English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language

Old 12 January 2017, 23:10   #1
-Acid-

What C compiler to use?

Hi guys

I've never done any coding at all before (well except some basic cobol back in the early 90's) and want to make a start learning the basics on AGA Amigas. I intend to work through two books I have to begin with, Complete Amiga C by Cliff Ramshaw and Amiga C for Beginners by Abacus.

Which is the most suitable compiler that I should use these days? beyond the basics my opening goals are to create simple GUI launching programs to begin with (nothing too ambitious lol).

Any pointers would be great but remember.... complete beginner so keep it simple for me
Old 12 January 2017, 23:51   #2
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Best suggestion would be to see if you can get the compiler which the books reference.

On the Amiga, probably easiest would be SAS/C.

For me, I use vbcc, cross-compiling under windows.
There is a native version for the amiga, but I like to use my familiar development environment.
Old 13 January 2017, 00:02   #3
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Here is a post which has a setup vbcc toolchain for windows, if that helps

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...highlight=VBCC
Old 13 January 2017, 00:04   #4
matthey
Banned

"Amiga C for Beginners" uses Lattice C which became SAS/C. The latest version of this compiler is not free, no longer updated and comes without documentation but can be found (maybe even on this forum) if searching. It is probably your best bet on a real Amiga with low resources (CPU, memory and HD). Vbcc is a more modern C compiler which would suffice if you have the resources. It is easy to install for the Amiga, documentation is online, it is free for personal use and it is still developed.

http://sun.hasenbraten.de/vbcc/
Old 13 January 2017, 00:05   #5
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vairn View Post
On the Amiga, probably easiest would be SAS/C.
Old 13 January 2017, 00:24   #6