English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 November 2020, 07:00   #1
Storm
SYS64738

Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 82
Picasso IV and Picasso96 3.0

Hi all,

Before we start with my problem, which many other people have had, I have done many searches across the internet to try and solve this problem. It is the only thing that drives me crazy with my A4000 lol
I recently bought and upgraded to the latest Picasso96 3.0 drivers for my Picasso IV card (all firmwares are the latest revisions) . I have all screen modes working correctly and the flicker fixer set to the default settings. Now I have this horrid mouse pointer in PAL screens that distorts, sometimes causing a graphical glitch trail down the screen and a jumpy pointer. It was fine before I upgraded, although I did see similar effects in the past with other versions of Picasso96. Programs that seem the worst are SysInfo and Protracker.

Also, is there a way to turn screen dragging off? I don't use it and the mouse can act weirdly at the top of some screens.

Thanks in advance.
Storm is offline  
Old 21 November 2020, 10:53   #2
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Storm View Post
Now I have this horrid mouse pointer in PAL screens that distorts, sometimes causing a graphical glitch trail down the screen and a jumpy pointer. It was fine before I upgraded, although I did see similar effects in the past with other versions of Picasso96. Programs that seem the worst are SysInfo and Protracker.
PAL screens are handled by the native chip set, there is nothing P96 can do or is responsible for. For RTG screens, you can switch to the hardware cursor (SOFTSPRITE=NO in the tool types of the monitor driver.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Storm View Post
Also, is there a way to turn screen dragging off? I don't use it and the mouse can act weirdly at the top of some screens.
No, and I wouldn't know why - and neither why the mouse should have anything to do with it. Remove all patches, try again. The mouse behaives quite nicely here, anywhere on the screen.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 09:22   #3
Storm
SYS64738

Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 82
Strange I'm having these problems as I am running a standard 3.1.4.1 setup. I don't get these issues with other flicker fixers, ie. Indivision or the Commodore 2320 in PAL mode. It's either the Picasso IV or Picasso96.
Storm is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 13:47   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,656
run the p4info tool and post back the results
alexh is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 14:04   #5
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,000
Back in my 4KT dayZ & Iirc....

PIV did the same for me with PAL but running a DblPAL cleared the messy mouse pointer
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 14:06   #6
Storm
SYS64738

Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 82
Here it is, I'm glad someone understands it lol.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P4Info.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	572.4 KB
ID:	69780  
Storm is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 14:20   #7
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Storm View Post
Here it is, I'm glad someone understands it lol.
You don't see many "Full House" PIV's these days....

Hat's are off Sir!
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 14:22   #8
Storm
SYS64738

Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kin Hell View Post
You don't see many "Full House" PIV's these days....

Hat's are off Sir!
Thanks I'm just missing the Pablo now.
Storm is offline  
Old 23 November 2020, 00:59   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Storm View Post
Here it is, I'm glad someone understands it lol.
That shows you have the latest chips (Bridge $4 and Flicker Fixer $7) and the latest Firmware 7.5

Have you tried the Picasso IV Early Startup menu? Hold left shift on boot. In there are some Flicker Fixer settings to play with.

I found it very hard to enter the PIV early startup. I think you can edit everything in the startup menu using PicassoModeTNG

http://amiga.rules.no/utils/PicassoModeTNG-2.9.lha
alexh is offline  
Old 23 November 2020, 01:53   #10
Storm
SYS64738

Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 82
I had one of the chips updated by MastaTabs years ago. I've have a good play around with PicassoModeTNG and the early PIV startup menu. I found tapping the LShift seems to work to get in. I've tried changing refresh rates etc. I have a very stable screen, just this damn mouse pointer business.

Just reviewing the setup I have found:
PicassoModeTNG reports 49Hz
Early PIV startup reports 50Hz
and the FliFi tool shows 75Hz errr, that can't be right?
Storm is offline  
Old 23 November 2020, 17:21   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,656
It is interesting this only changed when you upgraded Picasso96. Like Tobias wrote, I thought that PAL screens were 100% hardware based, the data coming over the video slot coming direct from the AGA chipset output prior to going to the DAC? I thought even hardware sprites such as the mouse pointer were hardware XOR'd into the RGB data prior to being sent to the video slot?

You'll have to explain what you mean by PAL screens (games?) and give an example others can try and reproduce. Are these progressive or interlaced screens?
alexh is offline  
Old 24 November 2020, 07:45   #12
Storm
SYS64738

Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 82
Yes I know, it is very weird and could just be a coincidence. It's really starting to sound like a hardware issue of some sort. Just now I booted up my A4000 to get a picture to illustrate what I mean and the pointer isn't glitching out at the moment, just has a bounce to it every so often. Yet tomorrow it could be graphically glitchy and start to carry on more.
The screens it's very apparent on are programs run from workbench like Protracker and SysInfo that use the standard PAL mode, not interlaced. I don't use interlaced screens.

Update: I spoke to soon, it started again. I captured a short clip to show the problem [ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by Storm; 24 November 2020 at 07:57. Reason: Update
Storm is offline  
Old 05 December 2020, 14:50   #13
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,000
@ Storm

Mine was an "attached scramble" to the mouse pointer & always there....

Not flashing on & off & so deep as yours.
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 15 June 2021, 05:27   #14
Storm
SYS64738

Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 82
After installing Workbench 3.2 and the physical ROMs, I don't have any of these problems now!
Storm is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Picasso96 documentation? robinsonb5 Coders. System 2 29 October 2012 10:08
Picasso96 Jimbo support.Other 2 21 May 2007 13:12
Picasso96 DDNI request.Apps 8 15 November 2006 16:43
Picasso96 question Stig support.WinUAE 4 28 March 2005 11:09
Picasso96 kemppe New to Emulation or Amiga scene 11 29 March 2002 13:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09535 seconds with 16 queries