English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 September 2020, 02:01   #281
masterchief
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: NRW Germany
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
And where does the "almost as fast as a 060 accelerator" come from? No 040 accelerator is anywhere close to an 060 accelerator in speed.

In any case, Matze is developing an 060 card which I would expect to hit a very sweet price/performance ratio.

https://forum.icomp.de/index.php?thr...=6346#post6346

"The old Apollo and Blizzard 060 accelerators clocked at 50MHz gave about 37000 Dhrystones in Sysinfo, which is of course awesome: It's about 3 times faster than the fastest 68030 that we can offer. However, even with our first prototype, which does not have all the optimizations that the next prototype will have, we get well over 30k Dhrystones for a 40MHz 68040, and memory access performance that has never been shown on a 68040 before."

Who is Matze, really interested in that card you mentioned.
masterchief is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 10:57   #282
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by masterchief View Post
https://forum.icomp.de/index.php?thr...=6346#post6346

"The old Apollo and Blizzard 060 accelerators clocked at 50MHz gave about 37000 Dhrystones in Sysinfo, which is of course awesome: It's about 3 times faster than the fastest 68030 that we can offer. However, even with our first prototype, which does not have all the optimizations that the next prototype will have, we get well over 30k Dhrystones for a 40MHz 68040, and memory access performance that has never been shown on a 68040 before."
Well, as everyone knows SysInfo is a bullshit pseudo benchmark that has a completely nonsense "work loop" that doesn't do anything real. The one thing it does is prohibit any superscalar execution of code so that the 060 drops down to one instruction per cycle which is the maximum the 040 could do. So yes, a 40 MHz 040 will just give the same result as a 40 MHz 060. However, the 060 would still be faster in real-world applications because it can put its second pipeline to use and execute some instructions in parallel. (EDIT: plus the 060 has double the caches of the 040 which doesn't make a difference in SysInfo either but in real world applications)

Hence, the above is just marketing BS from Jens. He should use the updated SysInfo version that allows superscalar execution of the nonsense "work loop" and compare again. But this would make his 040 card look much worse. Jens obviously wants to sell 1240s because he can't source 060s (just like everyone else) and to make people upgrade to 060s losing their warranty. His 1260s will be priced prohibitively.


Quote:
Who is Matze, really interested in that card you mentioned.
Matze is a local hero at the German a1k.org forum who has made many accelerator cards and add-ons that usually end up being open-source hardware products.

Last edited by grond; 28 September 2020 at 14:04.
grond is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 13:00   #283
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 956
I also heard that upgrading his 040 to 060 will require a 060 license..
Chucky is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 13:34   #284
AMike
Registered User

AMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: near Vienna/Austria
Posts: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
I also heard that upgrading his 040 to 060 will require a 060 license..
Yeap - a licence for the memory controller is needed and you loose your warranty. I will go for a Warp1260 - a great card with big potential.
AMike is online now  
Old 28 September 2020, 14:03   #285
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,031
So even if you have that lovely Rev 6 in your drawer, you would have to pay 499€ for the 1240, some unknown extra money for the 060 upgrade and end up with a card without any warranty. Hardly an attractive or even budget option.
grond is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 14:03   #286
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 956
"yupp"
Chucky is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 14:19   #287
lmimmfn
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 244
Lol, the license requirement is a handy automated function to invalidate the warranty.
lmimmfn is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 15:58   #288
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 956
And a way to squeeze extra money of the situation
Chucky is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 17:44   #289
Storm
SYS64738

Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 79
I love my Blizzard 1260 in my A1200, even though it is a rev1 heat tile. It's all about the old smell and feel. Authentic, beautiful
My A4000 is lucky to have a rev6 in it's CSMKII@72MHz. I must be an 060 fanboy lol.
Storm is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 20:42   #290
E-Penguin
Banana

E-Penguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 1,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
I also heard that upgrading his 040 to 060 will require a 060 license..
It's a paid product ; if the software / firmware is different between the two then a fee for the other one isn't unreasonable. They're a business, can't fault them for wanting to make money.
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 21:03   #291
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Back in Somerset
Posts: 526
Help us Matze, your our only hope

A1200 connector availability - sorted
CPU socket - a must
Memory - 64mb min
5v header - for DIY fan hacks
68060 - leave it to us

Last edited by Higgy; 28 September 2020 at 21:04. Reason: pressed wrong button
Higgy is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 22:42   #292
aeberbach
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 284
Having to pay for a license to plug in a 060 seems silly... definitely makes me lean toward the competition.
aeberbach is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 23:27   #293
E-Penguin
Banana

E-Penguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 1,052
You can plug it in for free but if you want the compatible firmware it'll cost. No different to buying 3.1 4 separately for each Amiga model. It's reasonable for developers to get paid for their work, no?
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 29 September 2020, 00:44   #294
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 51
Posts: 1,030
Thumbs up

@ Chucky


any more testing on the TF1260 for us future users patiently waiting
klx300r is offline  
Old 29 September 2020, 07:30   #295
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 956
for the moment I do not know the future of the TF1260 unfortunally :-(
Chucky is offline  
Old 29 September 2020, 07:34   #296
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 51
Posts: 1,030
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
for the moment I do not know the future of the TF1260 unfortunally :-(

but I thought it was going to be sold by 'trusted' Amiga people/ companies moving forward...please don't tell me the actions of one idiot will ruin it for the rest of us
klx300r is offline  
Old 29 September 2020, 07:39   #297
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 956
as told.. for the moment I do not know more.. I can say I had some sleepless nights about this..
Chucky is offline  
Old 29 September 2020, 07:49   #298
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 51
Posts: 1,030
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
as told.. for the moment I do not know more.. I can say I had some sleepless nights about this..

well I'm sure many like me appreciate the work you've done and do for us amigans so hopefully things get worked out in the end
klx300r is offline  
Old 29 September 2020, 09:09   #299
aeberbach
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Penguin View Post
You can plug it in for free but if you want the compatible firmware it'll cost. No different to buying 3.1 4 separately for each Amiga model. It's reasonable for developers to get paid for their work, no?
It certainly is, but it is silly to price it so that the developer isn't being paid until you need the firmware for the better chip. It's also silly to pretend that any number of people are going to buy it and only ever use it with the 68040. This is just an unnecessary complication to the product.
aeberbach is offline  
Old 29 September 2020, 10:03   #300
E-Penguin
Banana

E-Penguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 1,052
On the other hand, why make people who are happy with an 040 pay for the 060 firmware they won't use?

I don't know what the cost difference would be, maybe it's negligible compared to the cost of the card so they might as well bundle it in but then people would complain that they're paying an extra $(whatever) for functionality they don't want/need.
E-Penguin is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
route stderr to file? Greyspirit Coders. Scripting 2 24 January 2020 04:05
Simplest route to a portable Amiga ... Pixelfill Retrogaming General Discussion 17 07 January 2020 21:39
Vampire II non acceleration issues Toryglen-boy support.Hardware 74 08 June 2017 02:43
Possible route to increase PPC RAM. headkase support.WinUAE 7 11 July 2016 05:44
Best Route to a Miggy Cactus New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 07 October 2003 11:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11388 seconds with 16 queries