English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 August 2018, 21:41   #1
aszu
Registered User
 
aszu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Leeds
Posts: 141
Question RedPill - Support / Help / Tutorials

i gave it a try and it looks really impressive!

quick question:
i have managed to play an anim when player moves. how do i continuously
play an anim when player is not moving/idle (like when he is bored and does sth waiting for player to play), ie id like to plan an anim of player smoking cig, when he is idle?
aszu is offline  
Old 02 September 2018, 10:43   #2
Yoz Montana
Registered User
 
Yoz Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by aszu View Post
i gave it a try and it looks really impressive!

quick question:
i have managed to play an anim when player moves. how do i continuously
play an anim when player is not moving/idle (like when he is bored and does sth waiting for player to play), ie id like to plan an anim of player smoking cig, when he is idle?
Make a condition :
[ input Left/Up/Right/Down ] [Pressed] [ Player 1] | var0 = 0

[ input Left/Up/Right/Down ] [Not Pressed] [ Player 1] | [ Play anim ] ["bored/waiting for player"]
var0 = number of your choice for playing animation
Yoz Montana is offline  
Old 03 September 2018, 16:54   #3
aszu
Registered User
 
aszu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Leeds
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoz Montana View Post
Make a condition :
[ input Left/Up/Right/Down ] [Pressed] [ Player 1] | var0 = 0

[ input Left/Up/Right/Down ] [Not Pressed] [ Player 1] | [ Play anim ] ["bored/waiting for player"]
var0 = number of your choice for playing animation
Great, it worked!

And how would i play animation just once when [input] is pressed? when player comes down from platform, anim is played in a loop, but i'd like to play it just once.

Can you check PM, please?

EDITED:

I have managed to do it:

[not grounded]
[speed y] [<>] [0] [play anim] [ jump]

Last edited by aszu; 03 September 2018 at 19:26.
aszu is offline  
Old 03 September 2018, 23:53   #4
aszu
Registered User
 
aszu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Leeds
Posts: 141
What I would ask for, is tutorial, how to add enemies (including random in random places) and collision tutorial, please.
aszu is offline  
Old 04 September 2018, 11:35   #5
Yoz Montana
Registered User
 
Yoz Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by aszu View Post
Great, it worked!

And how would i play animation just once when [input] is pressed? when player comes down from platform, anim is played in a loop, but i'd like to play it just once.

Can you check PM, please?

EDITED:

I have managed to do it:

[not grounded]
[speed y] [<>] [0] [play anim] [ jump]
Hi aszu,

make a condition with var :
var0 = 0 | PlayAnim Anim0 (player platform or grounded)

Not Grounded | var0 = 1

var0 = 1 | PlayAnim Anim1 (when player comes down from platform)

Anim finishe Anim1 | Stop Anim or Anim of your choice

If you have any question, send in this thread.
All users will benefit from this sharing of knowledge.
Yoz Montana is offline  
Old 07 September 2018, 13:58   #6
aszu
Registered User
 
aszu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Leeds
Posts: 141
as there is no proper tutorial, maybe apart from 1-2, it would be better to post screenshots as well. could you do it for your last post, please?

Also what about enemies? how to insert enemies at random places (ie on platform, between x=70 and x=120)?
aszu is offline  
Old 07 September 2018, 15:47   #7
Yoz Montana
Registered User
 
Yoz Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by aszu View Post
as there is no proper tutorial, maybe apart from 1-2, it would be better to post screenshots as well. could you do it for your last post, please?

Also what about enemies? how to insert enemies at random places (ie on platform, between x=70 and x=120)?
Triggers RedPill - Jumping with different animation sequence
Triggers_jump.zip

About ennemies, there are not function in RedPill to do it !
In my knowledge, the Random Object Generator has not yet been created in Redpill.

Use var to create function for your ennemies hide and visible.
Yoz Montana is offline  
Old 07 September 2018, 17:43   #8
aszu
Registered User
 
aszu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Leeds
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoz Montana View Post
Triggers RedPill - Jumping with different animation sequence
Attachment 59720

About ennemies, there are not function in RedPill to do it !
In my knowledge, the Random Object Generator has not yet been created in Redpill.

Use var to create function for your ennemies hide and visible.
Shame What about just moving an enemy horizontally, ie 50 px both to the left and right sided?

I have found examples using [freetile] but im not really sure how it works and if there is any other way to do it.
aszu is offline  
Old 07 September 2018, 18:41   #9
aszu
Registered User
 
aszu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Leeds
Posts: 141
I have managed to do it:

trigger1:
[once] [set speed x][2]
[set var] [var1][0]
trigger2:
[var1][=][30] [set speed x][-2]
trigger3:
[speed x][>][0] [inc var] [var1][1]
trigger4:
[speed x][<][0] [inc var] [var1][-1]
trigger5:
[var1][=][-30] [set speed x][2]


Question:

How would i make enemy appear at certain time, let's say an enemy appears every 30 sec?
aszu is offline  
Old 09 September 2018, 11:56   #10
Yoz Montana
Registered User
 
Yoz Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by aszu View Post
I have managed to do it:

trigger1:
[once] [set speed x][2]
[set var] [var1][0]
trigger2:
[var1][=][30] [set speed x][-2]
trigger3:
[speed x][>][0] [inc var] [var1][1]
trigger4:
[speed x][<][0] [inc var] [var1][-1]
trigger5:
[var1][=][-30] [set speed x][2]


Question:

How would i make enemy appear at certain time, let's say an enemy appears every 30 sec?
"An enemy appears every 30 sec" : It depending of frame par second.


Use 2 objects invisible : [obj_A] [obj_B]

[obj_A] _________ here your ennemy ___________ [obj_B]

For clarity, name the variables globally according to their uses.

Make enemy change direction, use a global variable named Direction :
Globals :
[ Direction ] [ NUMBER ] [ 0 ]

Ennemy trigger :
[ Direction ] [ = ] [ 0 ] | [ Set Speed X ] [ 2 ]
[ Direction ] [ = ] [ 1 ] | [ Set Speed X ] [ -2 ]
[ Collides Obj ] [ obj_A ] | [ Set Direction ] [ = ] [ 0 ]
[ Collides Obj ] [ obj_B ] | [ Set Direction ] [ = ] [ 1 ]

Make enemy appear at certain time, use a global variable named Time :
Globals :
[ Time ] [ NUMBER ] [ 0 ]

Ennemy trigger:
[ Direction ] [ = ] [ 0 ] | [ Set Visible ] [ False ]
[ Direction ] [ = ] [ 1 ] | [ inc var ] [ Time ] [ 1 ]
[ Time ] [ = ] [ 30 ] | [ Set Visible ] [ True ]

-
Yoz Montana is offline  
Old 09 September 2018, 12:06   #11
DamienD
Banned
 
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 47
Posts: 20,420
Maybe I should move all help / usage related posts to a new thread and leave this one for RedPill updates?

What do you think guys?
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 September 2018, 12:45   #12
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!
 
Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterville, MN, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 2,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Maybe I should move all help / usage related posts to a new thread and leave this one for RedPill updates?

What do you think guys?
Works for me.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 12 September 2018, 17:05   #13
aszu
Registered User
 
aszu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Leeds
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
Works for me.
Good idea, indeed.
aszu is offline  
Old 12 September 2018, 18:31   #14
aszu
Registered User
 
aszu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Leeds
Posts: 141
@yoz_montana

Have a look at this clip, please:

[ Show youtube player ]


I came across sth I don't know how to solve. Shooting show on this video shows what I mean. If the player is static (not moving) shot goes with no problem and the shot anim is played with no problems.
If player keeps moving right or left, then you can see the result. The shooting anim is not played properly and the player is not moving anymore but the walking anim is still played.
you can see triggers right at the end of the clip

and btw, big thanks for all the help
aszu is offline  
Old 12 September 2018, 23:42   #15
aszu
Registered User
 
aszu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Leeds
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by aszu View Post
@yoz_montana

Have a look at this clip, please:

[ Show youtube player ]


I came across sth I don't know how to solve. Shooting show on this video shows what I mean. If the player is static (not moving) shot goes with no problem and the shot anim is played with no problems.
If player keeps moving right or left, then you can see the result. The shooting anim is not played properly and the player is not moving anymore but the walking anim is still played.
you can see triggers right at the end of the clip

and btw, big thanks for all the help
I have done it, using another var to set up when player fires shot, stopping anim in the same trigger and another one playing anim and setting [speed x][0] so hero does not move. sorted.
aszu is offline  
Old 15 September 2018, 09:19   #16
Yoz Montana
Registered User
 
Yoz Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by aszu View Post
I have done it, using another var to set up when player fires shot, stopping anim in the same trigger and another one playing anim and setting [speed x][0] so hero does not move. sorted.
Great !

In part Conditions : Use trigger [ idle ] in Cathegory [ Cinematic ] when the player don't move.

In part Action : your animation or var countdown to active animation in defined time

Last edited by Yoz Montana; 15 September 2018 at 12:17.
Yoz Montana is offline  
Old 05 May 2020, 21:15   #17
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
 
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 828
I'm triyng redpill since 2 days.
I've understood basic triggers, tiles, level, animation with differents videos/projects but i have a problem with sprite sheet.
I've seen that max width is 384 px
I try to import a Chaos engine sprite sheet that was converted from png to iff
And when i load the sheet and try to slice sprites in auto mode, WinUAE reboot
I've tried to auto slice sprite with sprite sheet from embedded projects and it works without problem
I've tried with different png to iff converted sprite sheet and it's the same, reboot or hangs
Is there some limitations about format/palette/colors that i need to know to make it work.
My project is AGA 256 color with latest Redpill & Winuae with 68040 and Cycle Exact

The program itself seems quite easy to use and will have more features to come, that's sound good. Well done !
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Amiga Chaos.png
Views:	198
Size:	9.0 KB
ID:	67215  

Last edited by Rochabian; 05 May 2020 at 21:23.
Rochabian is offline  
Old 06 May 2020, 21:08   #18
Zener
Registered User
 
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochabian View Post
I'm triyng redpill since 2 days.
I've understood basic triggers, tiles, level, animation with differents videos/projects but i have a problem with sprite sheet.
I've seen that max width is 384 px
I try to import a Chaos engine sprite sheet that was converted from png to iff
And when i load the sheet and try to slice sprites in auto mode, WinUAE reboot
I've tried to auto slice sprite with sprite sheet from embedded projects and it works without problem
I've tried with different png to iff converted sprite sheet and it's the same, reboot or hangs
Is there some limitations about format/palette/colors that i need to know to make it work.
My project is AGA 256 color with latest Redpill & Winuae with 68040 and Cycle Exact

The program itself seems quite easy to use and will have more features to come, that's sound good. Well done !
Sorry, I've totally missed this thread. The image when converted to IFF, probably has a wrong chroma color. The background color must be in position 0 of the palette, check this is the case.

Otherwise it is trying to create a sprite with the full image.
Zener is offline  
Old 06 May 2020, 21:23   #19
Zener
Registered User
 
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 432
Adding enemies is easy, but it requires some knowledge

Add an object, your enemy object, make it visible. And disable the checkmark that says STATIC.

Static are objects that are unique objects
Non static objets are objects that can be Instantiated multiple times.

Once you have this you can go to Level screen and add many of them (look right in the menu)

Second step is adding them randomly.
Create another object, change width and height to make it bigger.
Now make a new trigger, with action Instantiate and with parameter the enemy object you created previously. It will create enemies inside the object area.

You can try it, it will pop out a lot of enemies without control.

Third step it to control the instantiate timing, there are several ways to do it.
For example you can go to vars, and set a timer variable. Set a time there, I think it works with miliseconds.
The modify your trigger to have the condition X var triggered, with parameter the timer variable.
Add a second trigger with condition Once, and action Activate timer , with the timer as parameter. Add this action to the first trigger too, to make it loop.

I can make a video explaining it, you can also take a look at the Galaga example, Spawner object works this way.




Quote:
Originally Posted by aszu View Post
I have managed to do it:

trigger1:
[once] [set speed x][2]
[set var] [var1][0]
trigger2:
[var1][=][30] [set speed x][-2]
trigger3:
[speed x][>][0] [inc var] [var1][1]
trigger4:
[speed x][<][0] [inc var] [var1][-1]
trigger5:
[var1][=][-30] [set speed x][2]


Question:

How would i make enemy appear at certain time, let's say an enemy appears every 30 sec?
Zener is offline  
Old 06 May 2020, 21:28   #20
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
 
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 828
Ok. Thanks fo the explanations, very usefull! I'll try this.
Rochabian is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RedPill - Amiga Game Creator Program DerekAutista123 support.Apps 799 24 March 2024 22:59
Know of any Video Tutorials Sabbathacker support.FS-UAE 0 05 June 2017 14:28
old Amiga tutorials? guybrush New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 09 May 2016 21:10
Providing 2 fire button support / cd32 joypad support amigapd request.Other 0 13 July 2015 17:20
Portaudio support (was: WinUAE support for ASIO drivers) Amiga1992 support.WinUAE 57 28 March 2009 21:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:58.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10013 seconds with 14 queries