English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 February 2013, 02:19   #1
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 42
Posts: 1,460
Adjustable size for masks

Hi Toni,

I had big fun with my Amiga 500 connected to a CRT TV, that was in the nineties, and now that I found WinUAE I always try to use it with any sorts of settings to make it feels like that old configuration.

Today WinUAE has a PAL filter very similar to that of VICE (a big thank you for this!) and I use it with one of the special masks downloadable from your site. It ressembles the limitations and peculiarities of the display device that I used, and I have much, much fun with it.

The only problem is that when I run WinUAE in fullscreen, the Amiga screen pixels are scaled while the mask is not in the necessary proportions. This is a problem for high-res interlaced pixels, that is just what I use in Workbench all time.

The result is that there is a very big loss of brightness in the image and loss of perceived resolution, which is already small, since we are dealing with pixels scaled to match analog resolutions.

I and everyone that does the same as me, would benefit much if WinUAE allowed the adjustment of the size of the mask and the alpha value of the picture that is used to fill and blend the screen. Another peculiarity are rounded display corners, as you said that would like to try, would be nice too.

Dont be afraid if it will not look "perfect", after all, the entire video-game era started with games with blocky images and noisy sound, and it was fun for everyone. And even today, its not perfect! It doesnt need to be perfect to ressemble something or to be fun.

But the main interested is you.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 15 February 2013 at 03:17.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 15 February 2013, 18:33   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,102
Masks probably also need "before" and "after" update but unfortunately this won't be as easy as recent shader "before"/"after" update.

Alpha comes from mask, just edit it with some alpha-capable image editor
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 February 2013, 05:02   #3
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 42
Posts: 1,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Masks probably also need "before" and "after" update but unfortunately this won't be as easy as recent shader "before"/"after" update.

Alpha comes from mask, just edit it with some alpha-capable image editor
Thanks, Toni, I think that will not be necessary. Maybe I should use another mask or make my own. Its simpler.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LUCAS & FRANCES Boards, PAL Code & PCB Masks Kai Hardware mods 173 29 October 2017 19:35
Sites with Intensity Masks Or Even Some Shaders... Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 3 16 February 2013 06:38
Overlays + masks greyed out, cannot be selected. Morris Schæffer support.WinUAE 4 06 January 2012 21:57
Winuae feature- adjustable autofire wlcina request.UAE Wishlist 1 02 January 2010 18:33
clean 2xscale with adjustable scanlines? Lomaxx support.WinUAE 1 07 June 2005 19:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06094 seconds with 13 queries