English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2020, 11:41   #401
Adrian Cummings
Mutation Software

Adrian Cummings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sconnie Botland :)
Age: 56
Posts: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
RNC loader (at least some variants) supports two different setups: CD32 CD + CDFS (which is neither IDE nor SCSI) and A600/A1200 (A4000?) mainboard IDE + FFS (possibly only FFS\1?). They have nothing in common.
Thanks for explaining further as that now makes total sense to me
Adrian Cummings is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 12:01   #402
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,216
I made news items of this to amigaworld.net and amiga.org some days ago.

@Adrian I would suggest that you do that in future? Could you edit first post to have link to buy it? That way everyone would found it easy?

For a me, if game/app is not HD installable, I wount buy it.
utri007 is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 12:16   #403
Adrian Cummings
Mutation Software

Adrian Cummings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sconnie Botland :)
Age: 56
Posts: 511
Well I did state that it may not work much earlier up this thread and in the ReadMe docs and in fact it is the same as with all my previous games I wrote for Amiga except for 2 earliest ones at least.

I can understand if you don't wish to buy it of course no problem although it does work on real Amiga IDE HD / CF Card in many cases - just maybe not all of them. I didn't write the dosio loader of course so cannot vouch for it work with every IDE HD type and filesystem.

There is of course the free demo verison that people can try complete with full ReadMe docs before buying.

https://www.softwareamusements.com/D...ds/WizDemo.adf

I've updated the very first post in this thread as of just now.

Thanks

Last edited by Adrian Cummings; 22 November 2020 at 12:27.
Adrian Cummings is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 12:18   #404
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
There is nothing wrong with emulation. RNC dos stuff only works with A600/A1200 (and perhaps A4000) IDE controller, drive must be FFS formatted. Probably has usual size limits.

-> useless for any "modern" Amiga configuration.
Toni, both of these .HDFs I used for testing are FFS:
a) ClassicWB Lite 3.1 [500MB].
b) Standard Workbench 3.1 [20MB].
DamienD is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 12:45   #405
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Toni, both of these .HDFs I used for testing are FFS:
a) ClassicWB Lite 3.1 [500MB].
b) Standard Workbench 3.1 [20MB].
Not enough information. IDE emulation? HDtoolbox partitioned?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 November 2020, 12:53   #406
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Not enough information. IDE emulation? HDtoolbox partitioned?
No, just created the .HDFs and formatted in FFS; didn't use "HDtoolbox" to partition etc...
DamienD is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 14:27   #407
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 43
Posts: 6,472
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
There is nothing wrong with emulation. RNC dos stuff only works with A600/A1200 (and perhaps A4000) IDE controller, drive must be FFS formatted. Probably has usual size limits.
Thats even more strange as my Amiga is Commodore A1200 with FFS IDE compact flash, nothing obscure inside.

I play Wiz from floppies, it is not so big problem, but still is interesting. I have never met any other Amiga game (except those that have floppy loading hardcoded) that would have similar problem with my harddrive. I hope someone will solve it in WHDLoad and discover (and tell to Adrian) what was wrong and how to do it different way for his next game.

I WILL BUY WIZ DIGITAL DOWNLOAD TO ANYONE WHO WILL MAKE A WHDLOAD INSTALLER FOR IT.
Predseda is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 15:59   #408
Adrian Cummings
Mutation Software

Adrian Cummings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sconnie Botland :)
Age: 56
Posts: 511
My real Amiga is also A1200 with CF Card and it works fine.

All my games are the same and use the same loader and they all work fine on real machine too when installed to HD also.

Emulation of HD seems to not work with the same dosio loader as said above. I'm sure it did once tho but until recently I've not been in the scene for 23 years LOL.

There must be 100's of games that used dosio. Tin Toy was my previous game that used the same loader on AGA as Wiz. That was WHDLoad'ified of course. Wiz should not be a problem because it is the same engine pretty much.

I can't do anything to dosio as it's block of assembled code that I call functions from. I didn't write it of course.

There is nothing more I can say or add that will ease your pain with the HD install.

Great sorta FREE copy protection tho hahahaaaa

Last edited by Adrian Cummings; 22 November 2020 at 16:10.
Adrian Cummings is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 16:31   #409
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 43
Posts: 6,472
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Thats okay, somebody will solve it. Go on writing your games, I like them very much. Played Wiz yesterday from floppies and got killed in the last level. After I complete it I am going to give a try to Cyberpunks.
Predseda is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 16:56   #410
Adrian Cummings
Mutation Software

Adrian Cummings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sconnie Botland :)
Age: 56
Posts: 511
No worries. I enjoy making the games but I am no master coder so cannot solve everthing myself of course.

Enjoy!
Adrian Cummings is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 18:22   #411
AmyMor
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Calvi Risorta
Posts: 70
I just completed WIZ ... ADRIAN at least one graphic screen you could have put ahahahahaha !!!

PS: Attention you all to the worms and spiders, the worst and most bad enemies of the game (as well as the smallest)
AmyMor is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 18:49   #412
Irek´72
´040 User
Irek´72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Emsland/Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 442
I got my physical version of Wiz on November 13th. received (thanks Adrian for the fast shipping )
Well, the game works fine from the floppy disk on my setup, unfortunately the HD solution doesn't work for me either. I tried to start it from the workbench, shell and even without startup sequence, unfortunately always with the same result.
I tried it with generic slave unfortunately the game crashes at the beginning with an error.

So I think a WHDLoad patch for this game would be a good idea.

I made a few icons for this game, unfortunately I can't do more than this in this case.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Wiz.icons.zip (37.7 KB, 22 views)
Irek´72 is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 18:56   #413
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
Hey Adrian,

When you use the inbuilt cheats, what does <F6> do?

To me it seems an NTSC / PAL toggle?
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 November 2020, 10:41   #414
Adrian Cummings
Mutation Software

Adrian Cummings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sconnie Botland :)
Age: 56
Posts: 511
@All Yes sorry it is not possible with the RNC dosio loader to support all real Amiga HD types and file formats. It is only offered as an optional extra on the floppy games that may or may not work. I'm sure the game will be WHDLoad'ified in future as was the case with all my previous games I think.

@DamienD Yes F6 is PAL/NTSC development test switch which I tended to put in the cheats as far back as Doodlebug OCS/ECS 1992.
Adrian Cummings is offline  
Old 23 November 2020, 11:05   #415
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian Cummings View Post
@DamienD Yes F6 is PAL/NTSC development test switch which I tended to put in the cheats as far back as Doodlebug OCS/ECS 1992.
Thank you for confirmation Adrian.

I've written a text file of the cheats for HOL inclusion:

Code:
- Press [P] to pause the game, then hold the [LEFT MOUSE BUTTON] plus press [A],
  [R] and [C] at the same time. You are now invincible, have unlimited lives, 
  unlimted energy and unlimited spells. 

- Use the function keys to do the following: 

	F1__________________________________Act 1: The Path of Hope

	F2__________________________________Act 2: The Unholy Graveyard

	F3__________________________________Act 3: The Forgetful Forest

	F4__________________________________Act 4: The Bramble Caverns

	F5__________________________________Act 5: The Spooky Mansion

	F6__________________________________NTSC / PAL development test switch
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 November 2020, 11:09   #416
Adrian Cummings
Mutation Software

Adrian Cummings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sconnie Botland :)
Age: 56
Posts: 511
^Spoiler alert on deck 5 captain :P
Adrian Cummings is offline  
Old 23 November 2020, 11:11   #417
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian Cummings View Post
^Spoiler alert on deck 5 captain :P
LOL, I haven't finished the game...

I took the information from the HOL screenshots, look at the last one
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 November 2020, 11:13   #418
Adrian Cummings
Mutation Software

Adrian Cummings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sconnie Botland :)
Age: 56
Posts: 511
No worries I'm actually surprised the cheats took this long to surface as they've been doing the rounds for about 3 weeks now
Adrian Cummings is offline  
Old 23 November 2020, 11:17   #419
manossg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Greece
Posts: 750
Any option for level skip without invincibility and infinite lives/energy/spells?
manossg is online now  
Old 23 November 2020, 11:19   #420
Adrian Cummings
Mutation Software

Adrian Cummings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sconnie Botland :)
Age: 56
Posts: 511
Somebody update this thread when Wiz has had the WHDLoad treatment perhaps. I'm off for a short break and then back into development of CyberPunks 2 on and off for next year.

Have fun and thanks again to all that bought Wiz and hopefully enjoyed it. Wiz only took 1400+ hours to create but what great hours spent on the Amiga once again they were

AMIGAAAAA!
Adrian Cummings is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fs: Gp2x Wiz frikilokooo MarketPlace 1 01 June 2011 22:24
UAE4All GP2x WIZ lolafg support.OtherUAE 5 28 January 2011 21:29
For Sale GP2X WIZ lolafg MarketPlace 7 09 August 2010 07:18
Wiz 1 wanted mike4466 request.Old Rare Games 3 25 May 2010 08:55
Wiz 'N' Liz - possible two-button support? MethodGit project.WHDLoad 8 07 April 2008 22:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14047 seconds with 14 queries