English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2011, 18:05   #1
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,734
Crunchers that support overlays?

Do any Amiga crunchers support exe files with overlays?

Been trying to put some of my 2 disk games onto 1 disk using crmdata, rtdd and crunchmania just for something to do over the holidays but came across 'BarGames' and the exe won't crunch in any cruncher I have like Crunchmania, Imploder, StoneCracker, Titanics Cruncher or PowerPacker as it has overlays.

It's probably a rare occurance but can these type of files actually be crunched? I'm not a coder either so that don't help, and also losing contact with an old workmate 'DanSan' who was a pretty good amiga coder too doesn't help either
BarryB is offline  
Old 27 December 2011, 21:50   #2
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,219
Titanics was supposed to do overlays
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 27 December 2011, 22:13   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,080
Overlays can't be compressed easily because overlay handling magic comes with the executable ("overlay supervisor") which would need patching by the cruncher. (DOS only handles overlay hunk loading, everything else was done by the custom supervisor code)

Some crunchers can compress overlayed executables but only first "normal" hunk(s), overlayed part is simply appended at the end of compressed file, in unpacked form.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 27 December 2011, 23:46   #4
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,734
I tried Titanics Cruncher based on that Galahad, but obviously as Toni has explained overlay files are not cut and dried executables meaning I'm better off forgetting about them
BarryB is offline  
Old 28 December 2011, 00:06   #5
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,265
What Titanics does is create an actual overlay executable out of your regular load file. This is how it can print its decrunching text immediately when you run it, before it starts loading and decrunching the rest of the file. It's pretty neat but I don't think there's much speed to gain from using it unless you're running off of some DMA capable device such as the floppy drive.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 06 March 2017, 23:59   #6
kamelito
Zone Friend

kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,433
is it possible to modify a program that do have overlay hunk and replace them by normal hunk and so have it loading fully like non overlay ones?
Kamelito
kamelito is offline  
Old 07 March 2017, 00:38   #7
ross
Defendit numerus

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 51
Posts: 3,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamelito View Post
is it possible to modify a program that do have overlay hunk and replace them by normal hunk and so have it loading fully like non overlay ones?
Kamelito
Yes, is possible but very difficult.
Overlay file is in "open format": You can manage overlayed part as you like.
There is some 'standard' but you can simply make your own..
You have to disassemble the loader/overlay manager and understand it, then rewrite with something that 'use' the normal loaded new hunk structure (that logically occupy more space in memory).

ross is offline  
Old 07 March 2017, 09:28   #8
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,359
There's also CRUa that support overlay http://aminet.net/package/util/pack/cru14b with much better compression than Titanics Cruncher
Frog is offline  
Old 07 March 2017, 10:15   #9
ross
Defendit numerus

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 51
Posts: 3,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frog View Post
There's also CRUa that support overlay http://aminet.net/package/util/pack/cru14b with much better compression than Titanics Cruncher
Hi Frog, Kamilito question was different.
Not a packer that use overlay but packer that crunch overlay (see original topic).
And I think that this packer is practically impossible to make.

Bye!
ross is offline  
Old 07 March 2017, 12:58   #10
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,359
Hi Ross,
Thank you for this precision which actually brought me a better understanding of the question.
After reading quickly the documentation i read "OVERLAYS are NOT supported."

Regards
Frog is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
crunchers with c and asm sources xxxxx Coders. General 46 22 August 2019 09:20
How to disable floppy overlays? nexusle support.FS-UAE 3 17 January 2013 13:16
Old crunchers absence Coders. General 3 25 June 2012 19:47
WinUAE 2.4.0 Overlays Borked Kitty support.WinUAE 24 10 May 2012 09:39
Overlays + masks greyed out, cannot be selected. Morris Schæffer support.WinUAE 4 06 January 2012 21:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09251 seconds with 14 queries