my favourites from 199x and so bought on eBay Speedball and Speedball2 disks and a Quickshot joystick.

Speedball is marked as "for the A1000, A500 and A2000", Speedball2 just says "amiga".

On booting from the floppies Speedball does, essentially nothing. Screen goes blank (like SCART TV cuts off no signal) and it just sits there.

Speedball2 boots to the music and titles, and I can even get to the menus and into the initial "armor loadout" screen, but as soon as a game starts (even demo game) the screen again cuts out and it just sits there.

I know I can disable the P5 board by holding 2, so I've tried that and no joy. Though it occurred to me that disabling the board means no Fast RAM, only 2Mb chip.

Is this a known issue? Is there anything I need to do to make this work? Is it just that I need to find a special AGA version ? I'm sure I played Speedball2 on my A1200 back in the nineties (though I had a 500 before that so maybe am misremembering).

Any suggestions welcome.... I'm not really bothegred about Speedball, Its SB2 that I really want to get working.

Alan
alancfrancis is offline  
Old 12 July 2021, 19:24   #2
alancfrancis
Registered User

alancfrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Scotland
Posts: 133
I also noticed that Speedball Disk is copyright 1991, whereas SB2 is 1990, which seems odd.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1091.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	1.01 MB
ID:	72529  
alancfrancis is offline  
Old 12 July 2021, 19:36   #3
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 12,266
This Speedball 1 version is a budget re-release as it seems.


For Speedball 2: There are AGA fixed versions. Download a version labeled with [f AGA].


http://www.oldgamesfinder.com/?q=Speedball+2&m=-3

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 12 July 2021 at 19:48.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 July 2021, 19:39   #4
alancfrancis
Registered User

alancfrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Scotland
Posts: 133
Good lord thats a lot of options :-) So I pick one of those (non-CD32) ADFs and burn to a floppy ?
alancfrancis is offline  
Old 12 July 2021, 19:42   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 12,266
Yep, should work fine. Unless the turbocard causes some trouble. I don't know for sure.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 July 2021, 19:43   #6
alancfrancis
Registered User

alancfrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Scotland
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Yep, should work fine. Unless the turbocard causes some trouble. I don't know for sure.
Thanks! Will give it a go.
alancfrancis is offline  
Old 12 July 2021, 20:13   #7
alancfrancis
Registered User

alancfrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Scotland
Posts: 133
Yay! thanks so much.
alancfrancis is offline  
Old 12 July 2021, 20:17   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 12,266
So, it works? Then have fun.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 July 2021, 21:17   #9
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,842
Might be better off with a CF Card + IDE adapter, prep it as a HDD and install WB to it then use WHDLoad!! If you already have a HDD setup then just install WHDLoad and use the WHDLoad installers to install those originals to HDD!
BarryB is offline  
Old 12 July 2021, 21:32   #10
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,399
Speedball 2 cracked DC f aga works fine.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 12 July 2021, 21:42   #11
alancfrancis
Registered User

alancfrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Scotland
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Speedball 2 cracked DC f aga works fine.
Just a bit confused as I was sure I had played it on an A1200 back in the day but I must be misremembering.
alancfrancis is offline  
Old 12 July 2021, 21:44   #12
alancfrancis
Registered User

alancfrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Scotland
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Might be better off with a CF Card + IDE adapter, prep it as a HDD and install WB to it then use WHDLoad!! If you already have a HDD setup then just install WHDLoad and use the WHDLoad installers to install those originals to HDD!
Every single time I have tried to look at WHDLoad I just get confused. Since I mostly use the Amiga for programming I'm not *that* bothered. There were just a couple of games I remember enjoying - SB2, Alien Breed, New Zealand Story - so was looking to just buy floppies on eBay for occasional play.
alancfrancis is offline  
Old 12 July 2021, 22:23   #13
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 50
Posts: 6,295
if you have a hard drive, running games with whdload is very simple, specially if you download pre-installed packs. The icon of the packs are associated to "c:whdload", so just download packs, download whdload, install whdload in C: and enjoy.
jotd is online now  
Old 12 July 2021, 22:45   #14
alancfrancis
Registered User

alancfrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Scotland
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
if you have a hard drive, running games with whdload is very simple, specially if you download pre-installed packs. The icon of the packs are associated to "c:whdload", so just download packs, download whdload, install whdload in C: and enjoy.
I can never figure out if it’s pirated games or if I need floppies of the games or what. I feel ok with my now cracked speedball2 because I bought an original, but really I bought it off some bloke on eBay so it’s not like the bitmap brothers get money from my purchase.

I’m morally conflicted ?
alancfrancis is offline  
Old 12 July 2021, 23:20   #15
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by alancfrancis View Post
Just a bit confused as I was sure I had played it on an A1200 back in the day but I must be misremembering.
Several fixed versions appeared soon after people realised it was the copy protection that stopped it working.

Unfortunately the most popular crack by Crystal still utilised the original protection routines which worked fine on a500, but not on a1200.

Also I did a cover disk patch for Amiga Format which is maybe where you remember it from
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 13 July 2021, 00:20   #16
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,842
Quote:
Also I did a cover disk patch for Amiga Format which is maybe where you remember it from
Amiga Format Issue 49 (Page 7) & patches are on Coverdisk 49!
BarryB is offline  
Old 13 July 2021, 00:55   #17
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Amiga Format Issue 49 (Page 7) & patches are on Coverdisk 49!
Stardust issue if memory serves me right

Bitmaps were not happy about that fix lol
Galahad/FLT is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speedball 2 from floppy on a A1200? emuola support.Games 5 18 January 2017 21:50
WHICH IS BEST? Speedball vs Speedball 2 (Amiga) ZEUSDAZ Retrogaming General Discussion 13 18 May 2016 15:32
Speedball 2 help niMic support.Games 20 15 June 2005 03:04
Speedball TheFoxSoft Nostalgia & memories 55 09 March 2005 16:10
If you liked Speedball... Shadowfire Nostalgia & memories 5 10 October 2002 09:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09139 seconds with 16 queries